When you do a general search on the catalogue your results will include e-books as well as print. Here is an example of a design book that is in both formats:
The top item shows 2 print books available at call # 158.70246 VAN. The 2nd item shows a little green globe instead. Note also the icons on the far left. They represent books and e-books, hence the little red "e".
When you click on the titles in the list, you will be brought to the catalogue record for each book. If it is an e-book, you will find a link to the full-text of the book. If you click that link, you will "open" the e-book. If you are on campus, you will be brought directly to the full-text e-book. If you click on the link while off campus, you will be asked for your Student email address and email password to view the e-book.
*Note - If you are off campus you will need to login to access any online Library resources such as ejournals, databases, and e-books. Your single sign-on allows you access to the online library through the Library Catalogue or is available 24 hours a day and off campus. You can access it by logging into SearchAll or the Library Catalogue. Our online library is available 24/7, both on campus and off campus. It provides access to thousands of e-books, journals and databases.
Once you have accessed the e-book you can simply read directly from the screen, save pages or print some off.
Please be aware of Copyright Law - you are only allowed to download/print a certain percentage of any book.
All of our e-books have multi-user licenses which means that they can be accessed by up to 3 users simultaneously. Don't forget to logout when you are finished looking at an e-book as this will free it up for the next person.
To browse the e-books available, you can search the subject "E-book collection" to get a list.
You can also browse by going to the "E-Books" page on the Library website and clicking one of our supplier links. Most useful are the Proquest and EBSCO lists: 
To search for e-books related to art and design use the advanced search (https://library.tudublin.ie/search/X) in the library catalogue. Enter the terms ebook collection in one block as a subject field search. In the other fields add relevant search terms such as Art, Paint*, sculpt* and so on. The resulting list of books should be electronic books related to the keyword(s) used to search.
Below is a gallery of just a few of the ebooks relevant to Sociology. Click an image to link to the ebook record on the catalogue.
As a master teacher, John Santrock connects current research with real-world application, helping students see how developmental psychology plays a role in their own lives and future careers. Through an integrated learning goals system, this comprehensive and chronological approach to lifespan development helps students gain the insight they need to study smarter, stay focused, and improve performance.
Social life is in a constant process of change, and sociology can never stand still. As a result, sociology today is a theoretically diverse enterprise, covering a huge range of subjects and drawing on a broad array of research methods. Central to this endeavour is the use of core concepts and ideas which allow sociologists to make sense of societies, though our understanding of these concepts necessarily evolves and changes. This clear and jargon-free book introduces a careful selection of essential concepts that have helped to shape sociology and others that continue to do so. Going beyond brief, dictionary-style definitions, Anthony Giddens and Philip W. Sutton provide an extended discussion of each concept which sets it in historical and theoretical context, explores its main meanings in use, introduces relevant criticisms, and points readers to its ongoing development in contemporary research and theorizing. Organized in ten thematic sections, the book offers a portrait of sociology through its essential concepts, ranging from capitalism, identity and deviance to globalization, the environment and intersectionality. It will be essential reading for all those new to sociology as well as anyone seeking a reliable route map for a rapidly changing world.
In this lucid, stimulating and original book, Zygmunt Bauman and Tim May explore the underlying assumptions and tacit expectations which structure our view of the world. The authors elucidate key concepts in sociology: for example, individualism versus community, and privilege versus deprivation. While charting a course through sociology's main concerns, Bauman and May also examine the applicability of sociology to everyday life.
Widely regarded as the state-of-the-science reference on attachment, this handbook interweaves theory and cutting-edge research with clinical applications. Leading researchers examine the origins and development of attachment theory; present biological and evolutionary perspectives; and explore the role of attachment processes in relationships, including both parent-child and romantic bonds. Implications for mental health and psychotherapy are addressed, with reviews of exemplary attachment-oriented interventions for children and adolescents, adults, couples, and families. Contributors discuss best practices in assessment and critically evaluate available instruments and protocols. New to This Edition *Chapters on genetics and epigenetics, psychoneuroimmunology, and sexual mating. *Chapters on compassion, school readiness, and the caregiving system across the lifespan. *Chapter probing the relation between attachment and other developmental influences. *Nearly a decade's worth of theoretical and empirical advances.
This book brings together key themes in Childhood Studies to provide an accessible yet scholarly introduction for students and practitioners.
This book provides a variety of sociological frameworks for understanding contemporary social policy. It explores how sociological perspectives may be used to theorize, conceptualize and research social policy. Amanda Coffey captures the different ways in which social policy can be understood - as academic discipline, policy process, service provision and lived experience. The book engages with a range of policy areas and client groups, and pays attention to sociodemographic categories such as gender, 'race', class and age.
Adulthood is an accessible text which deals with the vital area of adult psychological development. It combines detailed accounts of the main theories and evidence on the psychology of adulthood with thorough discussion and commentary, presented in a concise and friendly form. The book's approach encourages engagement with the main theories of this highly relevant topic, as well as including less well-known models of adulthood for discussion. The book begins with a definition of lifespan psychology, and further chapters include early and middle adulthood; the life events approach; marriage; parenting; divorce; and old age. It includes some modern slants on the classic research, as well as the up-to-date theories, and alternative theories are introduced. Cross-cultural issues and examples have been included in every chapter, and various biases are identified and explained. The final section has sample essays on this topic with extremely helpful examiner's comments, as well as a useful glossary. Evie Bentley has written an ideal guide to this topic, which requires little or no background knowledge. It provides a useful introduction for both A-level and undergraduate students of psychology or sociology, and will also be of interest to anyone in the health or social care professions and to those with a general interest in developmental psychology.
Sociology: A Global Introduction represents a uniquely co-ordinated and complete learning resource for sociology students worldwide. International in outlook and culturally wide-ranging, it also reminds us that sociology is valuable. Unrivalled in breadth, it is a text of passion and sophistication helping you become an active, connected and critical learner.
Loneliness in Later Life concerns the personal and social changes associated with ageing, a topic which is becoming increasingly popular as the number of those in the Third Age themselves reaches unprecedented levels. It analyses the nature of loneliness, clearly distinguishing it from the experience of solitary living, which in its turn is explored, and valued. Through an examination of material drawn from literature and moderen research, including the author's own experience, the book arrives at the happy conclusion that older people are not in general, lonelier than when younger.
This clear and instructive text gives practical advice on how to write better essays or assessments and give better presentations within social work. It shows how practitioners and students can apply theoretical considerations to practical social work and how they can articulate this connection in written or oral reports, both in pre-qualification and for professional development post-qualification. The authors, experienced teachers and researchers in social work education, explain how to go about gathering evidence from fieldwork and practice placements and how to prepare and plan an assignment or project. They give guidance on incorporating ethical considerations and theoretical developments, applying law and policy, and developing all these aspects in reflection, analysis and evaluation of practice. Also included are helpful sections on vivas in borderline situations and how to react in the case of failure. This clear and accessible guide will be invaluable to social work students, practice teachers, social work practitioners and social service managers.
Introduction - 1. The Transition from Student to Practitioner: Managing the Social Work Learning Journey - 2. Embedding the Principles of Adult Learning - 3. Fostering Emotional Intelligence Within Social Work Practice - 4. Developing Resilience for Effective and Safe Practice - 5. Engaging in Reflective Practice - 6. Advanced Critical Reflection through Narrative (re)construction - 7. Supervision for Transformative Learning and the Development of Practice - 8. Coaching for Social Workers - 9. Learning About and Learning from Service Users - 10. Developing Digital Competence for Practice - 11. Book Groups and Fiction: A 'Novel' Approach to Teaching and Learning - 12. Social Work Narratives: My Learning Journey - Conclusion.
Introduction - Historical and Sociological Approaches on Childhood - A Relational Sociology of Early Childhood - Growing Up Beside You: Social Habitus in Early Childhood - Young Childrens Play: Challenging the Adult Establishment - Civilising young children: long-term parenting trends - New Media Technologies and the Sexualisation of Childhood - Conclusions.
This major text addresses the relevance of sociological concepts to social work practice, arguing that lack of understanding of the ways in which social work fits into society's structures and is informed by its relationship with these can lead to impoverished social work practice. Written from an anti-racist, feminist perspective, it both argues for social workers to engage in empowering forms of practice and provides students, practitioners and educators with a new 'paradigm' to draw on.
This volume contains an Open Access Chapter As a peripheral state within English-speaking criminology, Ireland is often overlooked in mainstream Anglophone theories of punitiveness and penal transformation. This edited collection addresses this deficit by bringing together leading scholars on Irish penal history and theory to make a case for Ireland's wider theoretical relevance. Together, these chapters show in rich detail the trends and debates that have surround patterns of punishment in Ireland since the formation of the State in 1922. However, by being about twentieth century Irish penal history, the volume inherently foregrounds often absent perspectives in criminology and punishment, such as gender, postcoloniality, religion, rurality, and carcerality beyond the criminal justice system. This is more than a collection of Irish criminology, therefore; the social analysis of Irish penal history is undertaken as a contribution towards southernising criminology. The authors each seek to engage criminology in a wider epistemological re-imagining of what is meant by punitiveness, penal culture, and 'Anglophone' penal history. Opening up new avenues of exploration and collaboration, and showing how researchers might look beyond the usual problems, refine the mainstream trends, and rework the obvious questions, this collection demonstrates how the Irish perspective remains relevant for international researchers interested in punishment and history.
