TU Dublin Library organises its collection using the Dewey Decimal system. This system orders books on the shelf by subject, using numbers from 000 to 999. Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
On this page we've highlighted a selection of books, eBooks and dictionaries to help get you started in your study of French language and culture. You can find a quick guide to browsing our book collection, and how to locate specific books from your reading list, in our Library Essentials Guide.
Language books are shelved in the 400s. There are maps in each library to help you find the call numbers you need - or you can always ask a member of library staff for help!
443/.21 French - Dictionaries
445 French - Grammar
448 French - Textbooks
You might find these other Guides helpful in your studies:
Assess your own level of expression, comprehension and reading in French at any stage. The CEFR offers language learners a descriptive tool to self-assess your language skills in listening, reading, speaking and writing.
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - French
In addition to the 180+ online databases TU Dublin Library subscribes to, we offer a number of print journals, magazines and newspapers in French to support you in your immersive language learning.
Search the Library Catalogue here for our French language print periodicals across our 5 library locations. Or our staff will be happy to help you find material by email, Libchat or at the Library desk!
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Grangegorman Library - Journals (Ground Floor)
Call number: 338
Current Journals display shelves for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Newspaper Cabinet
3 months held
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Locations: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2) ; Blanchardstown Library - Journals (Level 1)
Call number: 448
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Grangegorman Library - Journals (Ground Floor)
Call number: 647
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Newspaper Cabinet
3 months held
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Locations: Aungier Street Library - Journels (Level 2) ; Grangegorman Library - Journals (Ground Floor)
Newspaper Cabinet ; Call number: 448
3 months held ; Current year held
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 448
Current Journals display shelf for most recent issue
All back issues held in main Journals stacks
Online dictionaries, thesauruses, and content based language reference - including comprehensive free bilingual French-English dictionary
Online bilingual reference dictionary - search for words and phrases in English or French, example use sentences are provided in both languages.
100+ dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Useful eBooks found here include: Oxford Business French Dictionary, Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, and Dictionary of Untranslatables
Online dictionary of Cinematography and AV terms. Translates between French and English, Chinese, German, Italian and Spanish, among other languages.
Offers a monolingual French dictionary, in addition to bilingual dictionaries between French and Chinese, English, German, Italian and Spanish. Also included is dictionary of synonyms, a verb conjugator reference tool, and a French language cuisine portal.
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 443.21 (Library Use Only)
Location: Tallaght Library
Call number: 413.1
Location: Grangegorman Library
Call number: 443 ROB (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library
Call number: 448.2 GRE (Library Use Only)
French, German, Italian, Spanish
Winner of 2022 European Language Label award, this learning portal funded by Languages Connect was contributed to by French and Italian Language Studies lecturers of TU Dublin. Explore personal, work and academic reasons to improve your language skills, and improve your reading and listening skills and build with short videos, music, and activities across the topics of food, socialising, gaming, travel and work in your target language.
Cazaux, Nathalie, Gabaudan, Odette and Maher, Eamon (2015) French Grammar Resources: an Interactive Learning Resource. [Online, multimedia] Dublin: Technological University Dublin. doi:10.21427/dd41-xe80
French Grammar Tour is designed to be engaging, interactive and easily accessible on mobile. The site follows Didier Larmousse on his journey through the 'Tour de France'. The simple storyline brings learners through the difficulties of the French language while offering an entertaining incentive to stay on the learning journey. A range of grammar points are explained in English followed by gamified practice exercises.
English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Spanish
This OER project funded by the Irish National Forum for Teaching and Learning began in 2017 and was developed collaboratively by 6 tertiary education institutions, including two TU Dublin Language Studies lecturers. It hosts a range of activities in multiple European languages for teachers to use with students or for self-directed study. This resource has a particular emphasis on encouraging students to build digital literacies for language learning.
Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish
Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.
An index of scholarly resources curated by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association. These academic resources are all open access and have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Within French Studies a number of topic areas are covered, including an extensive Literature & Linguistics area.
TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.
Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.
Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:
Academic Search Complete
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
Lexis Nexis: News and Business
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Project MUSE
SAGE Journals Online
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Location: Aunginer Street Library
Call number: 448.3421 EAR
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: CD 2845
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 CAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 JEU
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 GOD
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 MEL
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 OUR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 RIC
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 TAT
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 TAT
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 VAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.43 VAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.43 VIL
French and Arabic dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library
Call number: DVD 791.4575 MAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - 0-9]
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - B]
French dialogue, English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - C]
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - D]
French dialogue, English, French or Spanish subtitles
(Based on the book 'Le scaphandre et le papillon' / Jean-Dominique Bauby)
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - L]
French dialogue, without subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - S]
French, German, Italian or English dialogue, with English or French subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - S]
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - U]
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library; Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - L]
Call number: 791.43
French dialogue, subtitles in English, French or Spanish
(Based on the book 'Un long dimanche de fiancailles' by Sébastien Japrisot)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 CAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 DEN
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual; Granegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 EPH
Dubbed French or English dialogue with French or English subtitles
Location: Grangorgorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 BEA
French and Arabic dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual {Level 2}
Call number: DVD 791.43 BEN
French dialogue with French and English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 944.362 BEN
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 782.48 BER
Sung in French, with subtitles in English or Japanese
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 CLA
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 GOD
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 599.883 PHI
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 RES
French dialogue with ENglish subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 TAT
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 VAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 WAR
French dialogue with English subtitles
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
