Welcome to TU Dublin Library Services. This guide introduces you to all the essential information you need to get started on your academic journey to success. The Library provides FREE access to study spaces, reading list materials in our collections, and academic supports to help you develop your academic research skills to become a confident, independent, and successful student.
Whether you are completely new to third level education, returning to education, or just new to TU Dublin, Library staff are here to help you at every step along the way. We provide an inclusive and non-judgmental service to all students. Whether you need a bit of help and are feeling a bit lost or if you just want some advice on how to enhance your skills come and speak with us. We will meet you at your point of need in person or online. The services are available at any time during the academic year and throughout the duration of your course.
You automatically have FREE membership of the Library when you are a student with TU Dublin.
Your Student ID Card is also your Library card. Once your ID card is printed, your Library Account will automatically be created within 24 hours. This Library Account will allow you to use and borrow from all five libraries.
Once you have access to your TU Dublin email account, you will have full FREE access to resources in our online Library collections such as ebooks, ejournals, library databases, and so much more. Log in from anywhere 24/7 using your TU Dublin email credentials.
You are assigned to a home library. This is the campus where most of your classes are based. If you have any queries about your library account you can contact your home library in the first instance. However, you can use and borrow from all five libraries and library staff in any location will assist you where needed.
Your lecturer may book a Library tour and orientation workshop for your class, so make sure you attend to pick up tips on how to find what you need and learn about the collections, services, and supports available to you to help you achieve academic success during your time at TU Dublin.
Your class rep can also book a Library class on your behalf. You can also book a direct one-to-one consultation with your Faculty Liaison Librarian.
For all the information on what's available, visit Supporting Student Learning.
There are five libraries in Grangegorman, Aungier Street, Blanchardstown, Bolton Street, and Tallaght. You have a home library, but you can use and borrow from all five libraries.
Visit the Locations & Opening Hours page on the Library website for information on locations and opening hours.
Our library collections provide access to the resources included in your programme and module reading lists. You can find, borrow, and access print books, ebooks, academic journals, music scores, and so much more.
Visit the Search Resources page to see what's available.
Visit the Finding Assignment Resources page to learn how to search and find resources.
Visit the eResources guide to learn how to log in to resources in the Online Library Collections.
The print collection is organised using the Dewey Decimal System, which arranges materials into ten main subject areas, numbered from 000 to 999.
Each item is given a unique call number that indicates both its subject and its location on the shelf. The numbers after the decimal point represent more specific topics within that subject area.
As a result, books located near each other on the shelf are often related and may contain similar or useful information. The Library Catalogue will provide you with the call number for the book or item you are looking for. The call number on the Library Catalogue record will match the call number on the spine label on the book or item.
The call number will always be in the following format, 'Call Number First Three Letters of the Author's Surname', e.g., 658.8 KOT
Need some help? Ask Library staff, we're here to help you find what you need.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
