TU Dublin Library welcomes suggestions for book purchases. You can make a suggestion using our Recommend a book purchase form.
If you cannot find what you are looking for in the library, we may be able to get it for you from another library.
The Inter-Library Loans Services is a lending service between academic libraries where the item required is not available in any TU Dublin library.
All TU Dublin students and staff may request the loan of books, journal articles, theses, and conference papers from other academic libraries in Ireland, the UK, and abroad.
Contact your home library for more information.
The PMBOK® Guide-Sixth Edition - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the Sixth Edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge--including discussion of project management business documents--and information on the PMI Talent Triangle(tm) and the essential skills for success in today's market.
A multitude of processes in hydrology and environmental engineering are either random or entail random components which are characterized by random variables. These variables are described by frequency distributions. This book provides an overview of different systems of frequency distributions, their properties, and applications to the fields of water resources and environmental engineering. A variety of systems are covered, including the Pearson system, Burr system, and systems commonly applied in economics, such as the D'Addario, Dagum, Stoppa, and Esteban systems. The latter chapters focus on the Singh system and the frequency distributions deduced from Bessel functions, maximum entropy theory, and the transformations of random variables. The final chapter introduces the genetic theory of frequency distributions. Using real-world data, this book provides a valuable reference for researchers, graduate students, and professionals interested in frequency analysis.
The first edition published in 2010. The response was encouraging and many people appreciated a book that was dedicated to quality management in construction projects. Since it published, ISO 9000: 2008 has been revised and ISO 9000: 2015 has published. The new edition will focus on risk-based thinking which must be considered from the beginning and throughout the project life cycle. There are quality-related topics such as Customer Relationship, Supplier Management, Risk Management, Quality Audits, Tools for Construction Projects, and Quality Management that were not covered in the first edition. Furthermore, some figures and tables needed to be updated to make the book more comprehensive.
Engineering Science is a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses in engineering, being fully in line with the latest vocational courses at Level 2 and leading into Level 3. Taking a subject-led approach, engineering students will find the essential scientific principles necessary for their studies, developed topic by topic. Unlike most textbooks available for this field, it goes beyond the core science to include applications in the real world and the mechanical and electrical principles required for the majority of courses. It is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete set of answers. This new edition gives a detailed consideration of the basic arithmetic, algebraic and graphical methods needed in engineering courses so that it conforms completely with sections A and B of the BTEC Level 2 unit, and it provides the basic tools for the science that follows. A new chapter introduces the basic principles of calculus and more material is given on applications. This includes typical properties of materials and a discussion on the way properties of materials over the ages have changed the basic structures of bridges, weightlessness, snooker, thermal insulation and LEDs, as well as buildings, with a particular look at the engineering behind the collapse of the World Trade Centre.
Spon's architects' and builders' price book 2021, compiled by AECOM, still provides the most accurate, detailed and professionally relevant construction price information for the UK. Its unique Tender Index , updated through the year (2015 = 100), gives an ongoing reality check and allows you to adjust for changing market conditions. Although it suits a wide range of project sizes, this is the only price book which sets out a detailed cost base for contracts exceeding GBP4,000,000 in value.
Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2021 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications.
The 9th edition maintains the content on all soil mechanics subject areas - groundwater flow, soil physical properties, stresses, shear strength, consolidation and settlement, slope stability, retaining walls, shallow and deep foundations, highways, site investigation - but has been expanded to include a detailed explanation of how to use Eurocode 7 for geotechnical design. The key change in this new edition is the expansion of the content covering Geotechnical Design to Eurocode 7. Redundant material relating to the now defunct British Standards - no longer referred to in degree teaching - has been removed. Building on the success of the earlier editions, this 9th edition of Smith's Elements of Soil Mechanics brings additional material on geotechnical design to Eurocode 7 in an understandable format. Many worked examples are included to illustrate the processes for performing design to this European standard. Significant updates throughout the book have been made to reflect other developments in procedures and practices in the construction and site investigation industries. More worked examples and many new figures have been provided throughout. The illustrations have been improved and the new design and layout of the pages give a lift. unique content to illustrate the use of Eurocode 7 with essential guidance on how to use the now fully published code clear content and well-organised structure takes complicated theories and processes and presents them in easy-to-understand formats book's website offers examples and downloads to further understanding of the use of Eurocode 7 www.wiley.com/go/smith/soil
Craig's Soil Mechanics continues to evolve and remain the definitive text for civil engineering students worldwide. It covers fundamental soil mechanics and its application in applied geotechnical engineering from A to Z and at the right depth for an undergraduate civil engineer, with sufficient extension material for supporting MSc level courses, and with practical examples and digital tools to make it a useful reference work for practising engineers. This new edition now includes: Restructured chapters on foundations and earthworks, the latter including new material on working platforms and collapse of underground cavities (sinkhole formation). New mobilised-stress-based deformation methods that can straightforwardly be used with both linear and non-linear soil stiffness models and field measurements of shear wave velocity, for serviceability limit state design. Extended sets of correlations for making sensible first estimates of soil parameters, adding deformation-based parameters for broader coverage than the Eighth Edition. Extended section on robust statistical selection of characteristic soil parameters. Greater use of consolidation theory throughout in determining whether actions, processes and laboratory/in-situ tests are drained or undrained. Extended chapter on in-situ testing, adding the Flat Dilatometer Test (DMT), and interpretation of consolidation parameters from CPTU and DMT testing. An updated section on pile load testing. Additional worked examples and end-of-chapter problems covering new material, with fully worked solutions for lecturers. The electronic resources on the book's companion website are developed further, with the addition of two new spreadsheet numerical analysis tools and improvement of existing tools from the Eighth Edition. Using these, readers can take real soil test data, interpret its mechanical properties and apply these to a range of common geotechnical design problems at ultimate and serviceability limiting states.
This new edition of A Dictionary of Construction, Surveying, and Civil Engineering is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind. In more than 8,000 entries it covers the key areas of civil and construction engineering, construction technology and practice, construction management techniques and processes, as well as legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.
Up and Running with AutoCAD 2023: 2D and 3D Drawing, Design and Modeling presents a combination of step-by-step instruction, examples and insightful explanations. The book emphasizes core concepts and practical applications of AutoCAD in engineering, architecture and design. Equally useful in instructor-led classroom training, self-study, or as a professional reference, the book is written by a long-time AutoCAD professor and instructor with the user in mind. Strips away complexities and reduces AutoCAD to easy-to-understand, basic concepts Teaches the essentials of operating AutoCAD that build student confidence Documents commands with step-by-step explanations, including what the student needs to type in and how AutoCAD responds Combines 2D and 3D content in one affordable volume
Pedagogies of Digital Learning in Higher Education explores topical issues in education and pedagogy related to the learning process in a technology and media-enriched environment. With a range of international contributions, it opens discussions on the development of the educational science sector and strategies for smart pedagogy to promote a synergy between technology and pedagogy to support students in the learning process. This book analyzes the knowledge-building dimension; the potential of technological solutions to provide feedback. It provides practical offerings that will be of use to those whose interests are related to the collection of research results, digital referencing, the use of online learning tools, or the use of virtual reality solutions in historical constructions. In addition, ideas to promote creativity and the use of digital technology in music education, biology, career education, and social work education have also been developed. This book will be of great interest to academics, researchers, and post-graduate students in the fields of higher education, vocational education, and digital learning
Revised and significantly expanded, the fifth edition of this classic work offers both new and substantially updated information. As the definitive reference on fire protection engineering, this book provides thorough treatment of the current best practices in fire protection engineering and performance-based fire safety. Over 130 eminent fire engineers and researchers contributed chapters to the book, representing universities and professional organizations around the world. It remains the indispensible source for reliable coverage of fire safety engineering fundamentals, fire dynamics, hazard calculations, fire risk analysis, modeling and more. With seventeen new chapters and over 1,800 figures, the this new edition contains: Step-by-step equations that explain engineering calculations Comprehensive revision of the coverage of human behavior in fire, including several new chapters on egress system design, occupant evacuation scenarios, combustion toxicity and data for human behavior analysis Revised fundamental chapters for a stronger sense of context Added chapters on fire protection system selection and design, including selection of fire safety systems, system activation and controls and CO2 extinguishing systems Recent advances in fire resistance design Addition of new chapters on industrial fire protection, including vapor clouds, effects of thermal radiation on people, BLEVEs, dust explosions and gas and vapor explosions New chapters on fire load density, curtain walls, wildland fires and vehicle tunnels Essential reference appendices on conversion factors, thermophysical property data, fuel properties and combustion data, configuration factors and piping properties "Three-volume set; not available separately"
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
