TU Dublin Library receives a few new books on a regular basis. Have a look at the selection below to see a few of the latest acquisitions:
Nightlife is a place of both real and imagined risk, a 'frontier' (Melbin 1978) where apparent freedom and transgression are closely linked, and where regulation of leisure and collective intoxication has been diffused throughout an expanding network of state and private actors. This book explores Sydney's contemporary night-time economy as the product of an intersection of both local and global transformations, as policing comes to incorporate more and more 'private' personnel empowered to regulate 'public' drinking and nightlife. Policing Nightlife focuses on the historical and social conditions, cultural meanings and regulatory controls that have shaped both public and private forms of policing and security in contemporary urban nightlife. In so doing, it reflects more broadly on global changes in the nature of contemporary policing and how aspects of neoliberalism and the ideal of the '24-hour city' have shaped policing, security and night-time leisure. Based on a decade of research and interviews with both police and doorstaff working in nightlife settings, it explores the effectiveness of policies governing policing and private security in the night-time economy in the context of media, political and public debates about regulation, and the gendered and highly masculine aspects of much of this work. An accessible and compelling read, this book will appeal to students and scholars of criminology, policing, sociology and those interested in understanding the debates surrounding security, policing and contemporary urban nightlife.
The bestselling text on the market and now in its thirteenth edition, CRIMINOLOGY: THEORIES, PATTERNS, AND TYPOLOGIES, delivers the most comprehensive, in-depth analysis of criminological theory and crime typologies available -- showing you how criminology relates to criminal justice policy. Renowned for his unbiased presentation of theories, issues, and controversies, Dr. Siegel encourages you to weigh the evidence and form your own conclusions. The text includes cutting-edge seminal research, up-to-the-minute policy, hundreds of new references, and new material on the legalization of marijuana, ISIL and terrorism, mass shootings, cybercrime, green crime, and transnational crime. It also maximizes your study efforts through chapter objectives, end-of-chapter reviews, key concepts, concepts summary tables, and newsworthy examples that help you see how what you are learning applies in the real world, thereby equipping you with the tools you need to succeed.
Comprehensive and accessible, Tim Newburn¿s bestselling¿Criminology¿provides an introduction to the fundamental themes, concepts, theories, methods and events that underpin the subject and form the basis for all undergraduate degree courses and modules¿in Criminology and Criminal Justice. This third edition includes: A new chapter on politics, reflecting the ever increasing coverage of political influence and decision making on criminology courses New and updated crime data and analysis of trends, plus new content on recent events such as the Volkswagen scandal, the latest developments on historic child abuse, as well as extended coverage throughout of the English riots A fully revised and updated companion website, including exam, review and multiple choice questions, a live Twitter feed from the author providing links to media and academic coverage of events related to the concepts covered in the book, together with links to a dedicated textbook Facebook page Fully updated to reflect recent developments in the field and extensively illustrated, this authoritative text, written by a leading criminologist and experienced lecturer, is essential reading for all students of Criminology and related fields.
With contributions from over 60 leading experts in the field, The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is the definitive guide to the discipline providing an authoritative and outstanding collection of chapters on the key topics studied on criminology courses.The Handbook has shaped the study of criminology for over two decades and, with this new edition, continues to be indispensable to students, academics, and professionals alike. Each chapter details relevant theory, recent research, policy developments, and current debates. Extensive references aidfurther research.Extensively revised, the sixth edition has been expanded to include all the major topics and significant new issues such as zemiology; green criminology; domestic violence; prostitution and sex work; penal populism; and the significance of globalization for criminology.The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is accompanied by a suite of online resources providing additional teaching and learning materials for both students and lecturers. This includes selected chapters from previous editions, essay questions for each chapter, web links to aid further research, andguidance on how to answer essay questions.
This distinctive and engaging book proposes an imaginative criminology, focusing on how spaces of transgression are lived, portrayed and imagined. These include spaces of control or confinement, including prison and borders, and spaces of resistance. Examples range from camps where asylum seekers and migrants are confined to the exploration of deviant identities and the imagined spaces of surveillance and control in young adult fiction. Drawing on oral history, fictive portrayals, walking methodologies, and ethnographic and arts-based research, Imaginative Criminology illuminates how issues of gender, sexuality, age, ethnicity, mobility and nationality intersect with lived and imagined space.
This latest volume in the Cambridge Criminal Justice Series focuses upon young adults and their treatment in the criminal justice system. The subject is very topical because there is increasing evidence that a rigid distinction between ¿youth¿ and ¿adulthood¿ is not appropriate in modern societies. For example, important developmental tasks such as finishing one¿s education, finding regular work and the foundation of one¿s own family are now completed later than in former times; neuropsychological brain functions are still developing beyond age 18; and desistance from criminal offending occurs most rapidly in early adulthood. Despite such evidence, the United Kingdom and other countries have largely neglected policies for young adult offenders in comparison with young people under 18. Although there seems to be no general transnational solution for this problem, there is a clear need for differentiation. This book brings together leading authorities in the field to analyse theoretical, empirical and policy issues relating to this neglected group of people, exploring different approaches to both crime prevention and offender treatment. It will be of interest to researchers, practitioners and policy makers in the fields of criminology, criminal justice, prisons, probation, forensic psychology and psychiatry, sociology, education and social work.
Rectifying the fact that little criminological attention has been paid to the notion that the security of flows increasingly embodies concerns at the heart of contemporary policing practices, this book makes a significant contribution to knowledge about the policing and security governance of flows.
The book focuses on how the growing centrality of flows affects both contemporary 'risks' and the policing organisations in charge of managing them. The contributors analyse flows such as event security; border controls and migration; the movement of animal parts; security-related intelligence; and organisational flows. The emerging criminology of these, as well as flows of money, information and numerous commodities, from pharmaceuticals to minerals or malicious software, is leading to critical advances in the understanding of the changing harm landscapes and the practices that have developed to manage them.
An introductory text for first year criminology students, covering the key questions, debates and theoretical models in the field, as well as themes of inequality, social justice, and human rights, to encourage an international or ′globalised′ understanding of crime and justice matters. The book provides students with a strong, interdisciplinary foundation to their criminological studies, covering all the key topics taught on a first year course, including: The causes and prevalence of crime Doing criminological research The social divisions (class, power and inequality) that relate to crime and justice The role of politics and the media Punishment Corporate crime and cybercrime Global justice All content is supported by case studies on contemporary issues, and online resources for students and lecturers, consisting of video interviews between the author and academics or practitioners in the field of criminology, addressing key topics outlined in the book and discussing case studies. There are also lecturer PowerPoint slides, testbank, and web links toblogs, datasets, specialised video and audio materials.
Now in its third edition, Globalization & Crime provides students with a comprehensive overview of the essential themes and conceptual debates surrounding globalization and global criminology. It examines established topics such as human trafficking and smuggling, migration and organised crime. But also explores modern issues such as the refugee crisis in Europe, cyber-hacking and enforcement, and the failure of Internet Service Providers to take responsibility for online content.The third edition has been significantly updated with new content and examples, along with modern case studies, such as the political context surrounding the development of ISIS, organ trafficking, and an anti-globalization backlash in the UK and US. It also features two new chapters: 'Global Ecological Destruction' - An investigation into the development of environmental criminology, and 'Towards a Cosmopolitan Criminology?' - An overview of the possibilities for establishing a global criminology and coverage of the emerging issues to consider for the future. Ideal reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of criminology, globalization and sociology.
Communicating the excitement and importance of criminal justice research, this practical and comprehensive book shows students how to perform and understand statistical analyses, while helping them recognize the connection between statistical analyses used in everyday life and their importance to criminology and criminal justice. This updated Fifth Edition is packed with real-world case studies and contemporary examples utilizing the most current crime data and empirical research available. Each chapter presents a particular statistical method in the context of a substantive research story.
Fundamentals of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice introduces students to the multifaceted subject of research methods and shows them why research is important in the field. This brief version of Ronet D. Bachman and Russell K. Schutt's best-selling The Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justicesimplifies complex concepts with real-world research examples found in everyday experiences in the criminology and criminal justice professions. The thoroughly revised Fifth Editionretains its celebrated strengths while breaking new ground with coverage of recently popular research methods and contemporary research findings.
The Practice of Research in Criminology and Criminal Justice continues to demonstrate the vital role research plays in criminal justice by integrating real-world case studies with research methods. By pairing research techniques with practical examples, Bachman and Schutt equip students to evaluate and conduct research. This Eighth Edition includes coverage of new methods and contemporary examples, such as the COVID-19 pandemic, mass participation in social movements, increasing hate crimes, and incidents of mass shootings.
This book sets an agenda for the development of historical approaches to criminology. It defines 'historical criminology', explores its characteristic strengths and limitations, and considers its potential to enhance, revise and fundamentally challenge dominant modes of thinking about crime and social responses to crime. It considers the following questions: What is historical criminology? What does thinking historically about crime and justice entail? How is historical criminology currently practised? What are the advantages and disadvantages of different approaches to historical criminology? How can historical criminology reshape understandings of crime and social responses to crime? How does thinking historically bear upon major theoretical, conceptual and methodological questions in criminological research? What does thinking historically have to offer criminological scholarship more broadly, and the uses of criminology in the public realm? In this book, Churchill, Yeomans and Channing situate 'historical thinking' at the heart of historical criminology, reveal the value of historical research to criminology and argue that criminologists across the field have much to gain from engaging in historical thinking in a more regular and sustained way. This book is essential reading for all criminologists, as well as students taking courses on theories, concepts and methods in criminology.
