Culinary Arts and Food Technology Subject Guide

TU Dublin has a number of databases that are relevant and useful for culinary arts and food studies. They can be accessed via the Search Resources page on the Library website.

These are our principal databases for the culinary area:

 

GlobalData

An extensive Datamonitor global service. Includes the Product Launch Analytics database, which features graphic descriptions and analysis of a huge number of new food products. 

Please click on the IP Access link on the login page to use this resource on campus. To access the resource remotely please do the following:

1. Click on the Shibboleth link


2. Search for TU Dublin at the next screen


3. Select TU Dublin (TU Dublin login)

 

Hospitality and Tourism Complete (HTC)
HTC is a database covering all areas of the hospitality and tourism industries and their management. Subjects covered include company rankings, development & investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management, leisure and business travel, management practices, market trends, technology trends and many more. 

 

Emerald Insight

Click on My Products on the Tool Bar to open individual databases in Accounting & Finance, Economics,Education, Health & Social Care, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Information & Knowledge Management, Library & Information Science Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Property Management, Public Policy, Sociology, Strategy, Tourism & Hospitality, Transport.
Contains: Full text.

 

Leisuretourism 

This resource provides the definitive source of information social and economic aspects of leisure, tourism, recreation, sport and the cultural industries. In addition to the vast amount of information included in the databases, the community provides weekly news updates, reviews, a calendar of events, access to CABI tourism abstracts and leisure book titles and job listings.

 

Passport

Euromonitor International's global market analysis software. Regional Trends and data sets. Coverage of all relevant channels and products. Historic and forecast data series, comparable across countries. Country reports by local analysts.
 

ScienceDirect

This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.

 

Web of Science

An extensive full-text database in all fields of Science, including food science and technology.

TU Dublin's Arrow repository includes an extensive gastronomy archive which includes a collection of menus, oral histories and papers from the Dublin Gastronomy Symposium.

 

Search All  allows you to search for content in several of the databases and e-journals that TU Dublin Library subscribe to simultaneously, in addition to searching the catalogue for books/e-books.

In this way, it is a good place to start researching. It also allows searches of more different search fields and combinations. Dates, languages, content type, and so on can all be narrowed down. The advanced search screen is shown below and shows you all the potential options for searching available. 

Using Search All, you can find information on your search terms in books/ebooks, newspapers, academic journals, etc. It will direct you to where to find the books in our physical library and/or take you straight to full-text articles or e-books. You may need to confirm your library TU Dublin login to access these on a non-TU Dublin computer as is usual with electronic resources.

Here is a short video that explains how to do a basic search.

Contact library staff if you have difficulty accessing a particular resource. 

Print Journals

A number of printed journals are available. These are available on the Ground floor of Grangegorman Library, Park House. 

eJournals

The list below contains a short selection of eJournals around your subject area to get you started. To access the Library's full list of e-journal titles go to the E-Journals Portal.

Note: If you are accessing e-journals from off-campus, you will be required to authenticate using your Student TU Dublin email password.

• Cornell Hospitality Quarterly
• European Journal of Marketing
• Food and Wine
• Food, Culture and Society
• Food Quality and Safety
• Gastronomica
• International Journal of Food Science and Technology
• Journal of Brand Management
• Nutrition and Food Science
• Petits Propos Culinaires
• Restaurant Hospitality
• Total Quality Management and Business Excellence

Google Scholar: What is Google Scholar?

Linking TU Dublin Library subscriptions to Google Scholar to maximize full-text results:

In Google Scholar Settings set your Google Scholar Library Links to TU Dublin - Find@TUdublin. When you search this will link to subscribed full-text held in TU Dublin Library. Try this short video here for more information. Please note Google Scholar doesn't index all the content contained in TU Dublin Library databases or other content subscriptions.

     

See also the tips from the Google Scholar website below:

Search Results
Your search results are normally sorted by relevance, not by date. To find newer articles, try the following options:

1. click "Since Year" to show only recently published papers, sorted by relevance;
2. click "Sort by date" to show just the new additions, sorted by date;
3. click the envelope icon to have new results periodically delivered by email.

Locating the full text of an article

Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles, but reading the entire article may require a subscription. Here're a few things to try:

1. click a library link, e.g., "Find@", to the right of the search result;
2. click a link labeled [PDF] to the right of the search result;
3. click "All versions" under the search result and check out the alternative sources;
4. click "Related articles" or "Cited by" under the search result to explore similar articles.

Getting better answers

• If the search results are too specific for your needs, check out what they're citing in their "References" sections. Referenced works are often more general in nature.

• Similarly, if the search results are too basic for you, click "Cited by" to see newer papers that referenced them. These newer papers will often be more specific.

• Explore! There's rarely a single answer to a research question. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written.