/*Databases links list*/ Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home Login Exam Papers A to Z lists Bookings Help & FAQs'

Library: Click and Collect - Tallaght Campus

How to request material for the pilot 'Click & Collect' service at Tallaght - a pilot service

The library's pilot 'Click & Collect' service is available to all registered library users with no overdue books or restrictions on their account. You can check your library account online.  

To request a title for 'Click & Collect ' follow the instructions below. If you are unable to make it to campus, you can nominate another person to collect the book/s for you. This is done when booking the collection time slot. 

Some titles may be 'quarantined' for health and safety reasons for 3 days on return, so the turn around time on holds / requests maybe longer than usual.

The videos below take you through the process step by step.  If you have any queries contact the library at library.tallaght@tudublin.ie

 

How to request material for Click and Collect at Tallaght

Follow the steps below to place a hold on any title that you want to collect from the library. 

  • Login to the library catalogue using your student number as username and your Tallaght campus password (password is same as outlook or moodle).
  • Search the catalogue for the title you want to request.  Remember there may be different editions of titles so check that it's the edition that you want.
  • TIP: For print books, refine your search to the item type Printed material [book], on the left hand side menu.  For an ebook version, refine your search to item type Virtual Item. 

    • If you want to see if there is an ebook version of the title search the Publications A to Z with Books only selected below the search box. 
  • Once you have identified the title you need, click on “place hold”. 
  • If you have a number of titles to request, select each title from your results, add them to the cart and save.
    • Click on the cart at the top of the screen, select the titles or select all, and click on 'Place hold' at the top of the table listing the titles you have saved to the cart. 
  • The library has now received your request.  You can check the status of your holds on  your library account, on the holds tab.

When the book is checked in at the library desk you will receive our hold pick up email notice which will include a reserve ID number and the item barcode.  These notices will be sent to your TU Dublin email address. You will then need to book a collection time slot.  

Important

PLACING A HOLD DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE BOOK IS AVAILABLE.  PLEASE WAIT UNTIL YOU RECEIVE A READY FOR COLLECTION NOTICE TO YOUR TU DUBLIN EMAIL ADDRESS AND THEN BOOK A COLLECTION TIME (INSTRUCTIONS BELOW).
You can place multiple holds at once.
You can have up to 10 holds at a time on your account. 
You cannot place a hold on a book that is in the Short Loan Collection

 

 

How to book a time to collect your item

Once the title you have put a hold on is available for collection and you have received the email from the library, you need to book a time to collect.

When you receive an email from the library for 'Hold Pick Up', use the booking link in the hold pick up e-mail to book a time slot to collect it WITHIN 3 working days.  If you don't book a slot and collect within this time frame, the title will be returned to the shelf or passed onto the next person in the queue.

Important

Be sure to include the reserve ID or IDs (if you have a number of titles to collect) when booking so the library knows which books to have ready. 

 

If you receive notification that another one of your books that you requested is ready for collection, please go to the dashboard on Booked and update your booking to include any additional reserve ids so Library Staff know to have the items ready for your time slot. You don't need to make another booking. ​

 

After making your booking, library staff will approve it if all the details they need are there.

Saving books to your cart and placing holds on them all at once may save you time - see the video below.

Collecting at Tallaght

If you, or your nominee, have any symptoms of COVID-19 you must not visit the library.  Stay at home and contact your GP immediately.

 

Books will be available for collection from the library.  On the day of collection the items will be checked out to your library account. 

The library is located to the left as you come in the main door of the main building.

There will be a one way system sign posted when you get to the library door. Please stick to the signed path.  Your library books will be left on a trolley with your name on it.  Please collect your books and leave the library promptly.  

There will be a member of library staff at the library desk in case you need any help with the collection service only. 

Please note

  • Only come to the library during your booked time slot.

  • Bring your current University ID card when collecting the items. 

  • You may nominate someone to collect your books but this nominee should be named when booking a collection time.

    • The nominee must collect books at the allocated time slot and produce their ID.

    • This should match the name of the person nominated on your booking.

  • All titles are subject to recall if another student requests the item. Therefore we can only 'guarantee' 7 days loan period for a title. 

    • If a title you have on loan is needed for another student you will receive an email stating that the title should be returned to the library, with details of how to do so. 

For any queries please contact library.tallaght@tudublin.ie

Frequently Asked Questions

Additional Links

Contact Us

Library,
TU Dublin – Tallaght Campus,
Old Blessington Road,
Tallaght,
Dublin D24 FKT9,
Ireland.

Report a problem with this website.

+353 1 404 2203

+353 1 404 2238

email the library

Twitter

Facebook