So why use journals? Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published on a monthly or weekly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are peer reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard.
To access ejournals directly there are a couple of options:
Most of the journals will have a link or a selection of links to access the journal electronically.
See also:
Databases index journals in a range of subject areas. A database may cover a range of different journals and science topics like Science Direct and IEEE Xplore or deal with a very specific area like the Irish Standards database. It's useful to think about a search strategy before using a database to make your search as efficient as possible.
Use one or more of the subject databases below to find quality research information around your topic:
Engineering Village is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. You can also search the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968).
View the Engineering Village Libguide.
IEEE Xplore provides access to full-text documents from publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content in IEEE Xplore comprises journals, conference proceedings, eBooks and educational courses.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service, OSH Information service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.
View the Knovel Libguide.
View the Knovel Video Tutorials.
Sage journals online includes over 700 journals in the fields of Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Humanities, Materials Science & Engineering, Life & Biomedical Sciences. Access from Vol.1 to current issue for most titles.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
The premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Now also contains all former Kluwer Academic journals but does NOT contain titles from Brill Academic Publisher.
Coverage: Full text access to Irish standards and ISO standards.
TU Dublin Library currently has access to the Web of Science Research Assistant Beta, a generative-AI enabled chatbot that enables natural language discovery and summarization of Web of Science Core Collection content.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols. Includes access to backfiles.
