Chemistry

American Chemical Society: Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress their vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.

ChemRxiv is the preprint server for chemistry. ChemRxiv is managed by the American Chemical Society (ACS), Chinese Chemical Society, Chemical Society of Japan, German Chemical Society (GDCh) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results ahead of formal peer review and publication.

ChemSpider: access over 30 million chemical structures, properties and associated information from a single online search. Search by chemical names or by chemical structure to get access to the information you need. ChemSpider is hosted by the RSC.

ChEMBL is a database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties. It brings together chemical, bioactivity and genomic data to aid the translation of genomic information into effective new drugs.

Compound Interest aims to take a closer look at the chemical compounds we come across on a day-to-day basis, explaining them with easy-to-understand graphics and infographics. 

DrugBank is a bioinformatics and cheminformatics database that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information.

Kaye & Laby Online provides tables of physical constants, formulae, graphs and charts covering a wide range of science topics. This resource is freely provided by the National Physical Laboratory (NPL).

Merck Index Online: for over 120 years the Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition and is hosted by the RSC. 

OpenAire Explore offers 3m publications, 2m research datasets, 3m other research products, 112K of software from 16K content providers and 18 funders linked together for an integrated discovery of research.

PubCHEM: search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

PubMedCentral Europe is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Europe PMC provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE) and BioStudies.

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) resources include:

1. How to Read a Journal Article:  Reading this guide will help you read and understand journal articles in the chemical sciences. It explains how they are structured, where to find specific information, what peer review is and how to critically assess the content

2. How to Reference using the RSC Style: this guide will help you format references, notes and footnotes using the Royal Society of Chemistry's own citation/referencing style based on the numeric system. 

3. Student Chemistry Learning Resources 

Sense about Science is an independent campaigning charity that challenges the misrepresentation of science and evidence in public life. They advocate openness and honesty about research and work to ensure the public interest in sound science and evidence is recognized in public discussion and policymaking.

Zenodo is an open-access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN. It allows researchers to deposit data sets, research software, reports, and other research.