So why use journals? Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published in articles on a monthly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are usually peer-reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard.
Access options:
It's useful to think about a search strategy before using a database to make your search as efficient as possible: try the hints and tips in the Search strategies video.
See also:
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.
The Electrochemical Society is an international organisation with 8,000 scientist and 100 laboratory corporate members. Concerned with electrochemical and solid state technology.
There are 7 Journals in the collection: Electrochemistry Letters, Solid State Science and Tech., Meeting Abstracts, Solid State letters, Transactions, Journal of the Electrochemical Society.
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.
View the Knovel Libguide.
View the Knovel Video Tutorials.
Molecular Pharmacology publishes findings derived from the application of innovative structural biology, biochemistry, biophysics, physiology, genetics, and molecular biology to basic pharmacological problems that provide mechanistic insights that are broadly important for the fields of pharmacology and toxicology.
Reaxys offers a highly intuitive interface and robust database to help you retrieve relevant chemical literature, patent information, valid compound properties and experimental procedures.
Reaxys supports the full range of chemistry research, including pharmaceutical development, the chemicals industry and academic research.
View the Reaxys LibGuide.
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
This link opens in a new windowYou will need to register for an individual SciFinderⁿ account.
SciFinderⁿ provides access to the world’s most comprehensive and reliable collection of scientific research information. A global network of expert scientists curate and aggregate the world’s scientific patent and journal content daily and make it fully discoverable through the advanced technology contained in SciFinderⁿ. This ensures researchers have the most current and accurate substance, reaction, reference and commercial sourcing information available to quickly and confidently inform your critical research activities.
Coverage: Information on substances, patents, experimental and predicted properties, and spectra. Access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) collection of indexed literature from 1907 to the present.
As a member of TU Dublin, you have been granted complimentary access to the US Pharmacopeia publication.USP
To set up an account (called a USP Access Point account) you must use your student/faculty email address. Please click Here
SHARING OF YOUR ACCOUNT INFORMATION IS STRICTLY FORBIDDEN.
The United States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary (USP–NF) is a book of public pharmacopeial standards. It contains standards for (chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations), excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements. USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF)
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Coverage: Full text access to journal collections, Guideline documents and podcasts of the AMA. Includes access to backfiles.
Discover world-leading medical and allied health research, reviews, news and multimedia content from BMJ’s specialty journals. BMJ Journals include a variety of key titles, across a range of specialties, including clinical, evidence-based and public health journals. Please ignore browser security warnings and use "Advanced" or "Add exception" to open this resource.
Embase is a unique medical literature database where comprehensive goes beyond content. With Emtree indexing of full-text content and dedicated search terms, you find all relevant and current results.
Karger Fast Facts is a medical handbook series whose purpose is to address knowledge gaps in healthcare enabling a dialogue between healthcare professionals, patients and other stakeholders from the healthcare ecosystem.
Click here for an explanation of the differences between MEDLINE, PubMed and PubMed Central.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
See also:
Click here for an explanation of the differences between MEDLINE, PubMed and PubMed Central.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database, which covers the period from 1950 to present. Explore More than 5,200 journals in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
See also:
Covers of 30 specialist areas of practice in 4 key areas and includes over 200 peer-reviewed journals. Areas covered are Allied and public health, Clinical psychiatry and neuroscience, General medicine and dentistry, and Pharmaceutical science and toxicology.
Access to 380 Journals covering computer science, genetics, humanities, law, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, science and technology.
Journals from Oxford University Press covering the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies.
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
The premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Now also contains all former Kluwer Academic journals but does NOT contain titles from Brill Academic Publisher.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols. Includes access to backfiles.
With science trend statistics drawn from more than 12 million articles from over 12,000 global journals, Essential Science Indicators delivers the in-depth coverage you need to effectively analyze and benchmark research performance, identify significant trends, rank top performers, and evaluate potential employees and collaborators.
Critically evaluate and compare journals in the sciences and social sciences using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. Use JCR to find the most frequently cited journals, and measure research influence through impact factor, aggregate impact factor, the aggregate immediacy index, aggregated cited half-life, and the number of articles in each category. Full name of the database is Incites Journal Citation Reports.
Citations and abstracts of many dissertations and theses from the United States and throughout the world. Previews of some dissertations are available. Formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
