People (TM)s desire to understand the environments in which they live is a natural one. People spend most of their time in spaces and structures designed, built, and managed by humans, and it is estimated that people in developed countries now spend 90 percent of their lives indoors. As people move from homes to workplaces, traveling in cars and on transit systems, microorganisms are continually with and around them. The human-associated microbes that are shed, along with the human behaviors that affect their transport and removal, make significant contributions to the diversity of the indoor microbiome. The characteristics of oehealthy indoor environments cannot yet be defined, nor do microbial, clinical, and building researchers yet understand how to modify features of indoor environments "such as building ventilation systems and the chemistry of building materials "in ways that would have predictable impacts on microbial communities to promote health and prevent disease. The factors that affect the environments within buildings, the ways in which building characteristics influence the composition and function of indoor microbial communities, and the ways in which these microbial communities relate to human health and well-being are extraordinarily complex and can be explored only as a dynamic, interconnected ecosystem by engaging the fields of microbial biology and ecology, chemistry, building science, and human physiology. This report reviews what is known about the intersection of these disciplines, and how new tools may facilitate advances in understanding the ecosystem of built environments, indoor microbiomes, and effects on human health and well-being. It offers a research agenda to generate the information needed so that stakeholders with an interest in understanding the impacts of built environments will be able to make more informed decisions.
Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2021 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications.
Engineering Science is a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses in engineering, being fully in line with the latest vocational courses at Level 2 and leading into Level 3. Taking a subject-led approach, engineering students will find the essential scientific principles necessary for their studies, developed topic by topic. Unlike most textbooks available for this field, it goes beyond the core science to include applications in the real world and the mechanical and electrical principles required for the majority of courses. It is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete set of answers. This new edition gives a detailed consideration of the basic arithmetic, algebraic and graphical methods needed in engineering courses so that it conforms completely with sections A and B of the BTEC Level 2 unit, and it provides the basic tools for the science that follows. A new chapter introduces the basic principles of calculus and more material is given on applications. This includes typical properties of materials and a discussion on the way properties of materials over the ages have changed the basic structures of bridges, weightlessness, snooker, thermal insulation and LEDs, as well as buildings, with a particular look at the engineering behind the collapse of the World Trade Centre.
The Latest Information and "Tricks of the Trade" for Achieving First-Rate HVAC Designs on Any Construction Job! HVAC Equations, Data, and Rules of Thumb presents a wealth of state-of-the-art HVAC design information and guidance, ranging from air distribution to piping systems to plant equipment. This popular reference has now been fully updated to reflect the construction industry's new single body of codes and standards. Featuring an outline format for ease of use, the Second Edition of this all-in-one sourcebook contains: Updated HVAC codes and standards, including the 2006 International Building Code Over 200 equations for everything from ductwork to air-handling systems ASME and ASHRAE code specifications Over 350 rules of thumb for cooling, heating, ventilation, and more New material including: coverage of the new single body of construction codes now used throughout the country Inside This Updated HVAC Design Guide * Definitions * Equations * Rules of Thumb for Cooling, Heating, Infiltration, Ventilation, Humidification, People/Occupancy, Lighting, and Appliance/Equipment * Cooling Load Factors * Heating Load Factors * Design Conditions and Energy Conservation * HVAC System Selection Criteria * Air Distribution Systems * Piping Systems (General, Hydronic, Glycol, Steam, Steam Condensate, AC Condensate, Refrigerant) * Central Plant Equipment (Air-Handling Units, Chillers, Boilers, Cooling Towers, Heat Exchangers) * Auxiliary Equipment (Fans, Pumps, Motors, Controllers, Variable-Frequency Drives, Filters, Insulation, Fire Stopping) * Automatic Controls/Building Automation Systems * Equipment Schedules * Equipment Manufacturers * Building Construction Business Fundamentals * Architectural, Structural, and Electrical Information * Conversion Factors * Properties of Air and Water * Designer's Checklist * Professional Societies and Trade Organizations * References and Design Manuals * Cleanroom Criteria and Standards
The wide-ranging umbrella of facility management covers everything from technology systems to disaster recover planning to zoning compliance to furnishings to ground maintenance . . . and that's just getting started. It is a multidisciplinary function that requires a deep knowledge of the entire business and physical planning cycle. Undoubtedly, the sheer scope of duties requires a far-reaching reference for staying abreast of the latest innovations and best practices. The Facility Management Handbook is the answer.With insightful overviews, case studies, and practical guidelines pave the way for successful planning, budgeting, real estate transactions, construction, emergency preparedness, security, operations, maintenance, and more, the thoroughly revised fourth edition examines cutting-edge technologies and includes new information on:* Building Information Modeling (BIM)* Contracting and project management methods* FASB and IASB requirements* Distributed working * Sustainability reporting* And much moreThe Facility Management Handbook is the one-stop resource every facility manager must have to master a broad scope of duties while staying current on innovations and best practices.
