Structural Engineering

Now in its seventh edition, Basic Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for introductory level engineering courses. This title is supported by a companion website with resources for both students and lecturers, including lists of essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and full solutions for all 1,600 further questions.

Widely adopted around the world, this is a core materials science and mechanical engineering text. Engineering Materials 1 gives a broad introduction to the properties of materials used in engineering applications. With each chapter corresponding to one lecture, it provides a complete introductory course in engineering materials for students with no previous background in the subject. Ashby & Jones have an established, successful track record in developing understanding of the properties of materials and how they perform in reality. One of the best-selling materials properties texts; well known, well established and well liked New student friendly format, with enhanced pedagogy including many more case studies, worked examples, and student questions World-renowned author team

Now in its eighth edition, Higher Engineering Mathematics has helped thousands of students succeed in their exams. Theory is kept to a minimum, with the emphasis firmly placed on problem-solving skills, making this a thoroughly practical introduction to the advanced engineering mathematics that students need to master. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for upper-level vocational courses and for undergraduate degree courses. It is also supported by a fully updated companion website with resources for both students and lecturers. It has full solutions to all 2,000 further questions contained in the 277 practice exercises.

Model Uncertainties in Foundation Design is unique in the compilation of the largest and the most diverse load test databases to date, covering many foundation types (shallow foundations, spudcans, driven piles, drilled shafts, rock sockets and helical piles) and a wide range of ground conditions (soil to soft rock). All databases with names prefixed by NUS are available upon request. This book presents a comprehensive evaluation of the model factor mean (bias) and coefficient of variation (COV) for ultimate and serviceability limit state based on these databases. These statistics can be used directly for AASHTO LRFD calibration. Besides load test databases, performance databases for other geo-structures and their model factor statistics are provided. Based on this extensive literature survey, a practical three-tier scheme for classifying the model uncertainty of geo-structures according to the model factor mean and COV is proposed. This empirically grounded scheme can underpin the calibration of resistance factors as a function of the degree of understanding - a concept already adopted in the Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code and being considered for the new draft for Eurocode 7 Part 1 (EN 1997-1:202x). The helical pile research in Chapter 7 was recognised by the 2020 ASCE Norman Medal.

As with the previous editions, the range of material covered in this fourth edition is regarded as appropriate for a first level core studies course in mathematics for undergraduate courses in all engineering disciplines. Whilst designed primarily for use by engineering students it is believed that the book is also highly suitable for students of the physical sciences and applied mathematics.

The authoritative reference on wind energy, now fully revised and updated to include offshore wind power A decade on from its first release, the Wind Energy Handbook, Second Edition, reflects the advances in technology underpinning the continued expansion of the global wind power sector. Harnessing their collective industrial and academic expertise, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to wind turbine design and wind farm planning for onshore and offshore wind-powered electricity generation.