Resources for Sport, Leisure and Event Management

TU Dublin has a number of databases that are relevant and useful for hospitality and tourism which can be accessed via the Online Resources on the Library website.

These are our principal databases for Hospitality & Tourism:

Search All  allows you to search for content in several of the databases and e-journals that TU Dublin Library subscribe to simultaneously, in addition to searching the catalogue for books/e-books.

In this way, it is a good place to start researching. It also allows searches of more different search fields and combinations. Dates, languages, content type, and so on can all be narrowed down. The advanced search screen is shown below and shows you all the potential options for searching available. 

Google Scholar: What is Google Scholar?

Linking TU Dublin Library subscriptions to Google Scholar to maximize full-text results:

In Google Scholar Settings set your Google Scholar Library Links to TU Dublin - Find@TUdublin. When you search this will link to subscribed full-text held in TU Dublin Library. Try this short video here for more information. Please note Google Scholar doesn't index all the content contained in TU Dublin Library databases or other content subscriptions.

See also the tips from the Google Scholar website below:

Search Results
Your search results are normally sorted by relevance, not by date. To find newer articles, try the following options:

1. click "Since Year" to show only recently published papers, sorted by relevance;
2. click "Sort by date" to show just the new additions, sorted by date;
3. click the envelope icon to have new results periodically delivered by email.

Locating the full text of an article

Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles, but reading the entire article may require a subscription. Here're a few things to try:

1. click a library link, e.g., "Find@", to the right of the search result;
2. click a link labeled [PDF] to the right of the search result;
3. click "All versions" under the search result and check out the alternative sources;
4. click "Related articles" or "Cited by" under the search result to explore similar articles.

Getting better answers

• If the search results are too specific for your needs, check out what they're citing in their "References" sections. Referenced works are often more general in nature.

• Similarly, if the search results are too basic for you, click "Cited by" to see newer papers that referenced them. These newer papers will often be more specific.

• Explore! There's rarely a single answer to a research question. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written.