LibGuides: Feel Good Days: A Library Guide to Thriving in University: Sexual Health

Books

S.E.X. : the all-you-need-to-know sexuality guide to get you through your teens and twenties / Heather Corinna.

Sex, college, and social media : a commonsense guide to navigating the hookup culture / Cindy Pierce.

Birth control and safe sex : sex secrets every couple needs to know / Dr Mary Ann Martinez.

Preparing for the perimenopause and menopause / Louise Newson.

Sexual health : the practical guide to sexual health and enjoyment / Ian Banks.

Young people and sexual health : individual, social, and policy contexts / edited by Elizabeth Burtney and Mary Duffy.

The ultimate guide to male sexual health : how to stay vital at any age / Dudley Seth Danoff, MD, FACS.

Blood : the science, medicine and mythology of menstruation / Dr. Jen Gunter.

New dimensions in women's health / Linda Lewis Alexander et al.

The menopause : the essential guide to managing your health in mid-life / Deirdre Lundy.

Cracking the menopause : while keeping yourself together / Mariella Frostrup, Alice Smellie.

Improving women's health across the lifespan / edited by Michelle Tollefson, Nancy Eriksen and Neha Pathak

eBooks

New dimensions in women's health [eBook] / Linda L. Alexander

The better period food solution : eat your way to a lifetime of healthier cycles [electronic resource] by Tracy Lockwood Beckerman.

The better period food solution: eat your way to a lifetime of healthier cycles [eBook] / Tracy Lockwood Beckerman.

Routledge international handbook of women's sexual and reproductive health [electronic resource] edited by Jane M. Ussher, Joan C. Chrisler & Janette Perz.

Routledge international handbook of women's sexual and reproductive health [eBook] / Jane M. Ussher, Joan C. Chrisler and Janette Perz.

Optimal men's health [eBook] / Myles Spar

Women's health in autoimmune diseases [eBook] / Shefali Khanna Sharma

Journals & Articles

Exploring awareness and help-seeking intentions for testicular symptoms among heterosexual, gay, and bisexual men in Ireland: A qualitative descriptive study by Mohamad M. Saab, Margaret Landers, Josephine Hegarty Background The incidence of malignant and benign testicular disorders among young men is on the rise. Evidence from three reviews suggest that men’s knowledge of these disorders is lacking and their help-seeking intention for testicular symptoms is suboptimal. Qualitative studies have addressed men’s awareness of testicular cancer, with none exploring their awareness of non-malignant diseases such as epididymitis, testicular torsion, and varicocele and none including sexual minorities.
Publication Date: 2016
Challenging abortion stigma: framing abortion in Ireland and Poland by Pauline Cullen and Elzbieta Korolczuk ABSTRACT Abortion stigma, while observable as a global phenomenon, is constructed locally through various pathways and institutions, and at the intersection of transnational and local discourses. Stigmatisation of abortion has been challenged in varied ways by pro-choice adherents. This article investigates strategies for identifying and opposing stigmatisation of abortion in Ireland and Poland, focusing on campaigns aimed in one context, at repealing a near total prohibition of abortion, and in another, on resisting further restrictions concerning reproductive rights. We examine how mobilisation on sexual and reproductive health (SRH) in both contexts worked to address stigma and discrimination in SRH, drawing on the concept of framing and showing similarities between these two national contexts. Our analysis explains how the logic of inclusion and exclusion works in efforts at destigmatising abortion.
Publication Date: 2019
Sexual and Reproductive Health Experiences of International Students Studying in Universities of Western Countries: A Critical Literature Review by Abukari Kwame, Hua Li, M. Pammla Petrucka and Geoffrey Maina ABSTRACT Engaging in sexual relationships is part of adulthood, but doing so in a foreign country can be risky because unsafe sexual experiences can have severe consequences for international students. This review explored sexual and reproductive health (SRH) experiences and needs of international university students in Western countries to identify challenges and gaps and to discuss critical SRH interventions. Four databases (Scopus, Embase, Web of Science, and PubMed) were searched for peer-reviewed journal articles published between 2000 and 2023. After screening 1607 articles, 10 met the inclusion criteria. Results of the review showed that many international students lack comprehensive knowledge about sexual health and sexually transmitted infections. They often obtain SRH information from informal sources, face language barriers, and experience difficulties navigating the healthcare systems of their host countries. University sexual wellness programs should examine how cultural orientations impact the sexual health of international students and provide culturally appropriate SRH interventions.
Publication Date: 2024
Just in case: undergraduate students identifying and mitigating barriers to their sexual and reproductive health needs by Rachel Olson, Jonathan Lehman, Angie Mejia, Rachael Ojeikhodion, Kristin Osiecki, Emily Kathambi, Silas Swarnakanth Kati and Anita Randolph ABSTRACT Many U.S. colleges and universities offer access to a healthcare center that provides sexual and reproductive health (SRH) resources, services, and products. The importance of health centers in college and university settings in reducing sexual health disparities in student populations cannot be stressed enough. This article evaluates a student-led, mutual-aid, grassroots health promotion strategy for students with limited access to healthcare services, supplies, and tools via an anonymous and discrete distribution of SRH resources without charge. Methods In partnership with faculty, undergraduate students worked to address their school’s unmet SRH needs by increasing on-campus access to comprehensive, evidence-based, and sex-positive resources. Referred to as Just in Case, this student-led, grassroots health promotion program provided students with supply kits containing contraceptives, sexual health wellness products, basic hygiene supplies, and education materials. Students were surveyed in a pre- (n = 95) post- (n = 73) pilot study to identify contraception acquisition barriers, discern perceptions of on-campus SRH resources, and elucidate trends in this program’s use and impact. Chi-square tests of independence were used to compare survey group responses, and association rule mining was employed in tandem to identify SRH items that students requested. Results Students identified cost and privacy as significant barriers to acquiring sexual health products on campus. Of the 182 Just in Case supply kits requested by students during the 2022–2023 academic year, condoms were requested most frequently in 75% of fulfilled kits, while emergency contraception and pregnancy tests were asked most often in 61% of kits. 50% of students reported access to contraceptives on campus before this program’s implementation, growing to 75% (p < 0.001) 1 year later post-implementation. Similar jumps were observed for reported access to sexual health education (30 to 73%, p < 0.001) and services (36 to 73%, p < 0.001). Conclusion A student-led SRH supply and resource delivery strategy may immediately reduce SRH inequities and decrease barriers to contraceptive use for students with limited access to on-site SRH product availability.
Publication Date: 2024

Online Resources

Sexual Wellbeing - HSE
The Sexual Health and Crisis Pregnancy Programme from the HSE provides information to help people living in Ireland to experience positive sexual health and wellbeing.
Includes information for free STI tests, free contraception, and free condoms.
Student Health Centres @ TU Dublin
The TU Dublin Student Health Service provides free, on-campus Health Care to our students.
This student service provides an holistic approach to health and incorporates general medical, sexual, psychological and social aspects of student health.
Ending Sexual Violence and Harrassment @ TU Dublin
TU Dublin strives to provide a safe and positive work and study environment for all staff, students and visitors in which all forms of Sexual violence, Gender-based violence, and Harassment are unacceptable and where individuals have the confidence and trust in the process to disclose and seek support, in the knowledge that their concerns will be dealt with appropriately and fairly.