You could commence your research from the TU Dublin city library services home page here. However, if you are searching books or e-books it would be preferable to choose advanced search option as you can then limit your search by material type. Furthermore, there is a general TU Dublin e-books guide. You can access that guide here. Some of the book titles listed via the library catalogue are also available as e-books. However, please note that in order to access ebooks remotely, you need to first create a library pin number. Please click on link here to information on setting up your library pin number. Link to ebooks information page here.
Musical Performance (e-book) by 
The Postgraduate Research Handbook by 
Rachmaninoff: Composer, Pianist, Conductor by 
The Reflective Practice Guide by 
Managing Stress in Music Education by 
The Piano in Nineteenth-Century British Culture by 
The Reputations of Thomas Moore by 
The Routledge Handbook of Women's Work in Music presents a unique collection of core research by academics and music practitioners from around the world, engaging with an extraordinarily wide range of topics on women's contributions to Western and Eastern art music, popular music, world music, music education, ethnomusicology as well as in the music industries. The handbook falls into six parts. Part I serves as an introduction to the rich variety of subject matter the reader can expect to encounter in the handbook as a whole. Part II focuses on what might be termed the more traditional strand of feminist musicology - research which highlights the work of historical and/or neglected composers. Part III explores topics concerned with feminist aesthetics and music creation and Part IV focuses on questions addressing the performance and reception of music and musicians. The narrative of the handbook shifts in Part V to focus on opportunities and leadership in the music professions from a Western perspective. The final section of the handbook (Part VI) provides new frames of context for women's positions as workers, educators, patrons, activists and promoters of music. This is a key reference work for advanced undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in music and gender.
Music, the Moving Image and Ireland, 1897-2017 constitutes the first comprehensive study of music for screen productions from or relating to the island. It identifies and interprets tendencies over the first 120 years of a field comprising the relatively distinct yet often overlapping areas of Irish-themed and Irish-produced film. Dividing into three parts, the book first explores accompaniments and scores for 20th-century Irish-themed narrative features that resulted in significant contributions by many Hollywood, British, continental European and, to a lesser extent, Irish composers, along with the input of many orchestras and other musicians. Its second part is framed by a consideration of various cultural, political and economic developments in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland from the 1920s (including the Troubles of 1968-1998). Focusing on scoring and other aspects of soundtrack production for domestic newsreel, documentary film and TV programming, it interprets the substantial output of many Irish composers within this milieu, particularly from the 1960s to the 1990s. Also referring to broader cultural and historical themes, the book's third and final part charts approaches to and developments in music and sound design over various waves of Irish cinema, from its relatively late emergence in the 1970s to an exponential growth and increasingly transnational orientation in the early decades of the 21st century.
This collection of essays celebrates the work of Sir Harrison Birtwistle, one of the key figures in European contemporary music. Representing current research on Birtwistle's music, this book reflects the diversity of his work in terms of periods, genres, forms, techniques and related issues through a wide range of critical, theoretical and analytical interpretations and perspectives. Written by a team of international scholars, all of whom bring a deep research-based knowledge and insight to their chosen study, this collection extends the scholarly understanding of Birtwistle through new engagements with the man and the music. The contributors provide detailed studies of Birtwistle's engagement with electronic music in the 1960s and 1970s, and develop theoretical explanations of his fascination with pulse, rhythm and time. They also explore in detail Birtwistle's interest in poetry, instrumental drama, gesture, procession and landscape, and consider the compositional processes that underpin these issues.
Classical music shows a close relationship to language, and both musicology and philosophy have tended to approach music from that angle, exploring it in terms of expression, representation, and discourse. This book turns that idea on its head. Focusing on the music of Debussy and its legacyin the century since his death, After Debussy offers a groundbreaking new perspective on twentieth-century music that foregrounds a sensory logic of sound over quasi-linguistic ideas of structure or meaning. Author Julian Johnson argues that Debussy's music exemplifies this idea, influencing themusic of successive composers who took up the mantle of emphasizing sound over syntax, sense over signification. In doing so, this music not only anticipates a central problem of contemporary thought--the gap between language and our embodied relation to the world - but also offers a solution.With a readable narrative structure grounded in an impressive body of literature, After Debussy ranges widely across French music, demonstrating the impact of Debussy's music on composers from Faure and Ravel to Dutilleux, Boulez, Grisey, Murail and Saariaho. It ranges similarly through a set ofFrench writers and philosophers, from Mallarme and Proust to Merleau-Ponty, Jankelevitch, Derrida, Lyotard and Nancy, and even draws from the visual arts to help embody key ideas. In accessibly tackling substantial ideas of both musicology and philosophy, this book not only presents bold new ways ofunderstanding each discipline but also lays the groundwork for exciting new discourse between them.
This book surveys emerging music and education landscapes to present a sampling of the promising practices of music teacher education that may serve as new models for the 21st century. Contributors explore the delicate balance between curriculum and pedagogy, the power structures thatinfluence music education at all levels, the role of contemporary musical practices in teacher education, and the communication challenges that surround institutional change.Models of programs that feature in-school, out-of-school and beyond school contexts, lifespan learning perspectives, active juxtapositions of formal and informal approaches to teaching and learning, student-driven project-based fieldwork, and the purposeful employment of technology and digital mediaas platforms for authentic music engagement within a contemporary participatory culture are all offered as springboards for innovative practice.
Following his much-acclaimed The Baroque Clarinet and The Clarinet in the Classical Period, Albert R. Rice now turns his signature detailed attention to large clarinets - the clarinet d'amour, the basset horn, the alto clarinet, bass and contra bass clarinets. Each chapter is devoted to a specific instrument, and offers a fascinating insider's look at its defining characteristics, a comprehensive history of its evolution, meticulously-researched information on its makers and aspects of construction, and a thorough discussion of its music. Rice illustrates how the introduction of large clarinets into chamber ensembles, wind bands, and opera orchestras was the result of experiments meant to address specific musical needs. Along the way, he brings to life the musicians, virtuosi, soloists, and orchestral and band musicians, as well as the instruments' makers and the composers from J. C. Bach to Smetana who wrote for them. Based on careful study of primary sources - musical compositions, patents, memoirs and diaries, and unfettered access to historical instruments themselves--Rice's expert presentation is nothing short of exhaustive. From the Clarinet d'Amour to the Contrabass will engage all who love the clarinet and its music.
This Companion presents a new understanding of the relationship between music and culture in and around the nineteenth century, and encourages readers to explore what Romanticism in music might mean today. Challenging the view that musical 'romanticism' is confined to a particular style or period, it reveals instead the multiple intersections between the phenomenon of Romanticism and music. Drawing on a variety of disciplinary approaches, and reflecting current scholarly debates across the humanities, it places music at the heart of a nexus of Romantic themes and concerns. Written by a dynamic team of leading younger scholars and established authorities, it gives a state-of-the-art yet accessible overview of current thinking on this popular topic.
This Companion explores women's work in music since 1900 across a broad range of musical genres and professions, including the classical tradition, popular music, and music technology. The crucial contribution of women to music education and the music industries features alongside their activity as composers and performers. The book considers the gendered nature of the musical profession, in areas including access to training, gendered criticism, sexualization, and notions of 'gender appropriate' roles or instruments. It covers a wide range of women musicians, such as Marin Alsop, Grace Williams, Billie Holiday, Joni Mitchell and Adele. Each thematic section concludes with a contribution from a practitioner in her own words, reflecting upon the impact of gender on her own career. Chapters include suggestions for further reading on each of the topics covered, providing an invaluable resource for students of Feminist Musicology, Women in Music, and Music and Gender.
Fresh perspectives on teaching and evaluating music performance in higher education are offered in this book. One-to-one pedagogy and Western art music, once default positions of instrumental teaching, are giving way to a range of approaches that seek to engage with the challenges of the music industry and higher education sector funding models of the twenty-first century. Many of these approaches - formal, informal, semi-autonomous, notated, using improvisation or aleatory principles, incorporating new technology - are discussed here. Chapters also consider the evolution of the student, play as a medium for learning, reflective essay writing, multimodal performance, interactivity and assessment criteria. The contributors to this edited volume are lecturer-practitioners - choristers, instrumentalists, producers and technologists who ground their research in real-life situations. The perspectives extend to the challenges of professional development programs and in several chapters incorporate the experiences of students. Grounded in the latest music education research, the book surveys a contemporary landscape where all types of musical expression are valued; not just those of the conservatory model of decades past. This volume will provide ideas and spark debate for anyone teaching and evaluating music performance in higher education.
Preparing Musicians for Precarious Work: Transformational Approaches to Music Careers Education promotes career counselling-informed techniques that encourage and guide musicians to drive their careers in necessary new directions. In exposing the 'dark side' of precarious work in the arts sector, these approaches acknowledge the high levels of risk many musicians face and focus on the fundamental and urgent skills they need to navigate uncertainty and hardship. The author calls for a greater recognition of the psychological magnitude of managing such work, drawing upon training as a career counsellor and the lived experience of a career musician to advance transformative learning principles as pathways for artists, students, and educators alike. Representing a radical shift from the content-knowledge approach to career development, a counselling-informed method is fortified by a broad range of ideas from vocational psychology and narrative therapy, emphasising the importance of change readiness and flexible identities while identifying the need for a post-portfolio paradigm. Preparing Musicians for Precarious Work proposes a new model for musicians' career learning - the CHOICE model - in a timely and practical guide for 21st-century musicians looking to future-proof their careers.
Keyboard Skills for the Practical Musician provides undergraduate music majors in class piano courses with the techniques and fundamentals they need to flourish into independent, versatile musicians who play with confidence and sensitivity. Organized by skill (rather than level), the topics sequenced in this textbook offer endless flexibility for instructors while guiding students in a step-by-step approach through the development of essential keyboard skills--such as reading, harmonization, improvisation, and accompaniment--supporting concepts learned in music theory, ear training, private lessons, methods classes, and ensemble courses. One can draw from many sections of the book in any given class or semester, covering a wide range of piano skills that foster abilities frequently used in a myriad of musical professions. Features: Over 400 sightreading, transposition, and score reading examples, along with 125 harmonization Melodies Project assignments that promote independent learning, expose students to new musical styles, and encourage collaboration A concluding Repertoire section with lists of solo and duet music, 10 ensemble arrangements, 6 duets, and additional pieces from the Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Post-Romantic eras Music examples include numerous works by composers from marginalized backgrounds and from global folk music No prior piano background knowledge needed Explaining the core elements of keyboard learning in an accessible and responsive format while accentuating the importance of learning how to learn, Keyboard Skills for the Practical Musician offers an essential resource for all class piano students and instructors.
Book information on the back cover:
"Desired Artistic Outcomes in Music Performance is about empowering musicians to achieve their professional and personal goals in music..."
Igor Stravinsky is one of a small number of early modernist composers whose music epitomises the stylistic crisis of twentieth-century music, from the Russian nationalist heritage of the early works, the neo-classical works which anticipate the stylistic diversity of the contemporary musical scene in the early twenty-first century and the integration of serial techniques during his final period. With entries written by more than fifty international contributors from Russian, European and American traditions, The Cambridge Stravinsky Encyclopedia presents multiple perspectives on the life, works, writings and aesthetic relationships of this multi-faceted creative artist. This important resource explores Stravinsky's relationships with virtually all the major artistic figures of his time, painters, dramatists, choreographers and producers as well musicians and brings together fresh insights into to the life and work of one of the twentieth century's greatest composers.
Benjamin Britten, pianist, conductor, educator, composer of a wide range of music from large-scale operas and choral works to string quartets and songs, is acknowledged as a pivotal figure in mid-twentieth-century Britain. This volume explores the contexts for his multi-faceted career and his engagement with his contemporaries in music, art, literature, and film, British musical institutions, royal and governmental entities, and the church, as well as his ground-breaking projects, philosophical and ideological tenets. The book is thematically structured in five parts: Britten's relationships with Peter Pears, his close friends, mentors, and colleagues; musical life in Britain; his interactions with previous and contemporary generations of composers; his professional work with choreographers, librettists, stage designers, and directors; and his socio-cultural, religious, and political environment. The chapters shed light on the many opportunities and challenges of post-war British musical life that shaped Britten's creative output.
Edition Peters, the world's leading publisher of vocal music for more than 200 years, has joined forces with Anthony Legge to produce this revised and updated edition of the best-selling guide - The Art of Auditioning. Essential reading for every aspiring and professional singer, it contains: authoritative advice on how to approach and prepare for your auditions a directory of more than two hundred recommended audition arias information about what to expect after your first successful audition and how to prepare for professional engagements Having won many competitions and survived many auditions - and now singing all over the world, including 250 performances of the role of Violetta, and having had the thrill of singing with Placido Domingo - I can recommend this book as an invaluable guide for achieving success.Ermonela Jaho, International Soprano This invaluable and much needed guide to the process of auditioning includes a comprehensive list of suitable arias with helpful comments on how they should be performed. Singers and pianists alike will benefit greatly from it. Dame Anne Evans Anthony Legge has worked regularly with the principal British opera companies, Opera Australia, many European opera companies and at Bayreuth, where he worked on The RingandDie Meistersinger. He spends much time on audition and competition panels. His experience as a conductor, accompanist and vocal coach has given him a broad overview of the profession
This book explores the history of keyboard instruments from their fourteenth-century origins to the development of the modern piano. It reveals the principles of their design and describes structural and mechanical developments through the medieval and renaissance periods and eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries, as well as the early music revival. Stewart Pollens identifies and describes the types of keyboard instruments played by major composers and virtuosi through the ages and provides the reader with detailed instructions on their regulating, stringing, tuning and voicing drawn from historical sources.
Selected as one of the Best Jazz Books of the Year (2021) by The New York City Jazz Record The New Yorker recently referred to Pat Metheny as "possibly the most influential jazz guitarist of the past five decades." A native of Lee's Summit, Missouri, just southeast of Kansas City, Metheny started playing in pizza parlors at age fourteen. By the time he graduated from high school he was the first-call guitarist for Kansas City jazz clubs, private clubs, and jazz festivals. Now 66, he attributes his early success to the local musical environment he was brought up in and the players and teachers who nurtured his talent and welcomed him into the jazz community. Metheny's twenty Grammys in ten categories speak to his versatility and popularity. Despite five decades of interviews, none have conveyed in detail his stories about his teenage years. Beneath Missouri Skies also reveals important details about jazz in Kansas City during the sixties and early seventies, often overlooked in histories of Kansas City jazz. Yet this time of cultural change was characterized by an outstanding level of musicianship. Author Carolyn Glenn Brewer shows how his keen sense of ensemble had its genesis in his school band under the guidance of a beloved band director. Drawn from news accounts, archival material, interviews, and remembrances, to which the author had unique access, Beneath Missouri Skies portrays a place and time from which Metheny still draws inspiration and strength.
Recent decades have seen a major increase of interest in historical performance practice, but until now there has been no comprehensive reference tool available on the subject. This fully up-to-date, illuminating and accessible volume will assist readers in rediscovering and recreating as closely as possible how musical works may originally have sounded. Focusing on performance, this Encyclopedia contains entries in categories including issues of style, techniques and practices, the history and development of musical instruments, and the work of performers, scholars, theorists, composers and editors. It features contributions from more than 100 leading experts who provide a geographically varied survey of both theory and practice, as well as evaluation of and opinions on the resolution of problems in period performance. This timely and ground breaking book will be an essential resource for students, scholars, teachers, performers and audiences.
Core Classics, Grades 3-4
Core Classics, Grades 4-5
Core Classics, Grades 5-6
Core Classics, Grades 6-7
Core Classics, Grades 7-8
Released to celebrate the composer's 85th birthday, Carl Davis: The Piano Collection is an exclusive edition for intermediate to advanced level solo piano. Limited to only 400 copies, the collection presents a selection of Carl Davis's classic works, all reimagined by the composer himself. Containing 21 pieces, the material spans the early 1970s to the present day, featuring works for theater, radio, television and ballet, with exclusive images from the original manuscripts.
(Music Sales America). Eduardo Sainz de la Maza was both a successful guitarist and important composer. Although well known for his arrangements of Spanish folk songs, it is his original works which are seen as most significant today. His musical language is described as eclectic, combining impressionistic influences with Spanish musical traditions. Jazz was also an influence, although much of his music is described as intimate and lyrical, as depicted by Platero y yo Suite one of the most notable compositions for the guitar of the 20th Century, within this unique collection of works. Text in Spanish.
Paul Harris: The Clarinet is the seminal guide to every facet of clarinet playing. In this comprehensive companion, acclaimed author Paul Harris shares his unique insights towards gaining mastery of the instrument, inspiring both students (from intermediate level) and professionals alike to develop an individual clarinet personality. In-depth, clear, and universally relevant, The Clarinet is Paul Harris's complete philosophy of playing, equipping clarinettists with innovative ways to overcome the instrument's technical, musical, and practical challenges and ultimately, enhance the enjoyment of their art. Chapter by chapter Harris reveals how each aspect of playing is interdependent, from posture and preparing to play to the science of sound production. Practical exercises target each area, covering breathing, embouchure, articulation and finger-work, and sit alongside a plethora of excerpts from the clarinet canon. An all-encompassing approach, Harris discloses his expert advice on stylistic performance through to instrument maintenance, supported by diagrams and illustrations. Including a unique map of clarinet dynasties, recordings, and repertoire timings, The Clarinet leads the player on a path of limitless learning, from practice to performance. This book is a wonderful addition to the clarinet community. Understanding the mysteries of the clarinet helps bring us closer to the instrument." Karl Leister, Clarinettist"
Vocal Score Series
(Vocal Score). La fille du regiment, always one of Donizetti's most popular stage works, was first performed at the Theatre de l'Opera-Comique in Paris on 11 February 1840. It was composed by Donizetti, to a libretto by Saint-Georges and Bayard, in 1839. Later on, Donizetti prepared an Italian version as well, using a libretto adaptation by Calisto Bassi. The opera enjoyed tremendous success - at the Opera-Comique alone, more than one thousand performances were given between 1840 and 1917, and is widely staged in the major European and American opera houses.
Please check the catalogue first before you recommend a book for purchase. If there is a book you require perhaps you could borrow it on Inter Library Loan. If the book you require is cited on your reading list and the library does not have it in stock we will be happy to purchase it.
Please click on form below to recommend a purchase for the library. Alternatively you can fill in a book order card and give it to the Acquisitions team in the library. Link to online book request form here.
