TU Dublin Library organises its book collection using the Dewey Decimal system. This system orders books on the shelf by subject, using numbers from 000 to 999. Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
On this page we've highlighted a selection of books, eBooks and dictionaries to help get you started in your study of Irish language and culture. You can find a quick guide to browsing our book collection, and how to locate specific books from your reading list, in our Library Essentials Guide.
Language books are shelved in the 400s. Literature is shelved in the 800s.
There are maps in each library to help you find the call numbers you need - or you can always ask a member of library staff for help!
491.62 Gaeilge -- Irish
491.62/.623 Foclóirí Gaeilge -- Irish dictionaries
821 Filíocht Gaeilge -- Irish poetry
822/.914 Drámaíocht Gaeilge -- Irish drama
891.62 Scríbhneoireacht i nGaeilge -- Irish-language prose
You will find the specific subject guide for your area of study at TU Dublin here in the Library Essentials LibGuide.
You might also find the following guides useful for your research and completing your assignments:
Assess your own level of expression, comprehension and reading in Irish at any stage. The CEFR offers language learners a descriptive tool to self-assess your language skills in listening, reading, speaking and writing.
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - Irish
In addition to the 180+ online databases TU Dublin Library subscribes to, we offer a number of print journals and magazines in Irish to support you in your immersive language learning.
Search the Library Catalogue here for our Irish language print periodicals across our 5 library locations. Or our staff will be happy to help you find material by email, Libchat or at the Library desk!
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 891.62
All back issues held
(Current issue on Journals Display Shelf)
Location: Tallaght Library - Journals
Call number: 941
All back issues held
(Current issue on Journals Display Shelf)
*Writing in English language, with poetry in Irish
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 800
All back issues held
(Current issue on Journals Display Shelf)
*Writing in Irish and English languages
Includes two additional plays translated into Irish by Micheal Ó Conghaile:
Boicíní bhothar Kilburn / Jimmy Murphy
Crispil Inis Meáin / Martin McDonagh
100+ dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Useful eBooks found here include: Pocket Oxford Irish Dictionary: English-Irish; Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase & Fable; and The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature.
The Foras na Gaeilge (Irish Language Institute) official English-Irish free online dictionary is adapted for easy use on mobule and desktop. With over 48,000 word entries and 44,200 grammar files, the dictionary also offers more than 55,000 pronunciation guide sound files (nearly 11,000 of which are available in each of the three major regional dialects.
Location: Tallaght Library - Reference
Call number: 491.62
Location: Tallaght Library - Reference
Call number: 641.303415
Locations: Aungier Street Library ; Grangegorman Library - Level 1 ; Tallaght Library
Call number: 491.623 DEB / 491.62
Location: Aungier Street Library ; Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 491.62321 GRU
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 491.62321 NIC (Library Use Only)
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: 491.62 MAC
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 491.63321 DWE (Library Use Only)
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: 491.62 EAS
Location: Bolton Street Library ; Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 349.41503 MUR (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 427.941503 DOL (Library Use Only)
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: 941.5003 MCM
A free online Irish language book club, where Irish speakers of all levels are encouraged to read books in the language and to discuss them in the website's discussion forum. In addition to the book set each month, an accompanying bilingual glossary is available to download to help you read the book more easily. The site also hosts its own podcast, author interviews, and links to a range of books, bookshop and online classes to help you continue practicing your Irish-language reading and listening skills.
Linked with Focloir.ie, Foras na Gaeilge's successful Irish-English bilingual dictionary, this site compiles all of that institution's grammar and pronunciation resources into one easily searchable online reference tool. Hosting over 44,200 grammar files and more than 55,000 pronunciation guide sound files, and with a Grammar Wizard tool to support your language learning.
English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Spanish
This OER project funded by the Irish National Forum for Teaching and Learning began in 2017 and was developed collaboratively by 6 tertiary education institutions, including two TU Dublin Language Studies lecturers. It hosts a range of activities in multiple European languages for teachers to use with students or for self-directed study. This resource has a particular emphasis on encouraging students to build digital literacies for language learning.
Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish
Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.
An index of scholarly resources curated by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association. These academic resources are all open access and have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Within Irish Studies a number of topic areas are covered, including an extensive Literature & Linguistics area with compilations of Irish-language and English-language resources.
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 365 AGU
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 BAI
Irish dialogue with some English, with English subtitles
Locations: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual ; Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD - P ; 791.43
English dialogue with some Irish
Locations: Bolton Street Library - Audiovisual ; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2) ; Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 333.715 ODO
English dialogue with some Irish
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - C]
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - M]
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - R]
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: 303.409415 FEG
English dialogue with some Irish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 304.809415 SWE
English dialogue with some Irish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 305.409415 WAR
English dialogue with some Irish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 372.659162
English dialogue and subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Special Collection, Main Desk (Ground Floor)
Call number: 745.09417
English dialogue with some Irish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 781.62415 CAR
English and Irish dialogue and Irish-language singing
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 781.62415 MCC
English dialogue and subtitles, with songs in Irish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 BRE
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 FOR
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 GIL
English dialogue with English or Swedish subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 GRE
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 JOR
English dialogue and subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 KEL
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 LOA
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 MCQ
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 SHE
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 SHE
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.4309417 BOR
Irish dialogue
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 822 BEC
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 822 JOY
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 822 OCA
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 822.914 KEA
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 891.62 OCA
English and Irish dialogue, with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2) ; Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 822.914 FRI ; 791.43
English dialogue
Locations: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2) ; Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 REE
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
English dialogue with subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
Irish and English dialogue with subtitles
Current TU Dublin students can access archived student dissertations from the former MA in Applied Irish course, covering the years 2009 to 2015.
You can search this collection of Humanities past student dissertations on the Library Catalogue here.
This MA dissertation collection is available for reading in Aungier Street Library - Level 2. Please note that all student dissertations and theses are for library reference use only and cannot be borrowed.
IrisZine is a bilingual magazine created by current TU Dublin students and alumni, with a broad range of interests across years, programmes and locations. The 'zine is fully ar líne, and its goal is to bring relevant and inclusive content as Gaeilge to all TU Dublin students, and inspire our community to use any cúpla focal they have, and grow their grá don teanga!
You can contact an Oifig na Gaeilge if you're interested in writing for IrisZine, or simply to get in touch, at Gaeilge@TUDublin.ie
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
