Coherence Between Data Protection and Competition Law in Digital Markets by 
Rights in practice for people with a learning disability: stories of citizenship by 
Arthur Cox Employment Law Yearbook 2023 by Law books are located in the Park House Grangegorman Library, in section 340-349.
Print books and journals can be found by searching the library catalogue from the Search Catalogue box. Take note of the item's LOCATION, CALL NO. and STATUS which will tell you were to find the book and if it's available to borrow.
eBooks can be found by using the Advanced Keyword Search on the library catalogue, and limiting your search by Material Type to EBOOKS.
We also have two collections of Law eBooks accessible on the databases Westlaw IE and Westlaw UK. Access either of the databases from the A-Z Database page, login with your TU Dublin email/Brightspace details, select the 'Books' tab and then Browse the collection of ebooks.
Introduction to the study of law
Introductory text for students covers the core elements of company law. It includes all relevant legislative amendments and developments and key cases that have influenced this important area of law.
This new edition sets out an account of EU law that includes not only that law's established features, but captures its development in recent years and the challenges facing the European Union. With dedicated new chapters on climate change, data protection, free movement of capital, and the EU's relations with other European States, topics such as the Union's response to covid-19 and the Ukraine crisis are addressed in detail. As with previous editions, the new edition integrates case law, legislation, academic materials and wider policy contributions in a way that broadens students' understanding of the law and prompts greater critical reflection on the limits, challenges, and possibilities of EU law. It seeks to set out EU law not so much as a series of laws to be learned but as something that stimulates heavy debate about some of the most contentious and significant issues of our time.
This is the eagerly awaited new edition of Law of Torts, the complete Irish tort law reference book. For this, the contents have been extensively revised since the last edition was published in 2000. Key developments are detailed and relevant recent case law is examined. This book is essential for both legal practitioners and people studying Irish law. Recent important legislation examined in the book includes: Criminal Law (Defence and the Dwelling) Act 2011, Civil Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2011, Defamation Act 2009, Consumer Protection Act 2007, Civil Liability and Courts Act 2004 and Personal Injuries Assessment Board Act 2003. Key developments and case law are examined in areas such as pure economic loss, limitations and purchase of financial products, vicarious liability for sexual assaults, damages, privacy, defamation, psychiatric injury, liability of public authorities, employers' liability, professional negligence, defective buildings and products and occupiers' liability. First published in 1980, Law of Torts has long been a cornerstone work in Irish law, indeed in the foreword to the first edition Judge Brian Walshe noted that the book represented a challenge to the 'unquestioned assumption that English text-books would satisfy all needs.' This new addition will only add to the book's long-established merit and value. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Civil Litigation online service.
A revolutionary new theory and call to action on animal rights, ethics, and law from the renowned philosopher Martha C. Nussbaum. Animals are in trouble all over the world. Whether through the cruelties of the factory meat industry, poaching and game hunting, habitat destruction, or neglect of the companion animals that people purport to love, animals suffer injustice and horrors at our hands every day. The world needs an ethical awakening, a consciousness-raising movement of international proportions. In Justice for Animals, one of the world's most influential philosophers and humanists Martha C. Nussbaum provides a revolutionary approach to animal rights, ethics, and law. From dolphins to crows, elephants to octopuses, Nussbaum examines the entire animal kingdom, showcasing the lives of animals with wonder, awe, and compassion to understand how we can create a world in which human beings are truly friends of animals, not exploiters or users. All animals should have a shot at flourishing in their own way. Humans have a collective duty to face and solve animal harm. An urgent call to action and a manual for change, Nussbaum's groundbreaking theory directs politics and law to help us meet our ethical responsibilities as no book has done before.
Annotated to indicate amendments or repeals so that key legal information is quickly accessible and clearly outlined, the 7th edition includes coverage of: - Withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union (Consequential Provisions) Act 2020 Council Regulation (EU) 2019/111 - Mediation Act 2017 - Domestic Violence Act 2018 - Family Law (Divorce) Act 2019 - Child and Family Agency (Amendment) Act 2021 - Family Leave and Miscellaneous Provisions Act 2021 - Childcare Support Act 2018 - Family Relationships Act 2015 The authors have expertly selected the family law statutes to which busy practitioners need to refer on a regular basis, as well as EU regulations and the Rules of Court. Regardless of the area of family law in which you practise, this essential guide will ensure you have the latest legal guidance and reference information to hand. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Child and Family Law online service.
The only book to delve so extensively into the Domestic Violence Act 2018; this title provides an overview of the Act, with critical analysis of all measures and procedural developments, including new crimes of forced marriage and coercive control. It also explores the related criminal legislation concerning victims of crime and other criminal legislation dealing with related offences. This is a must-have guide for solicitors, barristers, judges, social workers and domestic violence support groups seeking a practical and easily digestible explanation of recent case law and changes to this area of the law, such as the protections now available to victims of domestic violence including giving evidence by live television link. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Child and Family Law online service.
Medical Product Regulatory Affairs Hands-on guide through the jungle of medical regulatory affairs for every professional involved in bringing new products to market Based on a module prepared by the authors for an MSc course offered by the University of Limerick, Ireland, Medical Product Regulatory Affairs is a comprehensive and practical guide on how pharmaceutical and medical devices are regulated within the major global markets. The Second Edition builds on the success of the first with an even wider scope and full coverage of new EU regulations on the safe use of medical devices. Following a look at drug development, complete sections are devoted to national and EU regulatory issues, manufacturing license application and retention, and regulation in the USA. Other topics dealt with include CDER, CBER and marketing and manufacturing licenses, the ICH process and Good Laboratory/Clinical/ Manufacturing Practices. Medical Product Regulatory Affairs includes information on: Aims and structure of regulation, covering purpose and principles of regulation, national and EU legislative processes, and pharmacopeia Regulatory strategy, covering product development and manufacturing, market vigilance, quality assurance systems, personnel, and documentation Drug discovery and development, covering prescription status, physical properties, therapeutic use, and drug discovery, development, and delivery Non-clinical studies, covering non-clinical study objectives and timing, pharmacological and pharmacodynamic studies, and bioavailability and bioequivalence Clinical trials, covering trial protocol, monitoring of trials, trial master files, and FDA communications The wide coverage of different product types and the main global markets makes Medical Product Regulatory Affairs ideal for training courses on regulatory affairs in academia and industry. It is also a valuable reference for pharmacologists, bioengineers, pharma engineers, and students in pharmacy to familiarize themselves with the topic.
Criminal Legislation in Ireland consolidates the most important and frequently used pieces of criminal legislation and facilitates easy reference for criminal practitioners and students alike. This practical title saves you time by bringing together recent legislation, as well as incorporating amendments to older Acts. It also includes older legislation which is not easily accessible on the internet. The Fourth Edition includes new coverage of: - Criminal Law (Extraterritorial Jurisdiction) Act 2019 - Civil Law and Criminal Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2020 - Parts 1 and 4 only - Harassment, Harmful Communications and Related Offences Act 2020 - Criminal Justice (Amendment) Act 2021 - Criminal Justice (Smuggling of Persons) Act 2021 - Criminal Justice (Perjury and Related Offences) Act 2021 - Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) (Amendment) Act 2021 - Criminal Procedure Act 2021 - Counterfeiting Act 2021 (excluding part 3) - Sex Offenders (Amendment) Act 2023 - Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 This is an essential reference for solicitors, barristers, criminal defence lawyers, court clerks, judges, legal aid centres, as well as students and academics. This title is available on Irish Criminal Law on Bloomsbury Professional Online.
Police Powers in Ireland covers everything you need to know about police powers in the context of the investigation of crime, as well as general interactions between the members of An Garda Síochána and the public. This book examines the legal issues that arise, with an emphasis on the practicalities of policing. Alongside an analysis of up-to-date case law, this book traces the history of the force, its duties and powers, and details the importance of human rights. The Second Edition covers: - The significant changes to the law on drawing adverse inferences - The changes which DPP v JC had on the exclusionary rule - Damache v DPP, dealing with the competing interests between state and the accused - Observation, surveillance and phone-tapping - Visual ID (parades, videos, photos) This is a must-have guide to the duties, powers and history of An Garda Síochána for criminal practitioners, judges and academics; a necessity in any criminal lawyer's briefcase. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Criminal Law online service.
The Special Criminal Court: Practice and Procedure is the first general textbook in four decades to cover all aspects of the Special Criminal Court. It is a comprehensive and detailed review of the Court's rulings, legislative developments, and procedural and evidential rules. In light of the fact that the Special Criminal Court is a creature of statute, the procedural rules are extraordinarily specific and this book sets these out comprehensively and clearly, so as to be accessible and useful to the practitioner. It provides practitioners with all relevant material on the practical considerations, procedural requirements, and evidential issues specific to the Special Criminal Court. The book covers the range of offences typically tried by the Court, and contains detailed discussions on: - The most recent case law and legislative developments - Subversive crime and the special evidential requirements relating to subversive crime - The rules of the Special Criminal Court and the specific procedure applicable in that court - The challenges taken to the Special Criminal Court regime in light of the Constitution and the European Convention on Human Rights - Witness protection - Investigative powers - Surveillance - Accomplice evidence - Disclosure and privilege in the context of the Special Criminal Court - Organised crime This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Criminal Law online service.
National security is becoming a global preoccupation. It drives some of the most important political discussions of today, and is increasingly present in public concerns. From a legal perspective, national security is becoming increasingly relevant in the fields of immigration and asylum law and media law in that can affect newspapers' ability to publish stories which concern national security issues. National Security Law in Ireland is the first book of its kind to provide an in-depth examination of the Irish laws concerning national security, in the context of the criminal trial. It covers a wide range of topics such as entrapment, surveillance and interception, the handling of informers, and the constitutional aspects of national security. Distinguishing features of the book include a detailed analysis of the Witness Protection Programme, an examination of recent judgments of the Superior Courts on deportation and naturalisation in relation to national security, as well as the most comprehensive examination of the origins of informer privilege and its development in Irish law to date. This book will be ideal for barristers and solicitors working in the areas of criminal law, asylum/refugee law and judicial review, as well as for those working in the Chief State Solicitor's Office, the Attorney General's Office, the Department of Justice, An Garda Síochána, and the Defence Forces. Eoin O'Connor is a practising barrister. He was called to the Bar in 2008 and began practising in 2009. In 2015 he was awarded his PhD which examined how informer privilege affected the right to a fair trial. In addition, he is an adjunct assistant professor in the Law School of Trinity College Dublin. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Criminal Law online service.
This concise, practical text, written by one of Ireland's leading criminal barristers, deals with all the key areas of drugs law including sentencing, possession, importation, stop and search, search warrants, entrapment, evidence and defences. New to the second edition: * The chapter on possession has been largely rewritten to take account of changes in the case law since 2010. * The book has been updated to reflect the changes to the law brought about by the Customs Act 2015 and the Communications Regulation (Postal Services) Act 2011. * The chapter on cultivation has been expanded since the first edition. This area of law has become much more significant since 2010. There have been a lot more cases of the grow house category being processed by the courts, although the law itself has not changed significantly. These cases tend to be relevant in the context of sentencing. * The second edition contains the following new chapter: Powers for Investigating Drugs Offences. * The section dealing with adverse inference questioning has been thoroughly rewritten and contextualised it to focus on drugs offences. There have been a number of important decisions from the Irish courts relating to these provisions within the past 10 years (and the author appeared in some of those cases). * The entrapment procedures material has been revised to take account of a number of significant decisions in recent years. * Ch 18 on Defences has been revised in light of the Smyth decision in 2010, which related to the burden on the accused. * Sentencing is one of the most important aspects of drugs law and this material has been brought up to date. Of particular significance is the addition of a section on grow houses and cultivation. New legislation and cases that are dealt with in this edition: * Misuse of Drugs Regulations 2017 * Customs Act 2015 * Communications Regulation (Postal Services) Act 2011 * DPP v Smyth [2010] 3 IR 368 * DPP v JC [2015] IESC 31 This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Criminal Law online service.
This highly regarded and influential text is essential reading for company law students and practitioners, and is regularly cited with approval in Irish courts. The book provides guidance on every aspect of Irish company law from a company's formation to its winding up and examinership. It also examines the core areas of corporate personality, capital, borrowing, membership and administration. The sixth edition retains the clear and navigable structure of previous editions and is updated to account for changes brought about by: * Brexit; * Covid measures; * Companies (Statutory Audits) Act 2018; * Companies (Accounting) Act 2017. Recent case law is also analysed, in particular in relation to directors' duties, company charges, liability of parent companies for subsidiaries, restriction and disqualification of directors and the Corporate Enforcement Authority. This title is included in Bloomsbury Professional's Irish Company and Commercial Law online service.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
