LibGuides: Language Studies: Korean

Books and eBooks

Media technologies for work and play in East Asia: critical perspectives on Japan and the two Koreas / edited by Micky Lee and Peichi Chung

Korean for beginners: mastering conversational Korean / Henry J. Amen IV and Kyubyong Park

Communicating food in Korea [eBook] / edited by Jaehyeon Jeong and Joong-Hwan Oh

Korean eye: contemporary Korean art / edited by Serenella Ciclitira, Daehyung Lee and Jiyoon Lee

Korean cuisine: refresh your senses / Park Hyeon-Suk

International Business: environments and operations, 15th global edition [eBook] / John D. Daniels

Korea power: design & identity / edited by Klaus Klemp and H.-C. Ahn

Made in North Korea: graphics from everyday life in the DPRK / Nick Bonner

Arts of Korea: the Metropolitan Museum of Art / edited by Chung Yang-mo

Dictionaries and Reference

Collins Online English-Korean Dictionary

Containing over 85,000 translations, Collins online English-Korean dictionary gives up-to-date coverage of Korean and English for all levels, while the Korean-English dictionary is ideal for anyone wishing to find a translation quickly.

NAVER Korean-English Dictionary

Free online Korean-English bilingual dictionary with over 2 million example sentences. Also offers a word, conversation, and food of the day learning resource for listening and speaking practice.

Korean-English Learners' Dictionary / National Institute of Korean Language

Blingual dictionary for Korean learners, consisting of translations from the Basic Korean Dictionary into English.
Subject experts including Korean education experts, translators, proficient native speakers, and system developers have contributed to develop a quality, user-friendly dictionary.

Databases and Journals

TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.

Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.

Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This database offers more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals with full-text content dating back as far as 1887. Indexed ejournals include: Korea Journal and Korea Focus.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This directory covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals across a wide range of subject areas and languages, and can be searched directly from the library Online Resources page or the SearchAll function.
Relevant eJournals include: Korea Journal; The Review of Korean Studies; and International Journal of Korean History.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content in IEEE Xplore comprises journals, conference proceedings, eBooks and educational courses - including the conference proceedings of the Korea-Japan Joint Workshop on Frontiers of Computer Vision.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
International coverage of primary sources including artworks, maps, photographs and more to encourage an interdisciplinary research approach. Select 'Browse > Subject' for access to 1,130 journals in the Arts and Sciences collections, including the 'Lanaguage & Literature' collection and eJournal: The Korean Language in America.
JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
Lexis Nexis: News and Business
Coverage includes full text access to global news sources. Select the News tab and explore by language, region or type of publication to access news articles from dozens of Korean-language publications.
Also contains business and market research information, including international company and industry profiles.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides access to the full text of 700+ journal titles and certain recent scholarly book titles.
Search the various research areas for journals, ebooks and articles covering literary criticism, history, religion and philosophy, cultural studies, education, gender and LGBTQ+ studies, etc. Includes access to the eJournal Seoul Journal of Korean Studies.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online includes over 700 journals in the fields of Health Sciences; Social Sciences & Humanities; Materials Science & Engineering; and Life & Biomedical Sciences. Access provided from Vol.1 to current issue for most titles. Journals include: Language Teaching Research; Second Language Research; and Discourse Studies.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Taylor and Francis Online provides access to articles from thousands of electronic journals published by T&F and its subsidiaries. Relevant eJournals include: Journal of Japanese and Korean Cinema; Korean Studies; and International Journal of Korean Studies.

Multimedia

Korean piano music [Online] by Lee Young-Jo (composer), My Kim (Performer)
Publication Date: 2000
'Dance Suite' and 'Five Korean Legends'

Language Studies

Finding books

Relevant Subject Guides

Get involved!