So why use journals? Journals contain current academic or scholarly research which is not found in textbooks. Information is published in articles on a monthly basis and consists of reports on current research by qualified experts in the field. Articles are usually peer-reviewed before being published to maintain a high research standard. The library provides access to a large collection of print and e-journals.
Access Options:
It's useful to think about a search strategy before using a database to make your search as efficient as possible: try the hints and tips in the Search strategies video.
Need help?
Databases index academic journals in a range of subject areas and help you find quality up-to-date information on your topic. If you haven't used a database before start with SPORTDiscus or Science Direct.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Coverage: Full text access to journal collections, Guideline documents and podcasts of the AMA. Includes access to backfiles.
Access to 380 Journals covering computer science, genetics, humanities, law, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, science and technology.
Click here for an explanation of the differences between MEDLINE, PubMed and PubMed Central.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database, which covers the period from 1950 to present. Explore More than 5,200 journals in biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
See also:
Sage Research Methods supports research in the Business & Social Sciences at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Our subscription includes the following:
Sage Research Methods Core Collection shows how students and researchers can explore concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods Video & Sage Research Methods Video Skills include hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching.
SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.
The premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Now also contains all former Kluwer Academic journals but does NOT contain titles from Brill Academic Publisher.
Covers of 30 specialist areas of practice in 4 key areas and includes over 200 peer-reviewed journals. Areas covered are Allied and public health, Clinical psychiatry and neuroscience, General medicine and dentistry, and Pharmaceutical science and toxicology.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols. Includes access to backfiles.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
