So why use journals? Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published in articles on a monthly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are usually peer-reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard.
Access Options
Subject databases index scholarly journals in a range of subject areas. A database like Science Direct may cover a range of different chemistry journals. Or a database may cover a specific area like the Electrochemical Society Digital Library or the Reaxys databases.
Need help?
Embase is a unique medical literature database where comprehensive goes beyond content. With Emtree indexing of full-text content and dedicated search terms, you find all relevant and current results.
The Food Chemicals Codex (FCC) is a compendium of internationally recognized standards for the identity, purity, and quality of food ingredients. It features over 1,200 monographs, including food-grade chemicals, processing aids, food ingredients (such as vegetable oils, fructose, whey, and amino acids), flavoring agents, vitamins, and functional food ingredients (such as lycopene, olestra, and short chain fructooligosaccharides).
To set up a new account click here.
Make sure to use your TU Dublin email address.
FSTA® is the key database for faculty and students in the sciences of food and health.
From nutrition to veterinary medicine, FSTA covers many of the sciences related to food and health, enabling you to carry out in-depth and targeted interdisciplinary research. Records are deep-indexed using the most comprehensive food thesaurus in the world, so that you can find highly relevant information quickly and easily.
Updated weekly, FSTA holds over 2 million high quality records from over 22,675 journals, books, trade publications, conference proceedings, patents and more, including nearly 5,500 journals. All journals are assessed for quality so you can be confident FSTA does not contain any fake science. For more information, visit www.ifis.org/fsta
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database, which covers the period from 1950 to present. Explore More than 5,200 journals in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Karger Fast Facts is a medical handbook series whose purpose is to address knowledge gaps in healthcare enabling a dialogue between healthcare professionals, patients and other stakeholders from the healthcare ecosystem.
Journals from Oxford University Press covering the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies.
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
The premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Now also contains all former Kluwer Academic journals but does NOT contain titles from Brill Academic Publisher.
TU Dublin Library currently has access to the Web of Science Research Assistant Beta, a generative-AI enabled chatbot that enables natural language discovery and summarization of Web of Science Core Collection content.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols. Includes access to backfiles.
