TU Dublin Library organises its collection using the Dewey Decimal system. This system orders books on the shelf by subject, using numbers from 000 to 999. Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
On this page we've highlighted a selection of books, eBooks and dictionaries to help get you started in your study of Italian language and culture. You can find a quick guide to browsing our book collection, and how to locate specific books from your reading list, in our Library Essentials Guide.
Language books are shelved in the 400s. There are maps in each library to help you find the call numbers you need - or you can always ask a member of library staff for help!
453/.21 Italian - Dictionaries
455/8 Italian - Grammar / Textbooks
You might find these other Guides helpful in your studies:
Assess your own level of expression, comprehension and reading in Italian at any stage. The CEFR offers language learners a descriptive tool to self-assess your language skills in listening, reading, speaking and writing.
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - Italian
In addition to the 180+ online databases TU Dublin Library subscribes to, we offer a number of print journals, magazines and newspapers in Italian to support you in your immersive language learning.
Search the Library Catalogue here for our Italian language print periodicals across our 5 library locations. Or our staff will be happy to help you find material by email, Libchat or at the Library desk!
Location: Granagegorman Library - Journals (Ground Floor)
Call number: 720
All back issues held
(Current issue on Journals Display shelf)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals
Call number: 458
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals (Level 2)
Call number: 458
3 months held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Aungier Street Library - Journals
Call number: 458
Current year held
(Check under display shelves for older issues)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Journals (Ground Floor)
Call number: 468
Current year held
(All issues held in main Journals stacks)
Online dictionaries, thesauruses, and content based language reference - including comprehensive free bilingual French-Italian dictionary
100+ dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Useful eBooks found here include: The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature, Pocket Oxford English-Italian Dictionary, and Dictionary of Untranslatables
Online bilingual reference dictionary - search for words and phrases in English or Italian, example use sentences are provided in both languages.
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 453.21 AMI (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 453.21 BEA (Library Use Only)
Location: Grangegorman Library - Level 1
Call number: 453.21 RAG (Library Use Only)
Location: Bolton Street Library
Call number: 453.21
Online dictionary of Cinematography and AV terms. Translates between Italian and English, Chinese, French, German and Spanish, among other languages.
French, German, Italian, Spanish
Winner of 2022 European Language Label award, this learning portal funded by Languages Connect was contributed to by French and Italian Language Studies lecturers of TU Dublin. Explore personal, work and academic reasons to improve your language skills, and improve your reading and listening skills and build with short videos, music, and activities across the topics of food, socialising, gaming, travel and work in your target language.
English, French, German, Irish, Italian, Spanish
This OER project funded by the Irish National Forum for Teaching and Learning began in 2017 and was developed collaboratively by 6 tertiary education institutions, including two TU Dublin Language Studies lecturers. It hosts a range of activities in multiple European languages for teachers to use with students or for self-directed study. This resource has a particular emphasis on encouraging students to build digital literacies for language learning.
Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Irish, Spanish
Multimedia community co-created foreign language learning resource, funded by the European Lifelong Learning Programme. Practice speaking and writing in your target language through interactive revoicing and captioning of images and video clips.
An index of scholarly resources curated by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association. These academic resources are all open access and have undergone a selection and evaluation process. Within Italian Studies a number of topic areas are covered, including an extensive Literature & Linguistics area.
TU Dublin has access to a number of databases that are relevant and useful for Language Studies. An A-Z list of these databases can be accessed via the Online Resources link on the Library website.
Databases host articles from many academic and industry journals. You can search across the majority of databases TU Dublin subscribes to all at the same time from the SearchAll box on the Library homepage.
Below are the main specific databases and journals that will be useful to you in your cultural and language studies:
Academic Search Complete
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collection
Lexis Nexis: News and Business
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Project MUSE
SAGE Journals Online
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Journals
Locations: Bolton Street Library; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: 458 THO ; CD 2694
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.4575 SIR
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual
Call number: DVD 791.4575 TAV
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - P]
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Blanchardstown Library - Audiovisual [DVD - S]
French, German, Italian or English dialogue, with English or French subtitles
Location: Aungier Street Library - Audiovisual; Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 FEL
Italian dialogue with English or French subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 DES
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Granegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 782.1 DON
Sung in Italian, subtitles available in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian and Spanish
Location: Granegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 782.1 GIO
Sung in Italian, subtitles available in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 782.1 MOZ
Sung in Italian with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 PON
French and Arabic dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 782.1 ROS
Sung in Italian with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.43 ROS
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Grangegorman Library - Audiovisual (Level 2)
Call number: DVD 791.430945 SCO
English and Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Callnumber: 791.43
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
Location: Tallaght Library - Audiovisual
Call number: 791.43
Italian dialogue with English subtitles
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
