Construction

Robin Barry's Construction of Buildings was first published in 1958 in 5 volumes, rapidly becoming a standard text on construction. In its current 2 volume format Barry remains hugely popular with both students and lecturers of construction and related disciplines. The third edition of Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings provides the basic material you will need to understand the construction process for the majority of low rise buildings. Construction technology is explained and illustrated through the key functional and performance requirements for the main elements common to all buildings. With a stronger focus on building efficiency and meeting the challenges posed by limiting the environmental impact of buildings, you will find the text fully up to date with the latest building regulations and construction technologies. Particular attention has been paid to the careful integration of all topics, helping you to link concepts and follow related material. The new edition, with supporting website at www.wiley.com/go/barrysintroduction, provides the ideal introduction to construction technology

The BIM Handbook, Second Edition provides an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the profound advantages that effective use of BIM can provide to all members of a project team. Updates to this edition include: Completely updated material covering the current practice and technology in this fast-moving field Expanded coverage of lean construction and its use of BIM, with special focus on Integrated Project Delivery throughout the book New insight on the ways BIM facilitates sustainable building New information on interoperability schemas and collaboration tools Six new case studies Painting a colorful and thorough picture of the state of the art in building information modeling, the BIM Handbook, Second Edition guides readers to successful implementations, helping them to avoid needless frustration and costs and take full advantage of this paradigm-shifting approach to construct better buildings that consume fewer materials and require less time, labor, and capital resources.

The first edition of the Code of Practice for Project Management for Construction and Development, published in 1992, was groundbreaking in many ways. Now in its fifth edition, prepared by a multi-institute task force coordinated by the CIOB and including representatives from RICS, RIBA, ICE, APM and CIC, it continues to be the authoritative guide and reference to the principles and practice of project management in construction and development. Good project management in construction relies on balancing the key constraints of time, quality and cost in the context of building functionality and the requirements for sustainability within the built environment. Thoroughly updated and restructured to reflect the challenges that the industry faces today, this edition continues to drive forward the practice of construction project management. The principles of strategic planning, detailed programming and monitoring, resource allocation and effective risk management, widely used on projects of all sizes and complexity, are all fully covered. The integration of Building Information Modelling at each stage of the project life is a feature of this edition. In addition, the impact of trends and developments such as the internationalisation of construction projects and the drive for sustainability are discussed in context. Code of Practice will be of particular value to clients, project management professionals and students of construction, as well as to the wider construction and development industries. Much of the information will also be relevant to project management professionals operating in other commercial spheres.

ORGANIC REACTIONS The latest edition of the gold standard in construction project management references The newly revised sixth edition of theode of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment, prepared by the Chartered Institute of Building, is an up-to-date and comprehensive reference covering the principles and practice of project management in construction and development. This latest edition covers the new technologies, internationalisation, changing legislation, and productivity and profitability challenges faced by contractors which all combine to drive significant change in the industry. The book demonstrates the application of systematic documentation and quality control to complex construction projects and offers guidance and tools that link key principles to practical project management. It is worldwide in scope and widely recognised as the industry standard on the subject. With fresh discussions of quality assurance, global codes and standards, time management, joint ventures, contract compliance, supply chain integration, design digitisation, and much more, the Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment also includes: A thorough introduction to project inception, feasibility analysis, strategy, and the pre-construction process Comprehensive explorations of the construction stage of projects, as well as testing and commissioning, and project completion, handover, and operation Practical discussions of post-completion review A glossary and index of essential terms in construction project management Perfect for project management professionals in construction contracting and client organisations, Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment will also earn a place in the libraries of undergraduate and postgraduate students of project management and construction-related subjects. The Chartered Institute of Building is the world's largest professional body for construction management and leadership. It has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Members across the world work in the development, conservation, and improvement of the built environment.

This book offers a clear explanation of the principles and practice of construction planning, programming and control during the preparation and construction stages of a project. The book is written in the context of current procurement and contractual arrangements and JCT2005, NEC3 and ICE7 contracts are covered. The statutory framework within which construction projects must be managed is explained and the topic of construction hazard and risk is covered in detail. A variety of programming techniques are explained and the development of safe construction sequences and methods is particularly emphasised. The control of time, money and resources are considered in a risk management context and a complete chapter is devoted to cash flow. The third edition has been extensively updated and extended to include new materials on: Hazard identification Risk assessment Health and safety management CDM 2007 Construction sequences and method statements Delay analysis Waste management and Site Waste Management Plans The final three chapters are devoted to individual case studies which have been selected to illustrate the practical application of the principles explained in the book and to provide examples of current procedures adopted by major contractors. The content is designed to provide a clear and comprehensive text for undergraduates on construction management, surveying and civil engineering degree courses.

Dissertation Research and Writing for Built Environment Students is a step-by-step guide to get students through their final year research project. Trusted and developed over three previous editions, the new fourth edition shows you how to select a dissertation topic, write a proposal, conduct a literature review, select the research approach, gather the data, analyse and present the information and ultimately produce a well-written dissertation. The book simplifies dissertation research and writing into a process involving a sequence of learnable activities and divides the process into three parts. Part One covers the necessary groundwork, including: identifying the problem, writing a proposal and reviewing the literature. Part Two covers the research design and includes: approaches and techniques for data collection and constructing and sampling a questionnaire. Part Three covers: measurement of data, analysis of data with SPSS, structuring and writing the whole dissertation, and supervision and assessment. This new edition is packed with updated examples and research samples, making this the ideal resource for students involved in research in built environment subjects such as construction management, construction project management, facilities management, real estate, building surveying, quantity surveying and civil engineering.

A practical treatise on the processes and standards required for the effective time management of major construction projects  This book uses logical step-by-step procedures and examples from inception and risk appraisal--through design and construction to testing and commissioning--to show how an effective and dynamic time model can be used to manage the risk of delay in the completion of construction projects. Integrating with the CIOB major projects contract, the new edition places increased emphasis on the dynamic time model as the way to manage time and cost in major projects, as opposed to the use of a static target baseline program. It includes a new chapter distinguishing the principal features of the dynamic time model and its development throughout the life of a project from inception to completion. Guide to Good Practice in the Management of Time in Major Projects--Dynamic Time Modelling, 2nd Edition features new appendices covering matters such as complexity in construction and engineering projects, productivity guides (including specific references to the UK, Australia, and the USA), and a number of case studies dealing with strategic time management and high-density, resource-based scheduling.  Provides guidance for the strategic  management of time in construction and civil engineering projects Demonstrates how to use a dynamic time model to manage time pro-actively in building and civil engineering projects Sets out processes and standards to be achieved ensuring systematic documentation and quality control of time management Integrates with the CIOB major projects contract Guide to Good Practice in the Management of Time in Major Projects--Dynamic Time Modelling, 2nd Edition is an ideal handbook for project and program management professionals working on civil engineering and construction projects, including those from contractors, clients, and project management consultants.  

The definitive M&E price book with additions to the measured works, updates to approximate estimating and new engineering features. Spon's Mechanical and Electrical Services Price Book 2022 continues to be the most comprehensive and best annual services engineering price book currently available, providing detailed pricing information across the full range of mechanical and electrical services, together with higher-level costs for a diverse range of systems and different building applications. Use the access code inside the front cover of the book to get set up with an ebook of this 2022 edition available for access and use until the end of December 2022. All the standard features you have come to expect from SPON'S are also included, considered essential for today's services cost professional: detailed materials prices, labour constants, labour costs and measured work prices for mechanical and electrical works, from above ground drainage to automatic transfer switches, and circuit breakers to sprinkler systems an extensive Approximate Estimating section for quick, rule-of-thumb pricing of mechanical or electrical installations, together with elemental services costs for different types and standard of buildings full details of wage rates, daywork and cost indices on a national and Central London basis. an overhauled index and guidance notes updates, free of charge, twice a year - see inside for registration details. Updates are available online at www.pricebooks.co.uk