LibGuides: OERs: Open Educational Resources: Finding and Curating

Types of OERs

These are search tools that make the cross-platfom discovery of open content easier:

OASIS: Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains +385,629 records.
MASON OER Metafinder (aka MOM)
MOST (Maryland OER Commons)

These repositories host open educational resources from a range of publishers and source. Filter your search by discipline or institution. Or filter by course materials, simulations, multimedia, textbooks and lesson plans.

Merlot II provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
BC Campus: Open Access Textbooks repository with all content available to read and download
CC Search: Open access textbooks and multimedia repository with all content available to read and download for free.CC Search also offers a cross-browser extension, which lets you search for and filter content that is under Creative Commons licenses.
OER Commons: In OER Commons, you can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons' growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OERs including Full university courses; Interactive mini-lessons and simulations; Adaptations of existing open work; Open Textbooks; worksheets, and activities.
Open Textbook Library: currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time
Teaching Commons: brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
TOTAL (TU Dublin Open Teaching and Learning) OER Repository: peer reviewed OERs in third level education

All Aboard
FutureLearn
Khan Academy
MIT Open Course Ware
Open Michigan: assignments, lectures
Open Yale Courses
Open Learn (OU Open University)
OpenTeach (DCU)
PHeT (Online simulations for science and maths)
TU Delft Open Course Ware

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
IntechOpen: science and technology open access books
LibreTexts: open access textbooks & open educational resources.
National Academies Press: open access textbooks in science, engineering and medicine
OpenLibra: science and technical titles
Open Stax: publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are free online
O penSUNY: open textbook publishing initiative
Open Textbook Library: currently includes +721 textbooks, with more being added all the time
NCBI Bookshelf: provides free access to books in life sciences and healthcare.

Pixabay

UnSplash

CC Search

New York Public Library Digital Collection

Google Images Search (use the Tools option to filter by license)

Archive.org

Like news and research aggregators (e,g, Feedly) there are some handy curation tools available that will enhance the findability of OER resources and help you to organize, share and collaborate. They can be used in a class context or for group work with students or used as a collaboration tool with colleagues. A selection of these include:

Padlet

Flipboard

Pearltrees