TU Dublin Library welcomes suggestions for book purchases. You can make a suggestion using our Recommend a book purchase form.
If you cannot find what you are looking for in the library, we may be able to get it for you from another library.
The Inter-Library Loans Services is a lending service between academic libraries where the item required is not available in any TU Dublin library.
All TU Dublin students and staff may request the loan of books, journal articles, theses, and conference papers from other academic libraries in Ireland, the UK, and abroad.
Contact your home library for more information.
The revised second edition of Process Steam Systems: A Practical Guide for Operators, Maintainers, Designers, and Educators delivers a practical guide to ensuring steam systems are properly and efficiently designed, operated, and maintained. The book provides comprehensive information designed to improve process steam system knowledge, reliability, and integration into current manufacturing processes.
New innovations are needed for the invention of more efficient, affordable, sustainable and renewable energy systems, as well as for the mitigation of climate change and global environmental issues. In response to a fast-growing interest in the realm of renewable energy, Renewable Energy Systems: Efficiency, Innovation and Sustainability identifies a need to synthesize relevant and up-to-date information in a single volume. This book describes a systems approach to renewable energy, including technological, political, economic, social and environmental viewpoints, as well as policies and benefits. This unique and concise text, encompassing all aspects of the field in a single source, focuses on truly promising innovative and affordable renewable energy systems. Key Features: Focuses on innovations in renewable energy systems that are affordable and sustainable Collates the most relevant and up-to-date information on renewable energy systems, in a single and unique volume Discusses lifecycle assessment, cost and availability of systems Emphasizes bio-related topics Provides a systems approach to the renewable energy technologies and discusses technological, political, economic, social, and environmental viewpoints as well as policies
The 5th edition of BASIC AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE & SYSTEMS is a comprehensive Classroom Manual/Shop Manual set provides an accessible overview of automotive systems to prepare you for all aspects of work in the field. The Classroom Manual explores the basic theories of operation behind each automotive system, while the Shop Manual covers the hands-on diagnostic, testing, and repair procedures that relate to them. Assuming no prior knowledge of automotive technology, this clear and engaging book addresses fundamental skills and maintenance and the application of key theories.
Explanations of equations and introduction to computer analysis. This book starts with an explanation of the phenomenon of pressure transients and how they may arise. It then gives an analysis of the constraints on the magnitude of transient pressures and the need for surge alleviation measures. Equations describing transient motion in pipelines are shown in a straight-forward manner and these are used to introduce the reader to some practical methods of computer analysis in use today. Case studies and assessments of systems and equipment.
This up-to-date work on final control elements presents theoretical and practical information in an easy, conversational style, which makes it an excellent reference for experienced instrument and process engineers as well as students who are new to the field. The book begins with a basic explanation of the function and purpose of control valves, explaining the various types of valves that are available along with their features and limitations. It also provides: * Directions for selecting the best valve for a given service and the right flow characteristics * Simplified equations for sizing control valves for liquids and gases under normal and special conditions, such as flashing and laminar flow * Directions for minimizing environmental problems, such as noise produced by turbulent or cavitating fluids and aerodynamic noise * Solutions to dynamic instability problems * Methods for improving control loop stability * Discussion on related safety issues such as "fail-safe" action and cybersecurity Many reference tables provide information that will be invaluable in valve selection, such as valve materials, temperature ratings, and valve dimensions. Also, for the benefit of international readers, examples and equations are presented in metric as well as U.S. customary terms and measurements.
Engineering Science is a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses in engineering, being fully in line with the latest vocational courses at Level 2 and leading into Level 3. Taking a subject-led approach, engineering students will find the essential scientific principles necessary for their studies, developed topic by topic. Unlike most textbooks available for this field, it goes beyond the core science to include applications in the real world and the mechanical and electrical principles required for the majority of courses. It is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete set of answers. This new edition gives a detailed consideration of the basic arithmetic, algebraic and graphical methods needed in engineering courses so that it conforms completely with sections A and B of the BTEC Level 2 unit, and it provides the basic tools for the science that follows. A new chapter introduces the basic principles of calculus and more material is given on applications. This includes typical properties of materials and a discussion on the way properties of materials over the ages have changed the basic structures of bridges, weightlessness, snooker, thermal insulation and LEDs, as well as buildings, with a particular look at the engineering behind the collapse of the World Trade Centre.
This monograph provides a comparative study between failure probabilities and collapse frequencies in structural bridge engineering. The author presents techniques to resolve and extend the limitations of both parameters, taking also into account the time dependency of both parameters. The book includes available data and case studies and thus presents patterns to identify potential weaknesses and challenges in bridge maintenance. The target audience primarily comprises practicing engineers in the field of bridge engineering, but the book may also be beneficial for academic researchers alike.
Up and Running with AutoCAD 2023: 2D and 3D Drawing, Design and Modeling presents a combination of step-by-step instruction, examples and insightful explanations. The book emphasizes core concepts and practical applications of AutoCAD in engineering, architecture and design. Equally useful in instructor-led classroom training, self-study, or as a professional reference, the book is written by a long-time AutoCAD professor and instructor with the user in mind. Strips away complexities and reduces AutoCAD to easy-to-understand, basic concepts Teaches the essentials of operating AutoCAD that build student confidence Documents commands with step-by-step explanations, including what the student needs to type in and how AutoCAD responds Combines 2D and 3D content in one affordable volume
Engineering Science is a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses in engineering, being fully in line with the latest vocational courses at Level 2 and leading into Level 3. Taking a subject-led approach, engineering students will find the essential scientific principles necessary for their studies, developed topic by topic. Unlike most textbooks available for this field, it goes beyond the core science to include applications in the real world and the mechanical and electrical principles required for the majority of courses. It is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete set of answers. This new edition gives a detailed consideration of the basic arithmetic, algebraic and graphical methods needed in engineering courses so that it conforms completely with sections A and B of the BTEC Level 2 unit, and it provides the basic tools for the science that follows. A new chapter introduces the basic principles of calculus and more material is given on applications. This includes typical properties of materials and a discussion on the way properties of materials over the ages have changed the basic structures of bridges, weightlessness, snooker, thermal insulation and LEDs, as well as buildings, with a particular look at the engineering behind the collapse of the World Trade Centre.
Stay on top of your fluid mechanics course--and study smarter for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam--with the thoroughly updated Schaum's Outline bestseller Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: 510 fully solved problems to reinforce knowledge 2 practice exams (one multiple choice and one partial credit) after each of the first 9 chapters 2 final practice exams 54 Fundamentals of Engineering questions for the engineering qualifying exam Hundreds of examples with explanations of fluid mechanics courses Practice problems in multi-choice format like those on the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam Support for all the major textbooks for fluid mechanics courses Schaum's reinforces the main concepts required in your course and offers hundreds of practice questions to help you succeed. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time - and get your best test scores!
Second edition of the guide to the modern techniques that demonstrate the potential of Raman spectroscopy Completely revised and updated, the second edition of Modern Raman Spectroscopy presents the information needed for clear understanding and application of the technique of Raman Spectroscopy in a range of areas such as pharmaceuticals, forensics, and biology. The authors--noted experts on the topic--reveal how to make full use of the critical information presented and include a wealth of examples of the pitfalls that can be encountered. The text opens with a description of the basic theory to assist readers in making a practical interpretation of Raman Spectra. Chapters include the main equations that are used in order to highlight the theory's meaning and relevance while avoiding a full mathematical treatment. Modern Raman Spectroscopy provides a firm grounding, combined with a variety of references, from which to approach a more comprehensive study of specific aspects of Raman Spectroscopy. This new edition: Includes instrumentation sections that now contain Spatially Offset Raman scattering and transmission Raman scattering Offers an updated SERS chapter that presents recent examples and Tip enhanced Raman scattering Contains updated information with an emphasis on pharmaceutical, forensic, and biological applications Introduces modern techniques in the imaging and mapping of biological samples and more advanced methods which are becoming easier to use Written for users of Raman Spectroscopy in industry, including non-analysts, researchers, and academics, the second edition of Modern Raman Spectroscopy clearly demonstrates the potential of using Raman Spectroscopy for a wide range of applications.
The definitive M&E price book with additions to the measured works, updates to approximate estimating and new engineering features. Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2022 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with an ebook of this 2022 edition available for access and use until the end of December 2022. All the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'S are also included, considered essential for today's services cost professional: detailed materials prices, labour constants, labour costs and measured work prices for mechanical and electrical works, from above ground drainage to automatic transfer switches, and circuit breakers to sprinkler systems an extensive Approximate Estimating section for quick, rule-of-thumb pricing of mechanical or electrical installations, together with elemental services costs for different types and standard of buildings full details of wage rates, daywork and cost indices on a national and Central London basis. an overhauled index and guidance notes updates, free of charge, twice a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk
DATA CENTER HANDBOOK Written by 59 experts and reviewed by a seasoned technical advisory board, the Data Center Handbook is a thoroughly revised, one-stop resource that clearly explains the fundamentals, advanced technologies, and best practices used in planning, designing, building and operating a mission-critical, energy-efficient, sustainable data center.
Smart Electrical and Mechanical Systems: An Application of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning is an international contributed work with the most up-to-date fundamentals and conventional methods used in smart electrical and mechanical systems. Detailing methods and procedures for the application of ML and AI, it is supported with illustrations of the systems, process diagrams visuals of the systems and/or their components, and supportive data and results leading to the benefits and challenges of the relevant applications. The multidisciplinary theme of the book will help researchers build a synergy between electrical and mechanical engineering systems.The book guides readers on not only how to effectively solve problems but also provide high accuracy needed for successful implementation. Interdisciplinary in nature, the book caters to the needs of the electrical and mechanical engineering industry by offering details on the application of AI and ML in robotics, design and manufacturing, image processing, power system operation and forecasting with suitable examples.- Includes significant case studies related to application of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Energy and Power, Mechanical Design and Manufacturing- Contains supporting illustrations and tables, along with a valuable set of references at the end of each chapter- Provides original, state-of-the-art research material written by international and national respected contributors
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
