So why use journals? Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published in articles on a monthly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are usually peer-reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard. The library provides access to a large collection of print and e-journals.
Access options:
Subject databases index scholarly journals in a range of subject areas and offer in-depth search options and analytics. A database like Science Direct may cover a range of different physics journals. Or a database may cover a specific area like the Optics Infobase or INIS database.
It's useful to think about a search strategy before using a database to make your search as efficient as possible: try the hints and tips in the Search strategies video.
Need help?
The American Institute of Physics (AIP) is a not-for-profit membership corporation created for the purpose of promoting the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics and its application to human welfare.
Provides access to the journals published by the APS as well as to PROLA, the Physical Reviews Online Archive (archival access to all APS titles as far back as 1893).
OSA Publishing's Digital Library offers the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
Coverage: Full text access to Irish standards and ISO standards.
TU Dublin Library currently has access to the Web of Science Research Assistant Beta, a generative-AI enabled chatbot that enables natural language discovery and summarization of Web of Science Core Collection content.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Embase is a unique medical literature database where comprehensive goes beyond content. With Emtree indexing of full-text content and dedicated search terms, you find all relevant and current results.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database, which covers the period from 1950 to present. Explore More than 5,200 journals in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
Covers of 30 specialist areas of practice in 4 key areas and includes over 200 peer-reviewed journals. Areas covered are Allied and public health, Clinical psychiatry and neuroscience, General medicine and dentistry, and Pharmaceutical science and toxicology.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Provides full text access to the Annual Reviews publications in Biomedical Sciences, Physical Sciences and some titles from the Social Sciences. The Annual Reviews series are ranked within the top ten publications for their respective disciplines and are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.
Access to 380 Journals covering computer science, genetics, humanities, law, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, science and technology.
Journals from Oxford University Press covering the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies.
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals, publishing more than 3,200 research papers annually. Submissions are accepted from all researchers; authors do not need to have a connection to an NAS member to publish in PNAS.
Established in 1914, PNAS publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, Reviews, and actions of the NAS. PNAS is available by subscription and all content is free after 6 months.
Sage journals online includes over 700 journals in the fields of Health Sciences, Social Sciences & Humanities, Materials Science & Engineering, Life & Biomedical Sciences. Access from Vol.1 to current issue for most titles.
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
The premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Now also contains all former Kluwer Academic journals but does NOT contain titles from Brill Academic Publisher.
Coverage: Full text access to Irish standards and ISO standards.
TU Dublin Library currently has access to the Web of Science Research Assistant Beta, a generative-AI enabled chatbot that enables natural language discovery and summarization of Web of Science Core Collection content.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols. Includes access to backfiles.
With science trend statistics drawn from more than 12 million articles from over 12,000 global journals, Essential Science Indicators delivers the in-depth coverage you need to effectively analyze and benchmark research performance, identify significant trends, rank top performers, and evaluate potential employees and collaborators.
Citations and abstracts of many dissertations and theses from the United States and throughout the world. Previews of some dissertations are available. Formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts International.
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
SciVal enables you to analyse the world of research and develop an overview of the performance of TU Dublin as well as other Institutions, Countries and Groups of Researchers.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
TU Dublin Library currently has access to the Web of Science Research Assistant Beta, a generative-AI enabled chatbot that enables natural language discovery and summarization of Web of Science Core Collection content.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
