TU Dublin has a number of databases that are relevant and useful for hospitality and tourism. They can be accessed via the Search Resources page on the Library website.
If you are searching a database from home you will be asked for your staff or student number and your email password.
These are our principal databases for Hospitality & Tourism:
|
EBSCO database for the hospitality and tourism industries. Areas covered include food and |
|
|
|
An extensive resource with full-text access to 2950 scholarly publications. Coverage includes management, economics, finance, international business, and a sizeable though not exhaustive tourism and hospitality collection. There is also access to full-text country monitors and reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit and detailed company profiles courtesy of Datamonitor. |
|
|
|
|
Leisuretourism.com incorporates a whole array of useful information resources specifically tailored to meet the needs of the leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and cultural industries community, including regular news, reviews, conference proceedings, jobs, calendar and access to a searchable database with records selected from the CAB ABSTRACTS® database, many records with linkage to full-text journal articles. Each year articles from over 400 publications are abstracted in this subject area.
|
|
|
Provides access to 100 dictionary and reference titles published by Oxford University Press. It also includes English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri and dictionaries of quotations. Examples of useful e-books found here are: A Guide to Countries of the World; A Dictionary of Business and Management; and The Oxford Companion to Irish History among many others. |
|
|
|
Full text of 35000 articles from 100+ journals covering the major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, marketing and HRM. |
|
Search All is a facility that can search all library resources at once, but it does not search each individual title in a database.
Print Journals
A number of printed journals are available. These are currently shelved in class-number order at Grangegorman Park House library. Some older copies of the journals are held in another building, and these can be sent for on request.
eJournals
The list below contains a short selection of eJournals around your subject area to get you started. To access the Library's full list of e-journal titles go to the E-Journals Portal.
Note: If you are accessing e-journals from off-campus, you will be required to authenticate using your Student Number and Library PIN or TU Dublin email password.
Google Scholar: What is Google Scholar?
Linking TU Dublin Library subscriptions to Google Scholar to maximize full-text results:
In Google Scholar Settings set your Google Scholar Library Links to TU Dublin - Find@TUdublin. When you search this will link to subscribed full-text held in TU Dublin Library. Try this short video here for more information. Please note Google Scholar doesn't index all the content contained in TU Dublin Library databases or other content subscriptions.
See also the tips from the Google Scholar website below:
Search Results
Your search results are normally sorted by relevance, not by date. To find newer articles, try the following options:
Locating the full text of an article
Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles, but reading the entire article may require a subscription. Here're a few things to try:
Getting better answers
If the search results are too specific for your needs, check out what they're citing in their "References" sections. Referenced works are often more general in nature.
Similarly, if the search results are too basic for you, click "Cited by" to see newer papers that referenced them. These newer papers will often be more specific.
Explore! There's rarely a single answer to a research question. Click "Related articles" or "Cited by" to see closely related work, or search for author's name and see what else they have written.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
