TU Dublin Library organises its collection using the Dewey Decimal system. This system orders books on the shelf by subject, using numbers from 000 to 999. Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
On this page we've highlighted a selection of books, eBooks and dictionaries on this page to help get you started in your study of Spanish language and culture. You can find a quick guide to browsing our book collection, and how to locate specific books from your reading list, in our Library Essentials Guide.
Language books are shelved in the 400s. There are maps in each library to help you find the call numbers you need - or you can always ask a member of library staff for help!
463/5 Spanish - Grammar
463.21 Spanish - Dictionaries
468 Spanish - Textbooks
You might find these other Guides helpful in your studies:
Assess your own level of expression, comprehension and reading in Spanish at any stage. The CEFR offers language learners a descriptive tool to self-assess your language skills in listening, reading, speaking and writing.
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - Spanish
In addition to the 180+ online databases TU Dublin Library subscribes to, we offer a number of print journals, magazines and newspapers in Spanish to support you in your immersive language learning.
Search the Library Catalogue here for our Spanish language and mixed Spanish/English/Catalan/Portuguese print periodicals across our 5 library locations. Or our staff will be happy to help you find material by email, Libchat or at the Library desk!
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Journals (Level 1)
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Journals (Level 1)
Supplement to El País newspaper
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 468
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 468
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Online dictionaries, thesauruses, and content based language reference. Bilingual Spanish-English and monolingual Spanish-only dictionaries available.
100+ dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Useful eBooks found here include: Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary, Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary, and Dictionary of Untranslatables
Online bilingual reference dictionary - search for words and phrases in English or Spanish, example use sentences are provided in both languages.
Location: Tallaght Library - Reference
Call number: 340.03
Location: Aungier Street Library; Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 463.21 CAS ; 463.21 MUN (Library Use Only)
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 463.21
Location: Tallaght Library - Reference
Call number: 463.21
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 463.21 BEA (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 463.21 IND
English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Spanish
This OER project funded by the Irish National Forum for Teaching and Learning began in 2017 and was developed collaboratively by 6 tertiary education institutions, including two TU Dublin Language Studies lecturers. It hosts a range of activities in multiple European languages for teachers to use with students or for self-directed study. This resource has a particular emphasis on encouraging students to build digital literacies for language learning.
French, German, Italian, Spanish
Winner of 2022 European Language Label award, this learning portal funded by Languages Connect was contributed to by French and Italian Language Studies lecturers of TU Dublin. Explore personal, work and academic reasons to improve your language skills, and improve your reading and listening skills and build with short videos, music, and activities across the topics of food, socialising, gaming, travel and work in your target language.
Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish
Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.
An index of scholarly resources curated by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association. These academic resources are all open access and have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Within Iberian Studies a number of topic areas are covered, including an extensive Spanish, Portuguese and Andorran Literature & Linguistics area.
TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.
Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.
Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:
Academic Search Complete
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Project MUSE: Spanish and Portuguese Literature collection
SAGE Journals Online
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Web of Science: SciIELO Citation Index
Lexis Nexis: News and Business
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: 468.3421
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
468.3421 LIV
Location: Blanchardstown Library
Call number: 468.002465 GOT
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 468.3421 BEC
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 2
Call number: 468 SMI
Location: Blanchardstown Library
Call number: 468.002465 ELE -DVD-
Spanish dialogue (Business Spanish resource)
Location: Blanchardstown Library
Call number: 468 CIS -CD-
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 ALM
Spanish dialogue
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 AME
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 MED
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Bolton Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 FAU
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - A]
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - C]
Spanish dialogue, Spanish subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - F]
Spanish dialogue, some English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - J]
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - P]
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - S]
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library
Call number: 468.2421 MUN -DVD-
Spanish dialogue (Companion audio to introductory textbook Nuevo ven 1)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 LOA
English dialogue, Spanish subtitles available
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual ; Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - H]
Call number: 791.43
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.4372
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
Spanish, German and English dialogue tracks available
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 791.43
English dialogue, with some interview material in Spanish
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual [DVD]
Call number: 791.43
Spanish dialogue, English subtitles
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
