LibGuides: Chemistry: Clinical Trials

Clinical Trials: sources and datasets

Cochrane Central Register of Clinical Trials: the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase.com), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources including from CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. CENTRAL first began publication in 1996, but its composite nature means that it does not have an inception (start) date, in the way that other traditional biomedical databases do.

Clinical Trials.gov: from the National Library of Medicine this resource is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

EU Clinical Trials Register: EudraCT (European Union Drug Regulating Authorities Clinical Trials Database) is the database for all interventional clinical trials on medicinal products submitted to the National Competent Authorities (NCAs) of the European Union from 1 May 2004 until 30 January 2023 as well as for all trials conducted outside of the EEA that are part of a Paediatric Investigation Plan (PIP) and/or are conducted under Article 45 or 46 of Regulation (EC) No 1901/2006. Most of the protocol and results information of EudraCT trials is made publicly available through the European Union Clinical Trials Register (see Frequently Asked Questions).

WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP): The main aim of the WHO ICTRP is to facilitate the prospective registration of the WHO Trial Registration Data Set on all clinical trials, and the public accessibility of that information. The ICTRP Search Portal aims to provide a single point of access to information about ongoing and completed clinical trials. It provides a searchable database containing the trial registration data sets made available by data providers around the world meeting criteria for content and quality control.