Journal
A journal is a publication which may be issued weekly, monthly or quarterly or bi-annually. Also, the intended readership for a journal is the academic community. The contributors to journal articles are specialists in their particular discipline. Some journals are peer reviewed meaning that the articles are reviewed by an editorial board prior to publication. When searching for a particular journal in the library take note of the volume and issue numbers of the particular issue you require.
Database
A database is an organised store of data which describes a collection of particular items, for example a library catalogue. A journals database describes the contents of articles within a collection of journals. Each article is given a record. Each record is composed of different fields, for example, author, title and journal title. Some databases are full text.
There are a couple different ways to find journals, both electronic and print.
To find electronic journals (eJournals), visit this link- A-Z list for a full list of eJournals - and either search for your subject in the search bar or select your subject from the "browse by subject" drop down menu.
You can also find music journals that the library holds (new, old, and out-of-print) by visiting TU Dublin - Library Catalogue and searching for "music" or your preferred search term.
Please find below a selection of current music journals:
TU Dublin provides access to multiple databases that can assist you with your music courses. You can find a summary of some of them below. Please visit this link to access them: A-Z Databases. They can also be accessed from the library's homepage by clicking "Online Resources" under the search bar on the homepage.
IPA Source
IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. What started in 2003 as a support site for students in a university diction class has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
JSTOR Music
Coverage: European scholarly research on Music. Click Browse, Subject and choose "Music".
Music & Performing Arts
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Music Online
Music Online is the most comprehensive and highest quality streaming audio collection to support the teaching and research of music. It currently provides academic libraries with streaming access to over 10 million tracks, and is growing monthly as new recordings are added.
Please click on My Collections, then click on any of the Music Online options like Jazz Music Library to access content.
Music Periodicals Database
Music Periodicals Database is a music journal resource with more than 770,000 articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Oxford Music Online
Alternate Name(s):The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music,The Oxford Dictionary of Music
This database includes several music encyclopedias, including the monumental Grove Dictionary of Music. Articles from Grove cover all types of music worldwide, from ancient times to the present, and typically include extensive bibliographies. It is the best starting point for most music-related research.
RLIM Abstracts of Music Literature
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. It facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels from classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.
An indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. RILM includes over 570 000 records and over 33 000 new records are added every year covering all document types.
Coverage: 1967 to present.
RISM Repertoire International des Sources Musicales
Coverage: Pre-1850 music sources preserved in libraries and archives in the UK. Includes in Ireland, the Mercer's Hospital Collection at Trinity College, Dublin. It includes manuscripts from national, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections. Covers the digitised Early Music Online collection at Royal Holloway.
Contains: Musical Scores
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
