LibGuides: Language Studies: German

eBooks - Humanities (Culture, Literature, Film and Law)

Transitions: emerging women writers in German-language literature [eBook] / edited by Valerie Heffernan & Gillian Pye

German Jewish literature after 1990 [eBook] / edited by Katja Garloff and Agnes Mueller

Renegotiating postmemory: the Holocaust in contemporary German-language Jewish literature [eBook] / Maria Roca Lizarazu

The new German cinema: music, history, and the matter of style [eBook] / Caryl Flinn

Women in the international film industry: policy, practice and power [eBook] / edited by Susan Liddy

Fassbinder's Germany: history, identity, subject [eBook] / Thomas Elsaesser

The Routledge handbook of language in conflict [eBook] / edited by Matthew Evans, Lesley Jeffries and Jim O'Driscoll

Foreign language teaching and the environment: theory, curricula, institutional structures [eBook] / edited by Charlotte Ann Melin

Rounding Wagner's mountain: Richard Strauss and modern German opera [eBook] / Bryan Gilliam

The ultimate art: essays around and about opera [eBook] / David Littlejohn

Choral singing: histories and practices [eBook] / edited by Ursula Geisler and Karin Johansson

The singer-songwriter in Europe: paradigms, politics and place [eBook] / edited by Isabelle Marc and Stuart Green

International Business: environments and operations, 15th global edition [eBook] / John D. Daniels

Community punishment: European perspectives [eBook] / edited by Gwen Robinson and Fergus McNeill

Books - Grammar + Language Learning and Skills

German grammar / Elke Gschossmann-Hendershot and Lois M. Feuerle

Motive A1 B1: Kompaktkurs DaF [Textbook] / Frauke van der Werff

Entscheidungen; Deutsch als Geschäfts-und Verhandlungssprache [Textbook + CD] / Anne Buscha et al

Begegnungen Deutsch als fremdsprache A1+ [Textbook + Workbook] / Anne Buscha and Szilvia Szita

Begegnungen Deutsch als fremdsprache A2+ [Textbook + Workbook] / Anne Byscha and Szilvia Szita

Begegnungen Deutsch als Fremdsprache B1+ [Textbook + Workbook] / Anne Buscha and Szilvia Szita

Grammatik aktiv B2-C1: verstehen, uben, sprechen

Deutsch zu Zweit: ein romantisch-grammatisches arbeitsbuch fur Deutsch als fremdsprache 2 [Textbook] / Gerhard Antretter

Essential German grammar / Martin Durrell, Katrin Kohl, Gudrun Loftus and Claudia Kaiser

Practising German grammar / Martin Durrell, Katrin Kohl and Claudia Kaiser

German verb drills / Astrid Henschel

Der, Die, Das: the secrets of German gender/ Constantin Vayenas

Thinking German translation: a course in translation method - German to English / Margaret Rogers and Michael White

English and German diction for singers: a comparative approach / Amanda Johnston

Dictionaries and Reference

Oxford Dictionaries PRO

Online dictionaries, thesauruses, and content based language reference - including comprehensive free bilingual German-English dictionary

Cambridge Online English-German Dictionary

Online bilingual reference dictionary - search for words and phrases in English or German, example use sentences are provided in both languages.

100+ dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Useful eBooks found here include: Pocket Oxford German-English Dictionary, Dictionary of Untranslatables and The Oxford Companion to German Literature.

Dictionary of commercial, financial and legal terms: volume 1 : English-German-French / Robert Herbst and Alan G Readett

Location: Tallaght Library

Call number: 413.1

Collins German dictionary

Location: Tallaght Library - Reference

Call number: 433.21

Le CinéDico - Online

Online dictionary of Cinematography and AV terms. Translates between German and English, Chinese, French, Italian and Spanish, among other languages.

The friendly German-English dictionary: a guide to German language, culture and society through faux amis, literary illustration and other diversions / Fred Bridgham

Location: Aungier Street Library

Call number: 433.21 BRI

Hammer's German grammar and usage / Martin Durrell

Books - Humanities (Culture, Literature, Film and Law)

Generation, gender and identity in German-Jewish literature after 1989 / Daphne Maria Seemann

The noblest agitator: Daniel O'Connell and the German Catholic movement 1830-50 / Geraldine F. Grogan

Childness and the writing of the German past: tropes of childhood in contemporary German literature / Nora Maguire

Modern German literature / Michael Minden

The Cambridge introduction to Thomas Mann / Todd Kontje

The Cambridge companion to the literature of Berlin / edited by Andrew J. Webber

German memory contests: the quest for identity in literature, film, and discourse since 1990 / edited by Anne Fuchs, Mary Cosgrove, and Georg Grote

The long shadow of the past: contemporary Austrian literature, film, and culture / Katya Krylova

The lives of others and contemporary German film: a companion / edited by Paul Cooke

Unsettling scores: German film, music, and ideology / Roger Hillman

From Caligari to Hitler: a psycholgical history of the German film / Siegfried Kracauer

Photofascism: photography, film, and exhibition culture in 1930s Germany and Italy / Vanessa Rocco

Das Leben der Anderen: film study guide for AS/A-level German / Geoff Brammall

Der vorleser. AS/A-Level German / Paul Elliott

Good bye, Lenin!: film study guide for AS/A-level German / Geoff Brammall

The GDR today: new interdisciplinary approaches to East German history, memory and culture / edited by Stephan Ehrig, Marcel Thomas and David Zell

Approaches to migration, language and identity / edited by Anita Auer and Jennifer Thorburn

Human migration and the refugee crisis: origins and global impact / Eliot Dickinson

Punishment in Europe: a critical anatomy of penal systems / edited by Vincenzo Ruggiero and Mick Ryan

Useful Online Resources

Language Pathways

French, German, Italian, Spanish

Winner of 2022 European Language Label award, this learning portal funded by Languages Connect was contributed to by French and Italian Language Studies lecturers of TU Dublin. Explore personal, work and academic reasons to improve your language skills, and improve your reading and listening skills and build with short videos, music, and activities across the topics of food, socialising, gaming, travel and work in your target language.

Anyone4German

A free, interactive workbook for learners of German at levels A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and Business German (B1 - C1), mapped to the Common European Framework. This resource is designed for optimal use on laptop or desktop, and is regularly updated - with straightforward grammar explanations and over 1350 practice activities that go beyond simple multiple choice and matching exercises. Authentic materials promote active engagement, curiosity and natural language use, and cultural information about Germany is embedded throughout.

DigiLanguages

English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Spanish

This OER project funded by the Irish National Forum for Teaching and Learning began in 2017 and was developed collaboratively by 6 tertiary education institutions, including two TU Dublin Language Studies lecturers. It hosts a range of activities in multiple European languages for teachers to use with students or for self-directed study. This resource has a particular emphasis on encouraging students to build digital literacies for language learning.

ClipFlair

Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish

Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.

ACRL German Studies LibGuide

An index of scholarly resources curated by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association. These academic resources are all open access and have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Within German Studies a number of topic areas are covered, including an extensive Literature & Linguistics area.

Databases and eJournals

TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.

Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.

Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This database offers more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals with full-text content dating back as far as 1887. Indexed journals include: Info DaF (Informationen Deutsch als Fremdsprache; German Quarterly; and German Life & Letters.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This directory covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals across a wide range of subject areas and languages, including literature and comparative law. Search directly from the library Online Resources page or using the SearchAll function. Relevant eJournals include: Modern Languages Open; Journal of Literary Education; and International Journal of Law and Literature.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
International coverage of primary sources including artworks, maps, photographs and more to encourage an interdisciplinary research approach. Select 'Browse > Subject' for access to 1,130 journals in the Arts and Sciences collections, including the 'Lanaguage & Literature' collection. JSTOR also provides full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
Lexis Nexis: News and Business
Coverage includes full text access to global news sources. Select the News tab and explore by language, region or type of publication to access news articles from 200+ German-language publications.
Also contains business and market research information, including international company and industry profiles.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides access to the full text of 700+ journal titles and certain recent scholarly book titles.
Browse and search the German Literature and Ethnic Studies research areas for journals, eBooks and articles covering literary criticism, history, cultural studies, education, gender studies, etc.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online includes over 700 journals in the fields of Health Sciences; Social Sciences & Humanities; Materials Science & Engineering; and Life & Biomedical Sciences. Access provided from Vol.1 to current issue for most titles. Journals include:Second Language Research; Business and Professional Communication Quarterly; and European Journal of Communication.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals published by T&F and its subsidiaries. Relevant eJournals include: Oxford German Studies; Publications of the English Goethe Society; and The Germanic Review: Literature, Culture, Theory.