The best way to get the most out of searching a database is to develop a search strategy.
A search strategy is an organised combination of keywords, phrases, subject headings and limiters used when searching a database.
Watch our short video on creating a search strategy.
You can access online Library resources, including ebooks, databases, online dissertations and theses, and exam papers while off-campus. Visit the library website for more information.
The Library subscribes to thousands of journals, many of which are available in both print and online.
Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published on a monthly or weekly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are peer reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard.
Below is a list of key journals relevant to mechanical engineering:
Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Complete contains comprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
Emerald launched their new Emerald Insight interface in July 2025 incorporating the resources of Emerald Engineering, Emerald Insight and ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Virtual Library.
Emerald launched their new Emerald Insight interface in July 2025 incorporating the resources of Emerald Engineering, Emerald Insight and ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Virtual Library.
Engineering Village is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. You can also search the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968).
View the Engineering Village Libguide.
Material previously held in ICE Virtual Library has been migrated to the Emerald Insight page.
The link above will direct you to the ICE section on the Emerald Insight page.
If you have any questions of difficulties please contact us at library.eresources@tudublin.ie.
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.
View the Knovel Libguide.
View the Knovel Video Tutorials.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
The image and reference full-text database DETAIL Inspiration contains more than 3,900 international project documentations of building projects from over 30 years of DETAIL. Professional search functions and filter options according to main keywords, such as building type, material, year of construction or DETAIL issue topic, enable users to search for examples of creative building solutions in a targeted, fast and problem-oriented manner. The project descriptions with reference photos, drawings and technical information are available for download.
True-to-scale construction plans facilitate the adoption and application of existing building solutions to one's own designs. DETAIL Inspiration is thus an important source of research and inspiration for architectural design work in the context of architectural teaching.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service Plus, Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
Over 12,000 ASTM standards operate globally. Defined and set by us, they improve the lives of millions every day. Combined with our innovative business services, they enhance performance and help everyone have confidence in the things they buy and use.
The Barbour Index is a full-text database providing health and safety, environment and food safety information. The service also provides tools to help manage that information. These tools include guides and briefings. The guides give summaries of current topics, links to checklists, forms and relevant references. The briefings provide a weekly current awareness service, including diaries of legislation. There are over 90,000 documents from 900 providers in the Document Library.
Publisher password required. Click here for the password.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service Plus, Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
iSurv is the definitive way of locating and accessing built environment information. Created by RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors), the online subscription service gives insight from industry practitioners and legal experts.
iSurv is only available on campus.
Coverage: Full text access to Irish standards and ISO standards.
Engineering Village is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings. You can also search the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968).
View the Engineering Village Libguide.
The Barbour Index is a full-text database providing health and safety, environment and food safety information. The service also provides tools to help manage that information. These tools include guides and briefings. The guides give summaries of current topics, links to checklists, forms and relevant references. The briefings provide a weekly current awareness service, including diaries of legislation. There are over 90,000 documents from 900 providers in the Document Library.
Publisher password required. Click here for the password.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service Plus, Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
iSurv is the definitive way of locating and accessing built environment information. Created by RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors), the online subscription service gives insight from industry practitioners and legal experts.
iSurv is only available on campus.
Coverage: Irish Reports and digests- From 1838 to the present day. Irish Cases- From 1998 to the present day. Irish Legislation- From 1998 to the present day. Including over 18,000 Acts of the Oireachtas and 9,000 Statutory Instruments. EU legal information from 1951 to the present day. Reports of all cases from the European Court of Human Rights from 1960 to the present day. European Human Rights Conventions including any relevant Protocols from 1950 to the present day. UK Statutes database contains the full text of all Acts of Parliament in England, Wales and Scotland as enacted, from 1235 to the present day. UK Statutes is the only statute-law database to include Scottish Acts of Parliament and repealed legislation.
Lexis+ is a source for legal information. Find case law, research, practice notes and news in the law and legal industry.
Westlaw IE is an Irish Legal research service covering case law, legislation, court rules, journals, current awareness, and access to selected commentary titles.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service Plus, Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
