The best way to get the most out of searching a database is to develop a search strategy.
A search strategy is an organised combination of keywords, phrases, subject headings and limiters used when searching a database.
Watch our short video on creating a search strategy.
You can access online Library resources, including ebooks, databases, online dissertations and theses, and exam papers while off-campus. Visit the library website for more information.
The Library subscribes to thousands of journals, many of which are available in both print and online.
Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published on a monthly or weekly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are peer reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard.
Below is a list of key journals relevant to Building Information Modeling:
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Complete contains comprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
Coverage: Emerald Insight international journals and books:
Click on My Products on the Tool Bar to open individual databases in Accounting & Finance, Economics, Education, Health & Social Care, HR & Organizational Behaviour, Information & Knowledge Management, Library & Information Science Management Science & Operations, Marketing, Property Management, Public Policy, Sociology, Strategy, Tourism & Hospitality, Transport.
ICE virtual library is a provider of information for academics, researchers and practitioners worldwide in the fields of civil engineering, construction and materials science.
Click here for information about searching ICE on a mobile phone.
You will need to register for an individual Info4Education account. Click the link above and then click “Create a New Account”.
Coverage: Construction Information Service (CIS), Irish Construction Information Service, OSH Information service (UK), and product and supply information for construction, health and safety, engineering, process and electronics industries.
Contains: Full text.
View video guides here. The first time you access them you will need to register on the Accuris website.
iSurv is the definitive way of locating and accessing built environment information. Created by RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors), the online subscription service gives insight from industry practitioners and legal experts.
iSurv is only available on campus.
Knovel provides general reference and best practice insights, process and design applications, material and substance properties data, and equations for specific engineering disciplines.
View the Knovel Libguide.
View the Knovel Video Tutorials.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
Coverage: Full text access to Irish standards and ISO standards.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
