TU Dublin Library organises its collection using the Dewey Decimal system. This system orders books on the shelf by subject, using numbers from 000 to 999.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks - we've highlighted a selection of books, eBooks and dictionaries to help get you started in your study of Chinese language and culture. You can find a quick guide to browsing our book collection, and how to locate specific books from your reading list, in our Library Essentials Guide.
Language books are shelved in the 400s. There are maps in each library to help you find the call numbers you need - or you can always ask a member of library staff for help!
495 Chinese
495.1321 Chinese - Dictionaries
You might find these other Guides helpful in your studies:
The Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì or HSK is the official Chinese language proficiency test intended for non-native speakers. It consists of a written test (with six skill levels) and an oral test (taken at Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced level).
HSK levels are the commonly accepted standard for many academic requirements for non-native speakers of Chinese (for example, being admitted to a graduate programme in China, or for certain career posts).
These 6 levels correspond in their assessment of someone's communication skills in a foreign language to the equilivent 6 levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
Online dictionaries, thesauruses, and content based language reference. Bilingual Chinese-English dictionary available, as well as additional cultural learning resources and daily 'word test'.
Free online dictionary - Searchable in English, Simplified and Traditional Chinese characters (Includes character drawing tool in addition to text-based searching)
Free online dictionary - Searchable by English, Simplified and Traditional Chinese characters
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 495.1321 WIL (Library Use Only)
Locations: Grangegorman Library - Level 1; Bolton Street Library
Call number: 485.1321 KLE (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 495 XIA
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 495.1321 HAU (Library Use Only)
Location: Bolton Street Library
Call number: 495.1321 (Library Use Only)
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 495.132
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: 495.1321 LEE
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 495.1321 GU (Library Use Only)
An index of freely available web resources curated by the China and Inner Asia Librarian at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) : University of London. A number of topic areas are covered to support your research and language learning, including literature and linguistics, film and image archives and databases, and Chinese and Taiwan Studies.
Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish
Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.
TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.
Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.
Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:
Academic Search Complete
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Project MUSE
SAGE Journals Online
Location: Grangegorman Library, Level 2 - Audiovisual
Call number: 495.182421 EAR
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - F]
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 337.127951 FAN
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 CHA
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 CHE
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 CHO
Cantonese and Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 CHU
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 GUO
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 KAI
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.4372 LEE
Mandarin Chinese diagloue (Spanish available), English and Spanish subtitles
Locations: Aungier Street Library; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 LEE
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English and French subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 MEI
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 SIJ
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 YEE
Cantonese Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 YIM
Mandarin Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 931 YOU
Chinese dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 951 CHA
English dialogue (Some interview material in Chinese with English subtitles)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 2
Call number: 495 CHI
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 2
Call number: 495 LAO
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
