The quickest way to find out if the library holds the book you need is to search the TU Dublin Library Catalogue. This will tell you where the textbook is located, the shelf number and if it's available to borrow or available in eBook format. Search by Title or Author to get the quickest result. Refine your search by date to see the latest editions.
TU Dublin Library Services subscribes to thousands of eBooks.
There are several ways for you to search and access eBooks off-campus:
When accessing the majority of eBooks off-campus you will be required to authenticate using your Student Number and Library PIN or TU Dublin email password.
The following publishers require you to register for a free account with them before you can access their eBooks. Click on the link below to register.
What is artificial intelligence? What are the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)? How does AI affect the SDGs? Artificial Intelligence has a real impact on our lives and on our environment, and the Sustainable Development Goals enable us to evaluate these impacts in a systematic manner. This book shows that doing so requires us to understand the context of AI - the infrastructure it is built on, who develops it, who owns it, who has access to it, who uses it, and what it is used for - rather than relying on an isolationist theory of technology. By doing so, we can analyze not only the direct effects of AI on sustainability, but also the indirect - or second-order - effects. AI for the Sustainable Development Goals shows how AI potentially affects all SDGs - both positively and negatively.
APPLYING ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IN CYBERSECURITY ANALYTICS AND CYBER THREAT DETECTION Comprehensive resource providing strategic defense mechanisms for malware, handling cybercrime, and identifying loopholes using artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) Applying Artificial Intelligence in Cybersecurity Analytics and Cyber Threat Detection is a comprehensive look at state-of-the-art theory and practical guidelines pertaining to the subject, showcasing recent innovations, emerging trends, and concerns as well as applied challenges encountered, and solutions adopted in the fields of cybersecurity using analytics and machine learning.
Business Analysis has never been more important, and valuable, to organisations as they strive to adapt to an ever-changing and faster-changing environment. This expanded edition of Business Analysis Techniques provides detailed guidance on the range and application of the techniques available to assist business analysts and others in their work. Business Analysis Techniques provides a foundation for the effective specification, design and development of digital solutions, solutions that are based on a proper understanding of the real business need and the requirements for solutions to meet them. With 123 of the most widely used techniques covered, this book is an essential resource for any business analyst.
This updated textbook covers digital design, fundamentals of computer architecture, and ARM assembly language. The book starts by introducing computer abstraction, basic number systems, character coding, basic knowledge in digital design, and components of a computer. The book goes on to discuss information representation in computing, Boolean algebra and logic gates, and sequential logic. The book also presents introduction to computer architecture, Cache mapping methods, and virtual memory. The author also covers ARM architecture, ARM instructions, ARM assembly language using Keil development tools, and bitwise control structure using C and ARM assembly language. The book includes a set of laboratory experiments related to digital design using Logisim software and ARM assembly language programming using Keil development tools. In addition, each chapter features objectives, summaries, key terms, review questions, and problems.
A new approach to teaching computing and technology ethics using science fiction stories. Should autonomous weapons be legal? Will we be cared for by robots in our old age? Does the efficiency of online banking outweigh the risk of theft? From communication to travel to medical care, computing technologies have transformed our daily lives, for better and for worse. But how do we know when a new development comes at too high a cost? Using science fiction stories as case studies of ethical ambiguity, this engaging textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to ethical theory and its application to contemporary developments in technology and computer science. Computing and Technology Ethics: Engaging through Science Fiction first introduces the major ethical frameworks: deontology, utilitarianism, virtue ethics, communitarianism, and the modern responses of responsibility ethics, feminist ethics, and capability ethics.
Cryptography An introduction to one of the backbones of the digital world Cryptography is one of the most important aspects of information technology security, central to the protection of digital assets and the mitigation of risks that come with increased global connectivity. The digital world is wholly reliant on secure algorithms and protocols for establishing identity, protecting user data, and more. Groundbreaking recent developments in network communication and a changing digital landscape have been accompanied by similar advances in cryptography, which is more central to digital life than ever before.
In this fast-paced global economy, academia and industry must innovate to evolve and succeed. Today's researchers and industry experts are seeking transformative technologies to meet the challenges of tomorrow. Cutting-edge technological advances in cybersecurity solutions aid in enabling the security of complex heterogeneous high-performance computing (HPC) environments. On the other hand, HPC facilitates powerful and intelligent innovative models for reducing time to response to identify and resolve a multitude of potential, newly emerging cyberattacks. Cybersecurity and High-Performance Computing Environments provides a collection of the current and emergent research innovations, practices, and applications focusing on the interdependence of cybersecurity and HPC domains for discovering and resolving new emerging cyber-threats.
This book sheds light on the cyber security challenges associated with nextgeneration computing technologies, emphasizing the serious threats posed to individuals, businesses, and nations. With everything becoming increasingly interconnected via the Internet, data security becomes paramount. As technology advances, people need to secure their data communication processes. Personal data security, including data integrity and confidentiality, is particularly vulnerable. Therefore, the concept of cyber security forensics emerges to ensure data security for everyone, addressing issues such as data control, hijacking, and threats to personal devices such as mobile phones, laptops, and other smart technologies. This book covers key topics related to cyber security in next-generation computing technologies, ultimately enhancing the quality of life for citizens, facilitating interaction with smart governments, and promoting secure communication processes.
Data-gathering technology is more sophisticated than ever, as are the ethical standards for using this data. This second edition shows how to navigate this complex environment. Data Ethics provides a practical framework for the implementation of ethical principles into information management systems. It shows how to assess the types of ethical dilemmas organizations might face as they become more data-driven. This fully updated edition includes guidance on sustainability and environmental management and on how ethical frameworks can be standardized across cultures that have conflicting values. There is also discussion of data colonialism, the challenge of ethical trade-offs with ad-tech and analytics such as Covid-19 tracking systems and case studies on Smart Cities and Demings Principles.
Leverage the power of the Python data science libraries and advanced machine learning techniques to analyse large unstructured datasets and predict the occurrence of a particular future event. Key Features Explore the depths of data science, from data collection through to visualization Learn pandas, scikit-learn, and Matplotlib in detail Study various data science algorithms using real-world datasets Book Description Data Science with Python begins by introducing you to data science and teaches you to install the packages you need to create a data science coding environment. You will learn three major techniques in machine learning: unsupervised learning, supervised learning, and reinforcement learning. You will also explore basic classification and regression techniques, such as support vector machines, decision trees, and logistic regression.
Online student resource material cab be accessed under the 'Support Materials' tab at https://www.routledge.com/9780367207939 Doing Academic Research is a concise, accessible, and tightly organized overview of the research process in the humanities, social sciences, and business. Conducting effective scholarly research can seem like a frustrating, confusing, and unpleasant experience. Early researchers often have inconsistent knowledge and experience, and can become overwhelmed - reducing their ability to produce high quality work. Rather than a book about research, this is a practical guide to doing research. It guides budding researchers along the process of developing an effective workflow, where to go for help, and how to actually complete the project.
This authoritative reference work will provide readers with a complete overview of artificial intelligence (AI), including its historic development and current status, existing and projected AI applications, and present and potential future impact on the United States and the world. Some people believe that artificial intelligence (AI) will revolutionize modern life in ways that improve human existence. Others say that the promise of AI is overblown. Still others contend that AI applications could pose a grave threat to the economic security of millions of people by taking their jobs and otherwise rendering them "obsolete"--or, even worse, that AI could actually spell the end of the human race.This volume will help users understand the reasons AI development has both spirited defenders and alarmed critics; explain theories and innovations like Moore's Law, mindcloning, and Technological Singularity that drive AI research and debate; and give readers the information they need to make their own informed judgment about the promise and peril of this technology.
Over the course of the last few decades, the incorporation of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and statistics into the field of bioinformatics has had a significant impact on both the field of biology and the field of medicine. The primary application for it is in assisting with the modeling, forecasting, and analysis of enormous amounts of multidimensional biological data utilizing the most recent and cutting-edge computational technologies. The majority of life science students and researchers do not have the skills necessary to make effective use of this sophisticated technology, which is why bioinformatics is not yet widely incorporated in academic courses despite the fact that it holds enormous promise. This book was written after realizing that there was a void in the market for a resource that could provide students and researchers with prior knowledge of the biosciences with a place to begin their studies. The book is an excellent resource that students and young professionals can use in their pursuit of knowledge on this ever-changing topic.
This textbook raises thought-provoking questions regarding our rapidly-evolving computing technologies, highlighting the need for a strong ethical framework in our computer science education. Ethics in Computing offers a concise introduction to this topic, distilled from the more expansive Ethical and Social Issues in the Information Age. Features: introduces the philosophical framework for analyzing computer ethics; describes the impact of computer technology on issues of security, privacy and anonymity; examines intellectual property rights in the context of computing; discusses such issues as the digital divide, employee monitoring in the workplace, and health risks; reviews the history of computer crimes and the threat of cyberbullying; provides coverage of the ethics of AI, virtualization technologies, virtual reality, and the Internet; considers the social, moral and ethical challenges arising from social networks and mobile communication technologies; includes discussion questions and exercises.
What will you do when your AI misbehaves? The promise of artificial intelligence is automated decision-making at scale, but that means AI also automates risk at scale. Are you prepared for that risk? Already, many companies have suffered real damage when their algorithms led to discriminatory, privacy-invading, and even deadly outcomes. Self-driving cars have hit pedestrians; HR algorithms have precluded women from job searches; mortgage systems have denied loans to qualified minorities. And often the companies who deployed the AI couldn't explain why the black box made the decision it did. In this environment, AI ethics isn't merely an academic curiosity, it's a business necessity. In Ethical Machines, Reid Blackman gives you all you need to understand AI ethics as a risk management challenge. He'll help you build, procure, and deploy AI in a way that's not only ethical but also safe in terms of your organization's reputation, regulatory compliance, and legal standing--and do it at scale.
Nearly every enterprise uses an Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) agent to monitor the devices on their network for signs of an attack. But that doesn't mean security defenders grasp how these systems actually work. This book demystifies EDR, taking you on a deep dive into how EDRs detect adversary activity. Chapter by chapter, you'll learn that EDR is not a magical black box - it's just a complex software application built around a few easy-to-understand components. The author uses his years of experience as a red team operator to investigate each of the most common sensor components, discussing their purpose, explaining their implementation, and showing the ways they collect various data points from the Microsoft operating system. In addition to covering the theory behind designing an effective EDR, each chapter also reveals documented evasion strategies for bypassing EDRs that red teamers can use in their engagements.
An indispensable look at the next frontier of technological advancement and its impact on our world Generative AI is rewriting the rulebook with its seemingly endless capabilities, from crafting intricate industrial designs, writing computer code, and producing mesmerizing synthetic voices to composing enchanting music and innovating genetic breakthroughs. In Generative AI in Practice, renowned futurist Bernard Marr offers readers a deep dive into the captivating universe of GenAI. This comprehensive guide introduces you to the basics of this groundbreaking technology and outlines the profound impact that GenAI will have on business and society. Professionals, technophiles, and anyone with an interest in the future will need to understand how GenAI is set to redefine jobs, revolutionize business, and question the foundations everything we do. In this book, Marr sheds light on the most innovative real-world GenAI applications through practical examples, describing how they are moulding industries like retail, healthcare, education, finance, and beyond. You'll enjoy a captivating discussion of innovations in media and entertainment, seismic shifts in advertising, and the future trajectory of GenAI.
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Arm yourself for the escalating war against malware and rootkits Thwart debilitating cyber-attacks and dramatically improve your organization's security posture using the proven defense strategies in this thoroughly updated guide. Hacking Exposed(tm) Malware and Rootkits: Security Secrets & Solutions, Second Edition fully explains the hacker's latest methods alongside ready-to-deploy countermeasures. Discover how to block pop-up and phishing exploits, terminate embedded code, and identify and eliminate rootkits. You will get up-to-date coverage of intrusion detection, firewall, honeynet, antivirus, and anti-rootkit technology.
Learning to program isn't just learning the details of a programming language: to become a good programmer you have to become expert at debugging, testing, writing clear code and generally unsticking yourself when you get stuck, while to do well in a programming course you have to learn to score highly in coursework and exams. Featuring tips, stories and explanations of key terms, this book teaches these skills explicitly. Examples in Python, Java and Haskell are included, helping you to gain transferable programming skills whichever language you are learning. Intended for students in Higher or Further Education studying early programming courses, it will help you succeed in, and get the most out of, your course, and support you in developing the software engineering habits that lead to good programs.
Artificial Intelligence is the most exciting technology of the century, and Deep Learning is, quite literally, the "brain" behind the world's smartest Artificial Intelligence systems out there. Grokking Deep Learning is the perfect place to begin the deep learning journey. Rather than just learning the "black box" API of some library or framework, readers will actually understand how to build these algorithms completely from scratch. Key Features: Build neural networks that can see and understand images Build an A.I. that will learn to defeat you in a classic Atari game Hands-on Learning Written for readers with high school-level math and intermediate programming skills. Experience with Calculus is helpful but not required.
The Handbook on Computer Learning and Intelligence is a second edition which aims to be a one-stop-shop for the various aspects of the broad research area of computer learning and intelligence. This field of research evolved so much in the last five years that it necessitates this new edition of the earlier Handbook on Computational Intelligence.This two-volume handbook is divided into five parts. Volume 1 covers Explainable AI and Supervised Learning. Volume 2 covers three parts: Deep Learning, Intelligent Control, and Evolutionary Computation. The chapters detail the theory, methodology and applications of computer learning and intelligence, and are authored by some of the leading experts in the respective areas. The fifteen core chapters of the previous edition have been written and significantly refreshed by the same authors. Parts of the handbook have evolved to keep pace with the latest developments in computational intelligence in the areas that span across Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence. The Handbook remains dedicated to applications and engineering-orientated aspects of these areas over abstract theories.Related Link(s)
This book, written by leading international researchers of evolutionary approaches to machine learning, explores various ways evolution can address machine learning problems and improve current methods of machine learning. Topics in this book are organized into five parts. The first part introduces some fundamental concepts and overviews of evolutionary approaches to the three different classes of learning employed in machine learning. The second addresses the use of evolutionary computation as a machine learning technique describing methodologic improvements for evolutionary clustering, classification, regression, and ensemble learning. The third part explores the connection between evolution and neural networks, in particular the connection to deep learning, generative and adversarial models as well as the exciting potential of evolution with large language models. The fourth part focuses on the use of evolutionary computation for supporting machine learning methods. This includes methodological developments for evolutionary data preparation, model parametrization, design, and validation. The final part covers several chapters on applications in medicine, robotics, science, finance, and other disciplines.
The Handbook on Socially Interactive Agents provides a comprehensive overview of the research fields of Embodied Conversational Agents, Intelligent Virtual Agents, and Social Robotics. Socially Interactive Agents (SIAs), whether virtually or physically embodied, are autonomous agents that are able to perceive an environment including people or other agents, reason, decide how to interact, and express attitudes such as emotions, engagement, or empathy. They are capable of interacting with people and one another in a socially intelligent manner using multimodal communicative behaviors, with the goal to support humans in various domains. Written by international experts in their respective fields, the book summarizes research in the many important research communities pertinent for SIAs, while discussing current challenges and future directions.
Every major technical invention resurfaces the dual-use dilemma -- the new technology has the potential to be used for good as well as for harm. Generative AI (GenAI) techniques, such as large language models (LLMs) and diffusion models, have shown remarkable capabilities (e.g., in-context learning, code-completion, and text-to-image generation and editing). However, GenAI can be used just as well by attackers to generate new attacks and increase the velocity and efficacy of existing attacks.This monograph reports the findings of a workshop held at Google (co-organized by Stanford University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison) on the dual-use dilemma posed by GenAI.
A comprehensive introduction to the field of autonomous robotics aimed at upper-level undergraduates and offering additional online resources. Textbooks that provide a broad algorithmic perspective on the mechanics and dynamics of robots almost unfailingly serve students at the graduate level. Introduction to Autonomous Robots offers a much-needed resource for teaching third- and fourth-year undergraduates the computational fundamentals behind the design and control of autonomous robots. The authors use a class-tested and accessible approach to present progressive, step-by-step development concepts, alongside a wide range of real-world examples and fundamental concepts in mechanisms, sensing and actuation, computation, and uncertainty. Throughout, the authors balance the impact of hardware (mechanism, sensor, actuator) and software (algorithms) in teaching robot autonomy.
The new edition of an introduction to the art of computational problem solving using Python. This book introduces students with little or no prior programming experience to the art of computational problem solving using Python and various Python libraries, including numpy, matplotlib, random, pandas, and sklearn. It provides students with skills that will enable them to make productive use of computational techniques, including some of the tools and techniques of data science for using computation to model and interpret data as well as substantial material on machine learning. All of the code in the book and an errata sheet are available on the book's web page on the MIT Press website.
Machine learning has become an integral part of many commercial applications and research projects, but this field is not exclusive to large companies with extensive research teams. If you use Python, even as a beginner, this book will teach you practical ways to build your own machine learning solutions. With all the data available today, machine learning applications are limited only by your imagination. Youâ??ll learn the steps necessary to create a successful machine-learning application with Python and the scikit-learn library. Authors Andreas Müller and Sarah Guido focus on the practical aspects of using machine learning algorithms, rather than the math behind them. Familiarity with the NumPy and matplotlib libraries will help you get even more from this book.
Learn and implement responsible AI models using Python. This book will teach you how to balance ethical challenges with opportunities in artificial intelligence. The book starts with an introduction to the fundamentals of AI, with special emphasis given to the key principles of responsible AI. The authors then walk you through the critical issues of detecting and mitigating bias, making AI decisions understandable, preserving privacy, ensuring security, and designing robust models. Along the way, you'll gain an overview of tools, techniques, and code examples to implement the key principles you learn in real-world scenarios.
JavaScript lets you supercharge your HTML with animation, interactivity, and visual effects--but many web designers find the language hard to learn. This easy-to-read guide not only covers JavaScript basics, but also shows you how to save time and effort with the jQuery and jQuery UI libraries of prewritten JavaScript code. You'll build web pages that feel and act like desktop programs--with little or no programming. The important stuff you need to know: Pull back the curtain on JavaScript. Learn how to build a basic program with this language. Get up to speed on jQuery. Quickly assemble JavaScript programs that work well on multiple web browsers. Transform your user interface. Learn jQuery UI, the JavaScript library for interface features like design themes and controls.
This book provides an in-depth overview of what is currently happening in the field of Law and Artificial Intelligence (AI). From deep fakes and disinformation to killer robots, surgical robots, and AI lawmaking, the many and varied contributors to this volume discuss how AI could and should be regulated in the areas of public law, including constitutional law, human rights law, criminal law, and tax law, as well as areas of private law, including liability law, competition law, and consumer law. Aimed at an audience without a background in technology, this book covers how AI changes these areas of law as well as legal practice itself. This scholarship should prove of value to academics in several disciplines (e.g., law, ethics, sociology, politics, and public administration) and those who may find themselves confronted with AI in the course of their work, particularly people working within the legal domain (e.g., lawyers, judges, law enforcement officers, public prosecutors, lawmakers, and policy advisors).
Learning Processing, Second Edition, is a friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages. Requiring no previous experience, this book is for the true programming beginner. It teaches the basic building blocks of programming needed to create cutting-edge graphics applications including interactive art, live video processing, and data visualization. Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code, supports your learning curve. A unique lab-style manual, the book gives graphic and web designers, artists, and illustrators of all stripes a jumpstart on working with the Processing programming environment by providing instruction on the basic principles of the language, followed by careful explanations of select advanced techniques.
A concise overview of machine learning--computer programs that learn from data--the basis of such applications as voice recognition and driverless cars. Today, machine learning underlies a range of applications we use every day, from product recommendations to voice recognition--as well as some we don't yet use everyday, including driverless cars. It is the basis for a new approach to artificial intelligence that aims to program computers to use example data or past experience to solve a given problem. In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, Ethem Alpaydin offers a concise and accessible overview of "the new AI." This expanded edition offers new material on such challenges facing machine learning as privacy, security, accountability, and bias.
Master malware analysis to protect your systems from getting infected Key Features Set up and model solutions, investigate malware, and prevent it from occurring in future Learn core concepts of dynamic malware analysis, memory forensics, decryption, and much more A practical guide to developing innovative solutions to numerous malware incidents Book Description With the ever-growing proliferation of technology, the risk of encountering malicious code or malware has also increased. Malware analysis has become one of the most trending topics in businesses in recent years due to multiple prominent ransomware attacks. Mastering Malware Analysis explains the universal patterns behind different malicious software types and how to analyze them using a variety of approaches. You will learn how to examine malware code and determine the damage it can possibly cause to your systems to ensure that it won't propagate any further.
Master powerful new approaches to web architecture, design, and user experience This book presents a pragmatic, problem-driven, user-focused approach to planning, designing, and building dynamic web solutions. You'll learn how to gain maximum value from Domain-Driven Design (DDD), define optimal supporting architecture, and succeed with modern UX-first design approaches. The author guides you through choosing and implementing specific technologies and addresses key user-experience topics, including mobile-friendly and responsive design.
If you're a developer, you just can't ignore databases.Databases are the storage of the information that your program will process. From a simple web-app to a world-class corporation, data is inside databases.You have to know how to read, process and handle them.With this practical manual you will learn how to work with SQL databases, with a focus on MySQL.You'll have access to practical examples and discover the basics to start working with these powerful tools. With this book you will learn ... â–¸ What is a database and why it is essential for any web project â–¸ What are the types of databases and why you need to know MySQL â–¸ How to create your development environment on Windows, Mac and Linux â–¸ How to create and manage databases â–¸ Functions to create and handle tables â–¸ How to manage relationships between tables â–¸ Sorting and aggregation functions â–¸ What is MySQL Workbench and how to use it
Summary Natural Language Processing in Action is your guide to creating machines that understand human language using the power of Python with its ecosystem of packages dedicated to NLP and AI. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About the Technology Recent advances in deep learning empower applications to understand text and speech with extreme accuracy. The result? Chatbots that can imitate real people, meaningful resume-to-job matches, superb predictive search, and automatically generated document summaries--all at a low cost. New techniques, along with accessible tools like Keras and TensorFlow, make professional-quality NLP easier than ever before. About the Book Natural Language Processing in Action is your guide to building machines that can read and interpret human language. In it, you'll use readily available Python packages to capture the meaning in text and react accordingly. The book expands traditional NLP approaches to include neural networks, modern deep learning algorithms, and generative techniques as you tackle real-world problems like extracting dates and names, composing text, and answering free-form questions.
This book covers both classical and modern models in deep learning. The primary focus is on the theory and algorithms of deep learning. The theory and algorithms of neural networks are particularly important for understanding important concepts, so that one can understand the important design concepts of neural architectures in different applications. Why do neural networks work? When do they work better than off-the-shelf machine-learning models? When is depth useful? Why is training neural networks so hard? What are the pitfalls? The book is also rich in discussing different applications in order to give the practitioner a flavor of how neural architectures are designed for different types of problems. Deep learning methods for various data domains, such as text, images, and graphs are presented in detail.
This is an introductory single-term numerical analysis text with a modern scientific computing flavor. It offers an immediate immersion in numerical methods featuring an up-to-date approach to computational matrix algebra and an emphasis on methods used in actual software packages, always highlighting how hardware concerns can impact the choice of algorithm. It fills the need for a text that is mathematical enough for a numerical analysis course yet applied enough for students of science and engineering taking it with practical need in mind. The standard methods of numerical analysis are rigorously derived with results stated carefully and many proven. But while this is the focus, topics such as parallel implementations, the Basic Linear Algebra Subroutines, halfto quadruple-precision computing, and other practical matters are frequently discussed as well. Prior computing experience is not assumed.
"The book...has enough depth for even a seasoned professional to pick up enough tips to pay back the price of the book many times over." -Dr. Paul Dorsey, President, Dulcian, Inc., Oracle Magazine PL/SQL Developer of the Year 2007, and President Emeritus, New York Oracle Users Group "This is a fascinating guide into the world of Oracle SQL with an abundance of well-collected examples. Without a doubt, this book is helpful to beginners and experts alike who seek alternative ways to resolve advanced scenarios."-Oleg Voskoboynikov, Ph.D., Database Architect The World's #1 Hands-On Oracle SQL Workbook-Fully Updated for Oracle 11g
A hands-on guide to evolving your company with ethical AI along with thought-provoking insights and predictions from a variety of well-known industry leaders In Our Planet Powered by AI, renowned AI strategist and pioneer Mark Minevich delivers an exciting and practical discussion of how to implement groundbreaking artificial intelligence technologies at every level of your organization. You'll learn to create sustainable, effective competitive advantage by introducing previously unheard-of levels of adaptability, resilience, and innovation into your company. Using real-world case studies from a variety of well-known industry leaders, the author explains the strategic archetypes, technological infrastructures, and cultures of sustainability you'll need to ensure your firm's next-level digital transformation takes root.
Manage and Automate Data Analysis with Pandas in Python Today, analysts must manage data characterized by extraordinary variety, velocity, and volume. Using the open source Pandas library, you can use Python to rapidly automate and perform virtually any data analysis task, no matter how large or complex. Pandas can help you ensure the veracity of your data, visualize it for effective decision-making, and reliably reproduce analyses across multiple data sets. Pandas for Everyone, 2nd Edition, brings together practical knowledge and insight for solving real problems with Pandas, even if you're new to Python data analysis.
Every day we interact with machine learning systems offering individualized predictions for our entertainment, social connections, purchases, or health. These involve several modalities of data, from sequences of clicks to text, images, and social interactions. This book introduces common principles and methods that underpin the design of personalized predictive models for a variety of settings and modalities. The book begins by revising 'traditional' machine learning models, focusing on adapting them to settings involving user data, then presents techniques based on advanced principles such as matrix factorization, deep learning, and generative modeling, and concludes with a detailed study of the consequences and risks of deploying personalized predictive systems. A series of case studies in domains ranging from e-commerce to health plus hands-on projects and code examples will give readers understanding and experience with large-scale real-world datasets and the ability to design models and systems for a wide range of applications.
Make your websites more dynamic by adding a feedback form, creating a private area where members can upload images that are automatically resized, or storing all your content in a database. David Powers has updated his definitive book to incorporate the latest techniques and changes to PHP with the arrival of PHP 8. New features include named attributes, constructor property promotion, the stricter and more concise match expression, union types, and more.​ The problem is, you're not a programmer and the thought of writing code sends a chill up your spine. Or maybe you've dabbled a bit in PHP and MySQL, but you can't get past baby steps. If this describes you, then you've just found the right book. PHP powers four out of every five websites that use a server-side language. In combination with the MySQL database it's ideal for creating dynamic websites.
Everyone deserves to use the Internet. An estimated 1.3 billion people experience significant disability. That's 16percent of the world's population, or one in six of us. At the same time, over 96 percent of the one million most popular websites have an accessibility issue. Add to this the massive rise in legal cases around sites not being accessible, including Beyoncé, Disney, and Netflix, and you have an important topic that more and more people are starting to engage with. In this updated and revamped second edition of the Amazon technology chart-topping Practical Web Accessibility, you'll be guided through a broad range of disabilities and access needs. You'll understand the ways these users typically engage with the web, the barriers they often face, and practical advice on how your websites and content can be compliant, but more than that, inclusive and enjoyable to use. There's also a new chapter on "Outsourcing Accessibility," exploring third party "bolt-on" tools, "build your own website" platforms like Wix, and popular design systems. You'll explore whether they're helpful or detrimental in the fight to make the web more accessible.
Privacy-preserving computing aims to protect the personal information of users while capitalizing on the possibilities unlocked by big data. This practical introduction for students, researchers, and industry practitioners is the first cohesive and systematic presentation of the field's advances over four decades. The book shows how to use privacy-preserving computing in real-world problems in data analytics and AI, and includes applications in statistics, database queries, and machine learning. The book begins by introducing cryptographic techniques such as secret sharing, homomorphic encryption, and oblivious transfer, and then broadens its focus to more widely applicable techniques such as differential privacy, trusted execution environment, and federated learning. The book ends with privacy-preserving computing in practice in areas like finance, online advertising, and healthcare, and finally offers a vision for the future of the field.
Get the definitive handbook for manipulating, processing, cleaning, and crunching datasets in Python. Updated for Python 3.10 and pandas 1.4, the third edition of this hands-on guide is packed with practical case studies that show you how to solve a broad set of data analysis problems effectively. You'll learn the latest versions of pandas, NumPy, and Jupyter in the process. Written by Wes McKinney, the creator of the Python pandas project, this book is a practical, modern introduction to data science tools in Python. It's ideal for analysts new to Python and for Python programmers new to data science and scientific computing.
Develop native iOS and Android apps with ease using React Native. Learn by doing through an example-driven approach, and have a substantial running app at the end of each chapter. This second edition is fully updated to include ES7 (ECMAScript 7), the latest version of React Native (including Redux), and development on Android. You will start by setting up React Native and exploring the anatomy of React Native apps. You'll then move on to Redux data flow, how it differs from flux, and how you can include it in your React Native project to solve state management differently and efficiently. You will also learn how to boost your development by including popular packages developed by the React Native community that will help you write less; do more. Finally, you'll learn to how write test cases using Jest and submit your application to the App Store. React Native challenges the status quo of native iOS and Android development with revolutionary components, asynchronous execution, unique methods for touch handling, and much more. This book reveals the the path-breaking concepts of React.js and acquaints you with the React way of thinking so you can learn to create stunning user interfaces. What You'll Learn Build stunning iOS and Android applications Understand the Redux design pattern and use it in your project Interact with iOS and android device capabilities such as addressbook, camera, GPS and more with your apps Test and launch your application to the App Store Who This Book Is ForAnyone with JavaScript experience who wants to build native mobile applications but dreads the thought of programming in Objective-C or Java. Developers who have experience with JavaScript but are new or not acquainted to React Native or ReactJS.
The research surrounding artificial intelligence (AI) is vast and quite diverse in both its applied and theoretical fields. AI tools and techniques, such as machine learning, data mining, neural networks, and advanced analytics, are evolving at a high speed, creating a consistent need for updated research. This is especially relevant with frequent developments for the application of AI technology in many science and industry sectors. This rapid expansion created a need for research that focuses on the questions surrounding the development of AI such as ethical issues, responsible AI methods and applications, and its widespread implementation.
The Routledge Handbook of International Cybersecurity examines the development and use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) from the perspective of international peace and security. Acknowledging that the very notion of peace and security has become more complex, the volume seeks to determine which questions of cybersecurity are indeed of relevance for international peace and security and which, while requiring international attention, are simply issues of contemporary governance or development. The Handbook offers a variety of thematic, regional and disciplinary perspectives on the question of international cybersecurity, and the chapters contextualize cybersecurity in the broader contestation over the world order, international law, conflict, human rights, governance and development.
Social robots not only work with humans in collaborative workspaces - we meet them in shopping malls and even more personal settings like health and care. Does this imply they should become more human, able to interpret and adequately respond to human emotions? Do we want them to help elderly people? Do we want them to support us when we are old ourselves? Do we want them to just clean and keep things orderly - or would we accept them helping us to go to the toilet, or even feed us if we suffer from Parkinson's disease? The answers to these questions differ from person to person. They depend on cultural background, personal experiences - but probably most of all on the robot in question. This book covers the phenomenon of social robots from the historic roots to today's best practices and future perspectives. To achieve this, we used a hands-on, interdisciplinary approach, incorporating findings from computer scientists, engineers, designers, psychologists, doctors, nurses, historians and many more. The book also covers a vast spectrum of applications, from collaborative industrial work over education to sales.
From fundamentals and design patterns to the latest techniques such as generative AI, machine learning and cloud native architecture, gain all you need to be a pro Solutions Architect crafting secure and reliable AWS architecture. Key Features Hits all the key areas -Rajesh Sheth, VP, Elastic Block Store, AWS Offers the knowledge you need to succeed in the evolving landscape of tech architecture - Luis Lopez Soria, Senior Specialist Solutions Architect, Google A valuable resource for enterprise strategists looking to build resilient applications - Cher Simon, Principal Solutions Architect, AWS Book Description Master the art of solution architecture and excel as a Solutions Architect with the Solutions Architect's Handbook. Authored by seasoned AWS technology leaders Saurabh Shrivastav and Neelanjali Srivastav, this book goes beyond traditional certification guides, offering in-depth insights and advanced techniques to meet the specific needs and challenges of solutions architects today. This edition introduces exciting new features that keep you at the forefront of this evolving field. Large language models, generative AI, and innovations in deep learning are cutting-edge advancements shaping the future of technology.
THE BEST SQL BOOK FOR BEGINNERS - HANDS DOWN! **Includes FREE Digital Bonuses! Sample Database, SQL Browser App, and More!** Learn Why QuickStart Guides are Loved by Over 1 Million Readers Around the World The same book currently in used in college-level courses while remaining approachable for beginners! The Easiest Way to Learn SQL in a Comprehensive, Step-by-Step Guide Not sure how to prepare for the data-driven future? This book shows you EXACTLY what you need to know to successfully use the SQL programming language to enhance your career! Are you a developer who wants to expand your mastery to database management? Then you NEED this book. Buy now and start reading today! The ubiquity of big data means that now more than ever there is a burning need to warehouse, access, and understand the contents of massive databases quickly and efficiently. That''s where SQL comes in. SQL is the workhorse programming language that forms the backbone of modern data management and interpretation. Any database management professional will tell you that despite trendy data management languages that come and go, SQL remains the most widely used and most reliable to date, with no signs of stopping. It doesn''t matter if you are learning SQL to upgrade your career, taking on a new data management role at your current job, or just someone who wants to learn a lucrative and in-demand tech skill - this book will teach you everything you need to master SQL fundamentals.
How AI is revolutionizing the future of learning and how educators can adapt to this new era of human thinking. Artificial Intelligence (AI) is revolutionizing the way we learn, work, and think. Its integration into classrooms and workplaces is already underway, impacting and challenging ideas about creativity, authorship, and education. In this groundbreaking and practical guide, teachers will discover how to harness and manage AI as a powerful teaching tool. José Antonio Bowen and C. Edward Watson present emerging and powerful research on the seismic changes AI is already creating in schools and the workplace, providing invaluable insights into what AI can accomplish in the classroom and beyond. By learning how to use new AI tools and resources, educators will gain the confidence to navigate the challenges and seize the opportunities presented by AI. From interactive learning techniques to advanced assignment and assessment strategies, this comprehensive guide offers practical suggestions for integrating AI effectively into teaching and learning environments. Bowen and Watson tackle crucial questions related to academic integrity, cheating, and other emerging issues.
In his bestselling first book, Eric Siegel explained how machine learning works. Now, in The AI Playbook, he shows how to capitalize on it. "Eric Siegel delivers a robust primer on machine learning, the key mechanism in AI. A forward-looking, practical book and a must-read for anyone in the information economy." --Scott Galloway, NYU Stern Professor of Marketing; bestselling author of The Four "An antidote to today's relentless AI hype--why some AI initiatives thrive while others fail and what it takes for companies and people to succeed." --Charles Duhigg, author of bestsellers The Power of Habit and Smarter Faster Better The greatest tool is the hardest to use. Machine learning is the world's most important general-purpose technology--but it's notoriously difficult to launch.
The AI Revolution is Here. Discover its Dynamic Applications in Networking, Cybersecurity, and More. AI is having a profound impact on nearly every sector of the workforce. Huge professional and financial opportunities await in the key domains of computer networking, cybersecurity, IoT, and cloud computing. The AI Revolution in Networking, Cybersecurity, and Emerging Technologies will give you the edge you need to harness AI for your benefit. Learn how AI can efficiently identify shadow data, fortify security measures, generate predictive analytics in real time, and so much more. In this comprehensive guide, Cisco professionals Omar Santos, Samer Salam, and Hazim Dahir engage you in both AI application and theory through practical case studies and predictions of future trends, which makes this book not just a valuable guide for today, but an indispensable resource for tomorrow.
The Business Analysis Handbook was ground-breaking in providing a hands-on guide to the business analyst role. This second edition reflects key developments and new career pathways in the profession. Business analysis helps organizations to develop an informed understanding of the solutions they need to drive effective change. In the age of digital transformation, the role is more important than ever. Written by an expert, the book provides practical advice on both the skills and the nitty-gritty activities of the profession and outlines tools and techniques with guidelines on how and when to apply them. This second edition offers increased guidance on remote working and different career pathways in business analysis.
The Cybersecurity Guide to Governance, Risk, and Compliance Understand and respond to a new generation of cybersecurity threats Cybersecurity has never been a more significant concern of modern businesses, with security breaches and confidential data exposure as potentially existential risks. Managing these risks and maintaining compliance with agreed-upon cybersecurity policies is the focus of Cybersecurity Governance and Risk Management. This field is becoming ever more critical as a result. A wide variety of different roles and categories of business professionals have an urgent need for fluency in the language of cybersecurity risk management. The Cybersecurity Guide to Governance, Risk, and Compliance meets this need with a comprehensive but accessible resource for professionals in every business area.
A radical shift in perspective to transform your organization to become more innovative The Design Thinking Playbook is an actionable guide to the future of business. By stepping back and questioning the current mindset, the faults of the status quo stand out in stark relief--and this guide gives you the tools and frameworks you need to kick off a digital transformation. Design Thinking is about approaching things differently with a strong user orientation and fast iterations with multidisciplinary teams to solve wicked problems. It is equally applicable to (re-)design products, services, processes, business models, and ecosystems. It inspires radical innovation as a matter of course, and ignites capabilities beyond mere potential. Unmatched as a source of competitive advantage, Design Thinking is the driving force behind those who will lead industries through transformations and evolutions.
This volume tackles a quickly-evolving field of inquiry, mapping the existing discourse as part of a general attempt to place current developments in historical context; at the same time, breaking new ground in taking on novel subjects and pursuing fresh approaches.The term "A.I." is used to refer to a broad range of phenomena, from machine learning and data mining to artificial general intelligence. The recent advent of more sophisticated AI systems, which function with partial or full autonomy and are capable of tasks which require learning and'intelligence', presents difficult ethical questions, and has drawn concerns from many quarters about individual and societal welfare, democratic decision-making, moral agency, and the prevention of harm. This work ranges from explorations of normative constraints on specific applications of machinelearning algorithms today - in everyday medical practice, for instance - to reflections on the (potential) status of AI as a form of consciousness with attendant rights and duties and, more generally still, on the conceptual terms and frameworks necessarily to understand tasks requiring intelligence, whether "human" or "A.I."
AI and people do not compete on a level-playing field. Self-driving vehicles may be safer than human drivers, but laws often penalize such technology. People may provide superior customer service, but businesses are automating to reduce their taxes. AI may innovate more effectively, but an antiquated legal framework constrains inventive AI. In The Reasonable Robot, Ryan Abbott argues that the law should not discriminate between AI and human behavior and proposes a new legal principle that will ultimately improve human well-being. This work should be read by anyone interested in the rapidly evolving relationship between AI and the law.
The definitive guide to LLMs, from architectures, pretraining, and fine-tuning to Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG), multimodal Generative AI, risks, and implementations with ChatGPT Plus with GPT-4, Hugging Face, and Vertex AI Key Features Compare and contrast 20+ models (including GPT-4, BERT, and Llama 2) and multiple platforms and libraries to find the right solution for your project Apply RAG with LLMs using customized texts and embeddings Mitigate LLM risks, such as hallucinations, using moderation models and knowledge bases Purchase of the print or Kindle book includes a free eBook in PDF format Book Description Transformers for Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision, Third Edition, explores Large Language Model (LLM) architectures, applications, and various platforms (Hugging Face, OpenAI, and Google Vertex AI) used for Natural Language Processing (NLP) and Computer Vision (CV).
Enormous quantities of data go unused or underused today, simply because people can't visualize the quantities and relationships in it. Using a downloadable programming environment developed by the author, Visualizing Data demonstrates methods for representing data accurately on the Web and elsewhere, complete with user interaction, animation, and more. How do the 3.1 billion A, C, G and T letters of the human genome compare to those of a chimp or a mouse? What do the paths that millions of visitors take through a web site look like? With Visualizing Data, you learn how to answer complex questions like these with thoroughly interactive displays. We're not talking about cookie-cutter charts and graphs. This book teaches you how to design entire interfaces around large, complex data sets with the help of a powerful new design and prototyping tool called "Processing".
Practical data design tips from a data visualization expert of the modern age Data doesn't decrease; it is ever-increasing and can be overwhelming to organize in a way that makes sense to its intended audience. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we could actually visualize data in such a way that we could maximize its potential and tell a story in a clear, concise manner? Thanks to the creative genius of Nathan Yau, we can. With this full-color book, data visualization guru and author Nathan Yau uses step-by-step tutorials to show you how to visualize and tell stories with data. He explains how to gather, parse, and format data and then design high quality graphics that help you explore and present patterns, outliers, and relationships. Presents a unique approach to visualizing and telling stories with data, from a data visualization expert and the creator of flowingdata.com, Nathan Yau
Catering to the specific needs of science students, this award-winning guide equips students of all scientific disciplines with the skills they need to communicate effectively in written assignments. The book guides students through each of the key stages involved in producing a piece of scientific writing. It begins by developing students' understanding of the different types of scientific writing, including lab reports, essays and abstracts. Students are then taken through the writing process, from the initial stages of interpreting the question and conducting research through to writing a draft and responding to feedback. The second edition includes new material on criticality in scientific communication and the difference between descriptive and analytic writing. There is also a new section on building arguments using several sources, and new and extended examples of writing that will help students digest the material. This is an essential resource for all science students who are required to produce lab reports, extended essays, dissertations and other written assignments as part of their course. It is also ideal for international students who are new to academic study in the UK.
Most of the high-profile cases of real or perceived unethical activity in data science aren't matters of bad intent. Rather, they occur because the ethics simply aren't thought through well enough. Being ethical takes constant diligence, and in many situations identifying the right choice can be difficult. In this in-depth book, contributors from top companies in technology, finance, and other industries share experiences and lessons learned from collecting, managing, and analyzing data ethically. Data science professionals, managers, and tech leaders will gain a better understanding of ethics through powerful, real-world best practices.
The SAGE Handbook of Human-Machine Communication by 
Black Hat Python, 2nd Edition by 
Computer security: principles and practice by 
A Concise Introduction to Programming in Python by 
Data Mining by 
Connected Gaming by 
Solution Architecture Patterns for Enterprise by 
The Game Designer's Playbook by Transformers for Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision by 
Core Java: Volume 2 by React Native for Mobile Development by 
Core Java by This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
